Question on dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

RG & Mali (GA)

Member Since 2013
Mali has had a lot going on the past few days but I want to really work on getting the best numbers we can.
I'm going test at +7 today even though no shot after AMPS deferring to vet advice on BG. I expect her to be high then and my question is should I shoot at that time if she is and what dose? I know with Levemir dose consistency is what we are trying to achieve and I am trying to stay with that protocol even though her numbers have had such wild swings.
Thoughts?

PS Why are some of the readings not coloring in?
 
I've noticed that some of the higher numbers (500+) do not color in the further right SS cells. I just "paint" them with the format from a cell that does color in.
 
MaryB & Chester"]I've noticed that some of the higher numbers (500+) do not color in the further right SS cells.
I just "paint" them with the format from a cell that does color in.[/quote said:
I guess I'm just too SS challenged and need grade school step by step :lol:
 
There is a little paint roller icon at the top of the sheet. Looks like paint roller. Click on a cell with the colouring in it. Then click on the paint roller icon. Then click on the cell(s) without the colour and the colour should appear.

On dosage - you really need to find a consistent dose you can give twice a day.. for a few days. The reason is that levemir needs to build up in the system over a few days before you really know how the dose is working. If you keep changing dose and stopping it, you never really get to see if its working or not.
Personally (although I am not a dosing expert) 1unit is too much given she went to 34 the other day. I would drop to 0.75IU or even 0.5IU for a few days to see how that goes and get preshot tests as well as midday and mid night. Then we really see how the levemir is working. I dont think she is ready for no insulin.. yet.

It will be interesting to see how she does without insulin today. I hope you are checking her urine for ketones.

Wendy
 
Wendy,
I followed your instructions to a T and it just does not color...makes plenty of sense and I think I tried that before I posted, but can't get it to color :sad:

I think your advice of lowering the dose makes a lot of sense. I guess when she throws those big numbers, it's just tough to get a grip on lowering the dose.
I have ketostix coming maybe today...no i have not been testing for ketones and I know I should, but she will most definitely not let me near her box when she is takin' care of business....she will bail quickly. I read about using the aquarium gravel and i think that may be the way to go for her.
Thanks for your input!
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
There is a little paint roller icon at the top of the sheet. Looks like paint roller. Click on a cell with the colouring in it. Then click on the paint roller icon. Then click on the cell(s) without the colour and the colour should appear.

On dosage - you really need to find a consistent dose you can give twice a day.. for a few days. The reason is that levemir needs to build up in the system over a few days before you really know how the dose is working. If you keep changing dose and stopping it, you never really get to see if its working or not.
Personally (although I am not a dosing expert) 1unit is too much given she went to 34 the other day. I would drop to 0.75IU or even 0.5IU for a few days to see how that goes and get preshot tests as well as midday and mid night. Then we really see how the levemir is working. I dont think she is ready for no insulin.. yet.

It will be interesting to see how she does without insulin today. I hope you are checking her urine for ketones.

Wendy


Just call me Einstein :lol: First of all I was trying to make the changes in on the SS instead of going to Drive haha_smiley but then i must doubleclick the paint roller for it to color...one more obstacle overcome by technowiz here.
 
I think your advice of lowering the dose makes a lot of sense. I guess when she throws those big numbers, it's just tough to get a grip on lowering the dose.

It's difficult sometimes to realize that for insulins, like Lantus and Levimir, that the dose changes are based on the low or nadir you are getting, not the pre-shot numbers, not the highs. The pre-shots are done to make sure the BG is high enough to shoot any insulin.

Levimir has a later onset, and later nadir time than Lantus does. Lantus nadir is usually around +5-7. Levimir nadir is usually around +8-10. Every cat is different, so you will need to test to try and determine what the Nadir is for your cat. Tp make it more complicated, the nadir does not always stay around the same time.

Have you gone over to the Insulin Support Group - Levimir (detimir) forum yet to read the topics titled STICKY? There is some nice basic information there you may want to read to understand Levimir a bit more.
 
Thanks for that info. I will probably do a curve next week sometime if her numbers level out somewhat. And yes, I have been over to the insulin support groups and checked out both Lantus and Levemir, but I need to revisit for better comprehension.
Thanks again for your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top