question for you (Fly free Dragon, update below)

Status
Not open for further replies.

popcorn

Member Since 2012
I still haven't started Dragon on insulin yet, but I'm still wondering about a few things.

How many times a day should I be testing Dragon? I feed him four (4) times a day and i was testing him an hour after each testing now. I was was wondering should I test, then feed and then test an hour later again? Today his numbers we okay.

I feed him at 640 am, which I feed him Wellness chicken and beef 2.75oz and tested him at 741am, which his number was 10.4
I then feed him again at 855am the same amount of food and tested him again at 938am and his numbers were 7.7.

Are his numbers okay to go down or should they go up after a feeding? I like the fact his number at the second testing was 7.7, but is that to much of a drop?

Am I doing this right or should I go back on how I was testing him before?

Thank you very much

Paula and Dragon
 
Re: question for you

Hello.
I don't know where everybody is today. Must be a good day to be out and about.

I've only been here a short time but I can try to answer and then someone will come along and improve on it.

It's great that you are working on the testing and trying to get a baseline.
It would be most beneficial to you and to the experienced advisors for you to set up a spreadsheet.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

If you have trouble with it, start a new post and say "need help with spreadsheet"
There are several people able to help with that, probably want to post it in feline health.

When you feed your cat, the food can raise the bg level for approximately 2 hrs.
So ideally, you want to not feed the 2 hrs before your amps or your pmps. ( i try to give it a 2 1/2 hr window at
least).
If you are limited on your availablity , you want to test before each shot (amps and pmps) and the +6
If you can do more, it's good to randomly work your way around until you 've seen how your cats reacts in the
entire 12 hr cycle.

You will want to try a curve within a few weeks of starting the insulin and you can do a +2, +4, +6, +8 and so on.
or a +3, +6, +9 and pre-shot.

Since this post is in relaxed lantus, you must be using lantus.
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

It would be better if you could feed right after the am shot and the pm shot. And then always note to yourself
or in your spreadsheet if you test within an hour of feeding so you will know that the food is influencing your
numbers.
I myself feed my cat as I am giving her a shot. And then I footnote the other times I feed her which for us
is 4-6 times a day usually around the +4 and the +8 or +9. I also give a no carb treat everytime I test her.

I hope that helps.
 
Re: question for you

Hi Paula and welcome to FDMB. Rhiannon asked me to pop in from Tight Regulation to help you since it's been slow in Relaxed today.

Are you in this group because you are going to follow the Start Low Go Slow Protocol?

The Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) protocol has caregivers start with an initial dose based upon the BG at diagnosis and whether kitty has been transitioned to a wet low carb diet, hold that dose for a week or two while testing for ketones regularly, being consistent with food and shooting every 12 hours. Once a week a curve is done (test every 2 hours for one cycle) to check for the lowest point. the low number in that curve determines any dose change for the following week. If you want to follow the SLGS protocol, you can post for advice in this forum (Relaxed Lantus), the Lantus Tight Regulation (TR) forum, or Main Health for guidance and support. You'll find the Main Health forum and the Lantus TR forum to be much more active and so your questions might be seen and answered a little faster.

While not normal numbers, Dragon's numbers today weren't too bad. We typically test, feed, and shoot within a 10 minute window. Most of us let kitties eat while we are shooting to distract them. As Rhiannon said, we do not feed the two hours prior to shot time in order to avoid shooting a food-elevated number. You can continue to feed him the same number of times a day; however, we also usually recommend that all food is finished before nadir, if possible, in order to keep from slowing the effects of the insulin down too much. Every Cat is Different (ECID) and so you may find you need to continue his feeding throughout the day.

No....his number after the second test was not too much of a drop. Every meter can have up to a 20% variance. So, in reality, your numbers were fairly close together.

When do you plan on starting insulin?
 
Re: question for you

It appears that his pancreas may be struggling to produce insulin, but just can't keep up right now. It would be interesting to test before you feed and then an hour and two hours after to see how much pancreas action there actually is.

Are you planning to give insulin? What will be the deciding factor? Perhaps with a little support while his pancreas recovers from whatever has upset it will be all that is needed. If that is the case, the sooner you provide that support the better the results.
 
Re: question for you

To let you know I still haven't started Dragon on insulin yet, but his numbers are getting better in my eyes..
I just want to know what you think..

JULY 31
609AM - 8.3/149
752AM - 9.9/178
550PM - 6/108
816PM - 10.7/192

AUG 1/12
6AM - 8.6/154
855AM - 6.6/118

Can you tell me if these are good numbers

Thank you for your help

Paula and Dragon
 
Re: question for you

Your numbers are looking okay.
You aren't off in the 200-500 range. 50-120 is the target.

You are feeding wellness so you must be trying for the lower carbs. Under 10% , right? Under 5% is even better.
Did you recently switch foods?
That always lowers the numbers. ( I don't see what your inital diagnosis number was)


I don't know the time frame that you've been doing this but with lower numbers like that I would venture
a guess that you have a good chance of getting OTJ (off the juice) and might not be on insulin for long.
The sooner you start, the better the chance. You can see on my spreadsheet that I'm much like your example,
low starting dose and numbers getting in that desired range.

