OK,
This only applies if the 2am number is logical. If he shows you a 100 or something, besides us pulling out our hair, I'll have to do a quick rethink....
In then morning, I would test him at what would be his +11. Get the number. Then do his AMPS at the regular time.
If the AMPS is higher than the +11 (rising BG) AND if it is 300 or higher, then shoot the same 2.25 dose.
If the AMPS is lower than 300, but higher than 200 then shoot 2u. That will be safer since you won't be home after +4.
If his number is not rising, then post here. What time would that be? like 9AM? Somebody should be on line to advise.
If his number is less than 200, then post here. You've shot that low before but only .5u. Shooting .5 on a number between 150 and 200 would be better than skipping completely in my opinion. He's beginning to react better to the insulin. Tonight's numbers aren't really that bad, and if you reread what Dr. P. posted in your other thread the other day, he hasn't given you any number that would qualify as "warranted bounce". Nothing that made him go so low that he would bounce way up.
I think I understand Dr. P's thinking (wish I was THAT smart, but I think I'm at least catching on). My cat was dosed this way. My vet was aggressive with increasing Bob's dose. He started at 1u, bid and went to 4u bid before I started reducing. His numbers were sort of like Copper's too, only his preshots were even higher. He lived in the 300+ range too long. Copper is actually doing better at this point than Bob was. There's this concept we call "momentum", not sure if she uses that term or not. When his numbers are doing okay, and you suddenly reduce the dose, you lose that momentum. I think that is what we are trying to avoid here. I know that the curves look a little inverse at times. But if they aren't inverse for several cycles in a row, then it isn't a real trend. Just something that happens.
If I'm way off on this, hopefully she'll let us know. I'd rather be told I'm wrong and learn something from it than to be wrong and nobody say anything.
If anyone else disagrees, please say so. That's what "peer review" is all about. I'm not an expert. I'm a work in progress!
TO recap
AMPS > 300 then 2.25
AMPS > 200 but < 300, 2.0u
AMPS between 150 - 200 .5u
AMPS less than 150, skip it. Again, safer if you aren't going to be around for nadir
Does that make sense, or have I confused you? :lol: