?? Questions/clarification??

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mphair84, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Mphair84

Mphair84 Member

I'm new to Lantus. I'm going slow and low. Tuffy's been on Prozinc for over a year. He's a finicky cat. Do you think it'd be beneficial to try and stick with the same carb count? He's on 10% LC Fancy Feast or Friskies.

I know every cat is different. My question is when getting nadirs to fill in the blanks how many should I get before adjusting the dose? Like, can I base a dose adjustment with one nadir, or should I get a few before making a decision? Can I use the data that I gathered at night?

When the week is up, I wasn't sure if I should be raising his insulin,but I don't have enough day information.

2. AmandaE

AmandaE Well-Known Member

Hi!

When you’re following start low go slow you only need 1 nadir value from a curve to change the dose. From your spreadsheet it looks like you’re doing it right, holding the dose for a week - doing a curve and basing your dose increases on your curves. You want to wait until the end of 7 days for SLGS to make sure that you understand how your cat is reacting to the dose ( safety reasons). The only time you would change the dose before the end of 7 days would be if Tuffy goes below 90mg/dL, if this happens you would decrease the dose by 0.25u. Technically on the 10th Tuffy Kitty actually earned a reduction

You can absolutely use a night time curve to base your decision of a dose increase or decrease, if you have time to do night curves it’s probably the best and safest nadir value to use since cats go lower at night :)

As with Prozinc, any food less than 10% carbs that is wet works! The lower carbs the better but the 10% or less works :)