Question on Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello-

I'm new to this forum. My cat Clovis is 7 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes this past November 2009. She has been on Lantus since then and started with 1 unit BID but that was not enough. She then went to 2 units BID and that maybe turned out to be too much. Her preshots were ranging in the 80's and 90's. I would wait till her sugar would rise to give her her shot but that would just raise her sugar by the next preshot. So, I started injecting her when she was in the 90's with 1.5 units. That would work for about one or two days but by the third day her sugar was in the 300's again. So, then I started injecting the full two units of insulin when she was at the 12 hour marker and her sugar was at 90-something -----only that scared me cause she would fall as low as 46.

I now have her at 1.5 units BID. After 5 days I did a curve and she went from 252 to a low of 144 which I know is not low enough. Does anyone know if I should hold the 1.5 for another 5 days? Or should I increase her to 1.75??

I worry that the 2 units may be too much cause when her sugar falls to the 40's she is pretty anxious about eating and sometimes gets picky about what she wants. I've had to cook ground turkey and sometimes even bacon to get her eat something when her sugar is that low.

Any suggestions/ help are much appreciated.

Sandra
 
Hi Sandra,
While it looks like you could use a slight tap in dose, it's hard for us to tell without seeing numbers.. could you maybe set up a spreadsheet for us? We'd be glad to help you, and it sounds like you've been doing a very good job so far :)
 
Welcome to Lantus Land, Tess and I have only been here 2 months, but have gotten a ton of help. There are several really knowledgeable people here. Do try to get a spreadsheet up and provide as much info as possible. Read all the stickies at the top of the forum, especially the dosing protocol. There is nearly always someone here to guide you through it all. You have a real head start here, the dosing gurus will help you get it all straightened out.
 
Welcome Sandra.

You are right on target with the idea of providing Clovis with something to eat if her numbers are running low. You might want to take a look at Janet & Binky's Food Charts. Most of us will use high carb canned food (i.e., 18% or higher) to bump up blood sugar levels when our kitties run low. We tend to use Fancy Feast foods with "gravy" since it's the gravy in the cans that is where the carbs are. This will work quickly. Feeding turkey or bacon is fine except that it's low carb and it may not give you the bump up that you are looking for.

If you haven't seen it before, this is a link to the dosing protocol that we use to guide dosing decisions. There is also great information in the "stickies" -- the starred notes at the top of the page.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top