Questions about meals & effect on BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priya&Missy

Member Since 2019
Hi there,
Missy has only been on insulin for 4 days but I’m curious about some things. I’m waiting til 7 days to see if she needs a dose increase, which I suspect is the case. She’s only on 0.25 units of Lantus twice a day right now. Starting small because of some bad past experiences with 0.5 and 1 unit.

But she’s also a grazer and takes the entire day and night to finish her meals. I put food out at 7 am and 6 pm, but she’s sometimes still snacking on her dinner at 3 AM! Will that affect her numbers? She’s on low carb canned food only but her numbers have still been pretty high.
 
I’m seeing things about not letting them eat 2 hours before shots? Is that necessary
You are still new to this journey and right now you are still discovering how Missy reacts to the insulin this time around. Until you get some more data, we do advise withholding food for at least 2 hours before shot time so the pre-shot test is not food influenced. Once you get more data and understand better what Missy is likely to do, then withholding is not quite so important.

You can allow Missy to graze to her heart's content with the exception of 2 hours prior to shot time. She will essentially be getting her own mini meals and most folks either free feed or provide several small meals throughout each cycle. If you test BG right after Missy has eaten, you will likely see a little "food bump" (elevation) in her numbers. Food will temporarily raise BG but it also helps to stabilize BG much better than only feeding at shot times.

Looks like Missy might have bounced a little after the night cycle of the 7th. Bounces occur when BG drops quickly, drops a lot or to levels kitty has become unaccustomed to. The BG level that will set off a bounce is relative and even a yellow or pink reading can set off a bounce if BG has been high enough earlier in the cycle.

When you can, try to grab some mid cycle tests randomly between +3 and +7 to try to find Missy's nadir (lowest BG of cycle). This is when most kitties reach peak insulin action. Some cats will reach peak earlier, some later and nadir this time won't necessarily be the same as your previous experience.
 
You are still new to this journey and right now you are still discovering how Missy reacts to the insulin this time around. Until you get some more data, we do advise withholding food for at least 2 hours before shot time so the pre-shot test is not food influenced. Once you get more data and understand better what Missy is likely to do, then withholding is not quite so important.

You can allow Missy to graze to her heart's content with the exception of 2 hours prior to shot time. She will essentially be getting her own mini meals and most folks either free feed or provide several small meals throughout each cycle. If you test BG right after Missy has eaten, you will likely see a little "food bump" (elevation) in her numbers. Food will temporarily raise BG but it also helps to stabilize BG much better than only feeding at shot times.

Looks like Missy might have bounced a little after the night cycle of the 7th. Bounces occur when BG drops quickly, drops a lot or to levels kitty has become unaccustomed to. The BG level that will set off a bounce is relative and even a yellow or pink reading can set off a bounce if BG has been high enough earlier in the cycle.

When you can, try to grab some mid cycle tests randomly between +3 and +7 to try to find Missy's nadir (lowest BG of cycle). This is when most kitties reach peak insulin action. Some cats will reach peak earlier, some later and nadir this time won't necessarily be the same as your previous experience.

Thanks for the explanation! Today she didn’t eat for 3-4 hours before her shot and her PMPS was 267 instead of 300-400+

I’ll keep testing this evening and add to my spreadsheet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top