Hillary & Maui (GA)
Member Since 2009
OK beans in the know....I'm working with a member from the board who is using lantus, and is giving the cat 5.5 units, with BG's ranging above 300 up to high consistently.
I suggested that he start over at 1 unit and work the TR/SLGS programs as they are designed for lantus to see if we can get the BG's down into better ranges. When the cat was on 1 unit, the BG's were in the 100-200 range. And I think that can happen again.
The cat is also extremely overweight (dangerously so) and I suggested the following:
Regarding his weight, you need to talk with your vet about a safe way to reduce his weight - I'd start by removing ALL DRY FOOD! Feeding him 6 ounces of wet food a day with added water - at least 1/2 can of water to each can of food. You can break this up over multiple meals or two scheduled meals. The only treats you can give him is 100% protein, such as freeze dried chicken, beef.
Buy a harness and leash and take him for walks - they will be short walks at first - maybe throughout the living room, then outside to the end of the driveway or 1/2 block and home -- and as he becomes more active and the weight loss happens, you can increase the walks.
Can he jump or climb? You can entice him to do that with the freeze dried treats - make him work for it.
Get some interactive toys and play with him - wands, feathers, etc -- not a lot at first, but every day you need to play with him and get him moving.
The reply I got was this:
So, I'm here asking for input on reducing the units -- what do you all think?
I suggested that he start over at 1 unit and work the TR/SLGS programs as they are designed for lantus to see if we can get the BG's down into better ranges. When the cat was on 1 unit, the BG's were in the 100-200 range. And I think that can happen again.
The cat is also extremely overweight (dangerously so) and I suggested the following:
Regarding his weight, you need to talk with your vet about a safe way to reduce his weight - I'd start by removing ALL DRY FOOD! Feeding him 6 ounces of wet food a day with added water - at least 1/2 can of water to each can of food. You can break this up over multiple meals or two scheduled meals. The only treats you can give him is 100% protein, such as freeze dried chicken, beef.
Buy a harness and leash and take him for walks - they will be short walks at first - maybe throughout the living room, then outside to the end of the driveway or 1/2 block and home -- and as he becomes more active and the weight loss happens, you can increase the walks.
Can he jump or climb? You can entice him to do that with the freeze dried treats - make him work for it.
Get some interactive toys and play with him - wands, feathers, etc -- not a lot at first, but every day you need to play with him and get him moving.
The reply I got was this:
All except the starting over at 1 unit. Sounds pretty crazy to me and I'm sure most on the FDMB site would say going from 5.5 units to 1 unit would be crazy.
So, I'm here asking for input on reducing the units -- what do you all think?