Question on BG of 133

Status
Not open for further replies.
My kitty hasn't needed insulin all day and his numbers look good. I just tested him (at the time I normally would give him insulin) and he is at 133. I know Sue mentioned between 40 and 120 is a nondiabetic cat, but what about 133? I guess that would be on the high side of normal, but is 133 still considered somewhat normal? I'm just wondering about when the sugar is between 120 and 150 for example.

Also, I tested a few minutes later on the other ear and got 122. Why would it come up so different only after a few minutes? Both tests came out fine and I had no issues when testing.
 
He is down from the 161 this am and it looks like he has been surfing in that range without insulin. Your choice, Mandy. You can give him a while to see if he can bring himself down into that normal range. (you want double digit numbers pretty consistently - like 60s 70s). Or you can try mini doses. I do think I would try mini doses during the daytime cycle, not the night. You want to be watching him to be sure he doesn't go too low.

Your numbers fall in that 20% variance that every meter has.
 
What is the 20% variance again? I remember reading about it but I think it got lost in a sea of posts :smile: Does that mean the numbers can vary 20% if you test within the same time period?

His numbers seemed really good today, the lowest at 95. I'm confused about the mini-doses during the day. With numbers like 121 and 95, he wouldn't need doses. Maybe I am misunderstanding?
 
Every meter has a 20% variance. So you can take 2 or 3 readings a couple minutes apart and they can vary by 20%. That's why when you get, say, 200 and then 215, you can't be sure whether he is headed up or holding steady. It is just something to take into account.

I think the manufacturers of human meters explain the variance in their materials.
 
The 95 is good and may be an indication that he will continue to go down on his own.

You don't shoot under 200 when you are shooting normal doses and new, because you can't be sure what he will do. So you wait until he goes up and then shoot. But when you are weaning him off insulin, you can consider a drop of insulin to bring him down.

You can't tell what will work. With Holly, she waited him out and he went down on his own with no insulin. The main concern is that you don't want him consistently above 150 for several days without insulin. The thought is that then the pancreas can't heal.

Again, no crystal ball. I am encouraged by the 95 today. It may be that he will just consistently continue down. Just be watching and testing.
 
Up to you, Mandy. I think I remember that you can't do testing at night? If so, I think you could wait and be daring tomorrow when you can monitor? I would leave food out so it might help him come down.

What are you thinking?
 
I know we've said it before. This part when you're going off insulin is happy but can be tricky for the reasons you asked about. Sometimes a kitty likes to flirt with non diabetic numbers and go back and forth a bit. I look back when Max started going OTJ and think I may have been overly cautious. So hard to know when their #'s drop on their own. I think Sue gave good guidance if Bradley seems to be hanging more in the 150's, he may need just a little drop of insulin support. The day I did the research on tiny doses and thought that I might give Max a drop of insulin was of course the day he started staying in the greens on his own. LOL. The power of subliminal thought maybe. The 95 today is a good sign. Can't wait to see what tomorrow brings. Paws crossed for Bradley.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top