? questioning current dose because of numbers HELP ASAP?

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
Because of Mimis recent DKA I have chosen to try and follow TR as close as I can with a full time job.
I don't know- is it possible I am doing a little bit of TR with a little bit of SLGS??

Can someone look at her numbers- I haven't seen her drop below 200 something in a few days and Im wondering if its time to increase her dose- I do NOT want her to get DKA again.... @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Bron and Sheba (GA) - if you can also tag others that could give input! thanks! XO
 
I’m at the vet right now but as soon as I get home, I will comment. One quick point is you can’t mix and match SLGS and TR.
I guess I don't know which one I am doing then. Why is this so confusing! are the differences the way you dose? How often do I have to test her in a day to be on TR, because what I see the main difference to be is the the testing and being more aggressive with increasing or decreasing dose. Just thinking when Im at work. Man I wish I lived 5 minutes away, it would be so easy- Im not that far, Im about 15-20 depending on traffic but still long enough to be able to leave without being gone an hour The low and slow says it starts at .5 units but what about if she's already on 1.25? also, she's about 10.4 lbs currently- and with body weight at .25 per kilogram I think that equals out to be 1.25 or 1.50 (if my math was correct)
 
Rosa --

Breathe! The info below is based on a human meter.

Tight regulation:

  • Doses are evaluated every 3 days/6 cycles if the nadirs are over 200; if Mimi's nadirs are largely below 200 (blues and greens), you evaluate the dose every 5 days/10 cycles.
  • If most nadirs are not in the normal range, you increase the dose by 0.25u.
  • If nadirs are mostly above 300, you can increase by 0.5u.
  • Doses can also be reduced if the kitty is in normal numbers for a week.
  • Decreases occur if numbers drop below 50 for cats within a year from diagnosis. Doses are usually decreased I 0.25u amounts.
  • The bare minimum of tests is pre-shot and at least one test each cycle. More is better and lots more are necessary if numbers are dropping.
SLGS:
  • Doses are evaluated every 7 days. Typically, this is on the same day you do a curve but not always.
  • You need to do a curve once a week.
  • In most cases, doses are increased and decreased by 0.25u.
  • Decreases are given if the numbers drop below 90.
  • Hold the dose if nadirs are mostly between 90 - 149.
  • Increase if nadirs are mostly over 150.
I worked full time and followed TR. For several years, so did Marje -- although Marje's husband was wonderful about testing and shooting, too. Look at our spreadsheets. I adjusted my shot times to fit my work schedule. Regardless of the method, you do not need to start over given that you're already at 1.25u. The instructions are based on someone who has not yet started giving insulin.
 
Hey Rosa!

Im not sure if some one has linked this article for you, but there is a chain from a while ago with various member's experiences working full time and following TR HERE. I found it super helpful when I was switching to TR to read over other members strategies. BTW I work full time and follow TR with no ability to come home mid day. I usually have a test schedule like this:

AMPS, +0.75, +11, PMPS, +2, before bed test
 
Hi Rosa, if you haven't already, invest in an auto-feeder. I use this one when I can't be home or can't stay up to test Luci.

https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Me...ital/dp/B000GEWHNS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Obviously I don't use dry food (as pictured)...I freeze some LC and MC in ice-cube trays and leave those in the last two slots if it's going to be a long day for her...by the time it turns the food is melted...

Hope you can choose a method..best of luck with some better numbers soon too!
 
Rosa --

Breathe! The info below is based on a human meter.

Tight regulation:

  • Doses are evaluated every 3 days/6 cycles if the nadirs are over 200; if Mimi's nadirs are largely below 200 (blues and greens), you evaluate the dose every 5 days/10 cycles.
  • If most nadirs are not in the normal range, you increase the dose by 0.25u.
  • If nadirs are mostly above 300, you can increase by 0.5u.
  • Doses can also be reduced if the kitty is in normal numbers for a week.
  • Decreases occur if numbers drop below 50 for cats within a year from diagnosis. Doses are usually decreased I 0.25u amounts.
  • The bare minimum of tests is pre-shot and at least one test each cycle. More is better and lots more are necessary if numbers are dropping.
SLGS:
  • Doses are evaluated every 7 days. Typically, this is on the same day you do a curve but not always.
  • You need to do a curve once a week.
  • In most cases, doses are increased and decreased by 0.25u.
  • Decreases are given if the numbers drop below 90.
  • Hold the dose if nadirs are mostly between 90 - 149.
  • Increase if nadirs are mostly over 150.
I worked full time and followed TR. For several years, so did Marje -- although Marje's husband was wonderful about testing and shooting, too. Look at our spreadsheets. I adjusted my shot times to fit my work schedule. Regardless of the method, you do not need to start over given that you're already at 1.25u. The instructions are based on someone who has not yet started giving insulin.


so with SLGS you don't test pre shot, only curve once a week?
 
Hi Rosa, if you haven't already, invest in an auto-feeder. I use this one when I can't be home or can't stay up to test Luci.

https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Automatic-Dispenses-Digital/dp/B000GEWHNS/ref=sr_1_9?crid=3JNDG9PI3EC76&keywords=automatic cat feeder&qid=1572129743&sprefix=auto,aps,221&sr=8-9

Obviously I don't use dry food (as pictured)...I freeze some LC and MC in ice-cube trays and leave those in the last two slots if it's going to be a long day for her...by the time it turns the food is melted...

Hope you can choose a method..best of luck with some better numbers soon too!
I have the two feeder one but everyone keeps mentioning this one so Ill order one and see how it goes! The only thing with this is I read cats figure out how to move the trays over to the next slot?? Is it easily done?
 
Back
Top