Blue said:
OK, 99 at +10 and you say the number is dropping? Did you test at +9 and have a much higher number? How do you know how much he is dropping?
At +8 he was at 110. At +9 he was at 99, and, he has had PS nadirs in the past, which is why I tried to steer. The date in question is 12/10, not 12/11.
Blue said:
If you are going to be back at ps, then feeding at +10 will ensure that you get a food influenced number at ps, so it won't be of use for shooting.
Thank you, that is what I wanted to know.
Blue said:
If he has a late nadir, then the 99 is fine for +10, unless you are seeing large drops in this same cycle, and the % in the drops is not decreasing. Then you may want to feed but also know you may have disrupted the next ps.
Thank you, again, this was what my initial question was about.
Blue said:
ETA:
He was not dropping at +10; his +8 was lower, 83, so Pumbaa was leveled out, surfing and in a very decent zone, so he sure did not need food to be left during your absence till ps.
Wrong day...the data I was questioning was on 12/10. See above.
Blue said:
Hitting one 49 around nadir is not an indication to reduce his dose; if you want to see how firm ath 49 was, you could have done a retest and see what you got.
Reducing by a drop really DOES make a difference for some cats, but others are not sensitive at all to drops.... just go by your data on YOUR cat to know.
I totally agree about one 49 not being the indication to decrease the dose, when there are so many other things going on as well. I also agree about knowing our own cats and determining how they respond to the insulin and if they have failed at .25U dose decreases in the past, as Pumbaa has.
Blue said:
This dose of 3u is looking quite nice for Pumba; I have no idea what happened on the 9th though.
This
is a nice dose for Pumbaa! What happened on the 9th is what Pumbaa is famous for, bouncing and diving. *sigh* That's why I'm trying to use food to prevent him from going to a low number that would cause a bounce, so that we can stop this bouncing/diving madness and get him flatter/more evened out.
Blue said:
I'd say if it ain't broke, don't mess with it. Pumbaa is liking this dose with mostly blues and some few greens.
To me, as long as he's still bouncing and diving, he's broken. If I can catch and steer his lows, via food, maybe I can prevent these highs, like his 342 today (12/12). I don't know what I missed before his 80 reading last night that would have caused this bounce today, but he didn't bounce like this from the 49 on 12/10, and I am hoping that that was because I fed him higher carbed food (9%) at the 49 to prevent him from going lower. I'm still testing this steering by feeding slightly higher carbed food.
Blue, I hope you're staying warm up there! I hear via friends and clients that the weather is quite frigid in your neck of the woods.
Suze