question on low pmps for Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
I posted this at the end of my last thread, but wanted to make sure it was seen since we have to make a decision soon, so here it is again:

...Here’s the tough part with the low numbers.... We just tested him before we were going to feed his evening meal (+11.5) and he’s 118.
So I guess we have to wait to feed and retest a little later. I really hate to do a no shoot and screw this all up again.
Asher and his brother are not happy with us that dinner has been postponed...We are being scolded now ;)

If we do have to shoot a reduced dose, any suggestions?

Thanks tons,

-donna
 
Let's stick to this post. You asked about the mathematics. Well, where's Gator? English was my subject.....

I think 1/3 of your regular dose of 2 units would be between .6 and .7 and of course, half would be one unit. And 1/4 of 2 is .5 Does that sound right?

So let's see what you get and go from there.
 
Those are the numbers I got too Sue, but I was an art major in college, so I doubted myself ;)

We are going to test right now. I’ll be back with a number in a minute.

-d.
 
I just edited my last post, it was a little less than an hour since the 118 test at +11.5.
 
Well, what does your gut say? If you gave one or 1.5 units, would you be interested in the numbers tonight or will you be a nervous wreck all night? If you give .5 or .6, will you sleep easily and not be discouraged tomorrow, or be depressed if you see a high number?
 
Oh Sue, I have been a nervous wreck since his dx at the beginning of this month ;) So I don’t know if that matters.

And for seeing high numbers tomorrow, my only concern is for his safety having high numbers for a length of time that might harm him, like getting DKA or something nasty.

My partner Tom and I discussed it now and we’d like to give him the highest dose we can that seems “safe” if there is such a thing. We will test him at +3 and +6. He just housed a bowl of food and some chicken chunks so I know there is a bunch of food in his belly.

The other day we shot 2 units at 237 (204 on this new meter) also. So to me that makes shooting 1.5 tonight seem “safe”.

Since he ate now, should we hold off shooting and test again, or does that not mean anything with food in his belly?

-d.
 
1.5 sounds good as does your test schedule. It will be interesting to see if this will keep the momentum going. I will check in at +3 to see how you are doing.

You know the drill. If you would get a number near 50, feed and see if he goes up. If not, feed a higher carb food-snacks, not a lot at a time. If he would go below 40, put syrup on his gums. Test every 15 minutes until you get 2 consecutive tests headed up. (I really don't think it will be a problem. There just won't be anyone around at 2am so you want to feel confident about knowing what you would do.)
 
You could test again, but I would only wait a half an hour and not a full hour. That way you'll know for sure that his numbers are going up and didn't drop from the food on board.
 
Thanks Sue. You save me on a regular basis now and I am truly grateful.
1.5 it is and we will be back here in 3 hrs with a number.

Donna
 
Thanks Marcy. I guess we'll just test at +3 since he looked like he was on his way up after his 118 to 160 readings.
I always feel bad for his poor ears on these multi poke days :(

-Donna
 
Yes, yes he does.

We'll check him in 3 hrs again to be sure.

Thanks for all your help tonight Sue. I'll talk to you again tomorrow.

-Donna
 
And then amps this morning is 338. I guess we go back up to 2 units this morning and see what happens.

-d.
 
Good morning, Donna. So "maybe" we know that you can shoot more agressively at night - maybe 1.75 would have given him a lower, but safe nadir. (Or maybe not :mrgreen: ) But I do think it was good that you didn't do a .5 or something. Two units sounds good to me today. I don't understand the +3 last night, but it's just one number.....

Data, data....
 
I do have to admit it is all fascinating, but yes, stressful sometimes too. But I am a panic person by nature :sad:

I was shocked the amps wasn’t higher so I am so glad we did the 1.5 units too, instead of a .6 or something.
And that +3 puzzled me too, but just glad it wasn’t a dive.

We’ll test him mid day again, I have to go check on my Mom before this crazy ice storm we are supposed to get here but I’ll be back here in time. Seems like his nadir is maybe +6 or +7 during the day?

Thanks again for all your help and kind words. To have someone understand and have your experience is priceless!

As always, I’ll be back with more numbers dancing_cat

-d.
 
Just fyi, here is how today turned out...

amps 338, +6 158, pmps 385

We shot 2 units this morning as well as tonight.

-d.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top