Question on dose reduction

Joyce and Kallie

Member Since 2019
I am doing SLGS and was informed that
  • “With SLGS, holding the dose for a week means that you reduce the dose when numbers drop below 90. Kallie's numbers dropped below 90 on Nov. 26, 28, and 29.”

  • End of quote

  • I reduced her insulin last night as suggested by 0.25. (From 1 u to 0.75) According to the SLGS instructions, if nadir is 90, you reduce. Her AMPS was 76. I did not give insulin because it said not to if below 90. But, should I reduce her insulin again by 0.25?

  • Thanks for your help
 
Good choice not to shoot this morning, on SLGS you do not shoot if below 90.

SLGS does say to immediately reduce if you see a number under 90, so yes, down to 0.5 units. This is right after the previous reduction so the 1.0 unit depot may still be giving you those numbers. However, you won’t known if 0.5 will work unless you try it as per the dosing method.
 
I’m moving your question here to keep it on the current day.

Sienne,
Another question: how did you measure the insulin... you have .48, .51, .53?
She used calipers like most of us do/did. It allows for more accurate dosing and making micro doses in cats that have been diabetic awhile.

This post will help you learn how we post here in this insulin support group. It’s important to have a subject line consistent with the others so we can see her BG as you take it. Sometimes, one of us might see something in the BGs that would be important for you to be aware of. But having them listed in the subject line, we can quickly scan through the posts, see the BGs, see if anyone has questions. It’s completely fine to add a question or comment after the subject line as in:

12/2 Kallie AMBG 76 +13 94 Question on dose reduction

While AMPS and PMPS are normally used, if you don’t shoot, we use AMBG and PMBG and the tests after are hours since last shot. Just curious, but you have 290 in +7 tomorrow...did you mean to have it today?

You can add the “?” Prefix to your subject line and then take it off once someone responds :)

Lastly, you have an extra sheet on your SS that you don’t need..”Sheet 3”. If you click on the tab, you’ll get a drop down arrow, and then you can select “delete” so the SS isn’t cluttered. Thank you!
 
Back
Top