Which insulin?
Since your numbers are in a better range, you will want to start with a lower dose and observe the effect.
If you decide on the tight protocol , you will need to monitor often and you need to establish a baseline
to know how your cat reacts to the insulin before increasing the dose ( if you need increasing)

I guess you were hoping to avoid the insulin since you haven't started using it yet, but I would say you
will have to start, just hopefully it will be short and sweet.
 
Re: question for you

Hi I was wondering something here, could heat or cold effect Dragon's BG number's? When I went to work this afternoon, it wasn't very hot, but when I got home just after 9pm, it seemed a little hotter in the apartment. Could that effect him in anyway?

Thanks very much

Paula :?
 
Re: question for you

I don't have a direct answer.
I went off to search on the topic and found:
People with diabetes can be extra sensitive to high temperatures . It's mostly because of dehydration.

Well, your cat, with it's diabetic symptoms ( the drinking of lots of water because it is dehydrated would also likely be sensitive.
High temperatures tend to dehydrate more and your cat, even with a mild case of diabetes is dehydrated already.
So ... a bit of a double whammy.

I have read that many add a little water to the canned food, especially to leave it out and have it keep a little longer while they are gone. The added water is good for them, gets more in the system.

You don't say How hot it was? Are you in a hot climate? Do you have an air conditioner or is your cat subject
to whatever the temperature happens to be that day?

If you are in a hot climate and have no air, I have a silly suggestion.
This is what I did with my kids when they were little and had to get put in a hot car seat in the summertime.
I would bring a frozen "blue ice" ( a big one but not the kind with chemicals in it, it was just a big frozen water
reservoir that came with my ice chest) (You could make something like it , use frozen water bottles)
and put them in the places where you cat likes to lay..... cover them with a towel and teach your cat to lay there
if it is hot) (catnip)
If you don't have a cool floor for the cat to lay on, create one by giving it a big baking sheet and put catnip on it
to show the cat it's a cooler place to lay.

My cat lays on our stone floor or wood floors nearly all the time right now. I can tell she's hot and we don't live
in a hot climate.
 
Re: question for you

Hi, I had Dragon getting regulated with food and then I had changed his food, and his numbers went up again, so I switched and they were good and then they jumped again... now I am back on the food that was keeping him low, but I just looked at his numbers and he is high again. Could it be that I had switched his food three times in the last three days? I was really happy when he was getting regulated, but now they are rising again and I'm starting to freak out again. Should I wait until tomorrow to see if they drop or should I give him insulin now and see? also it is a little warm in the apartment, so I am also wondering could that too be a factor?

Thanks for your help and time

Paula
 
Re: question for you

Hi Paula,
I can only speculate with you until we can get you a spreadsheet and see the numbers day to day.
We all have spreadsheets for that reason, even though you haven't started insulin, it will help you to see
a pattern, whether numbers go up or down because kitty just ate.

Do you need help getting a spreadsheet?

The numbers you were showing the other day were okay. They are close to the normal but they are still above it.
It is highly possible that you may have to start insulin but a low dose for a short time ( most likely)
That's why the spreadsheet is so important, it helps you and us to see patterns. And knowing the patterns
is how you choose when to increase a dose or decrease a dose, or in your case, start.
If you cat is borderline diabetic, being on insulin will help you get back in the normal glucose zone.
And the sooner you do that , the better for your cat. The chance of remission is in the first months of becoming
diabetic.

As for the food question, you can affect bg by the carb %.
Are you keeping a log of what you fed each day? Do you know the carb content of each food you have?

I can feed my cat 5% foods for days and then if I give her a 7% carb food. Her numbers elevate a bit, not a lot.
Some cats are more sensitive to carbs then others. And some of the foods on binky's list are out of date so
the numbers on our charts aren't guaranteed. The companies can change formulas for their foods and they sometimes do.

The temperature has more to do with staying hydrated. Cats with diabetes are always behind in hydration already
before you add other factors like temperature. That's why cats with diabetes drink so much water. Their bodies
aren't getting enough water.

So if you could work on getting a spreadsheet and show us all the bg tests you have then we could say for sure that
you should go ahead and start the insulin.
And Please, start low. I'll ask marge to come back and tell you if .5 is too high with your numbers.
If you shoot too much, you can't take it back.

here are the instructions again.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

It is no trouble to help you at all. It is my pleasure.
We all want to help you and help your kitty get better.
 
Re: question for you

I am feeding Dragon Wellness Grain Free... Looking back, I did notice that his numbers did go up when he was eating the Turkey, and sometimes he would be higher when he ate Chicken, but when his number's went down he was eating Chicken and Beef. On Thursday I had him on Turkey and his numbers went high and then Friday I went to Chicken and they were still high, so I went back to Chicken and Beef today and his numbers are still high. Could that be a bad thing? I really want his numbers to be the way they were for the last few days before I had went back to Turkey. So I am gonna keep him on Chicken and Beef to see what he does. I was giving him three oz of each every feed, I feed him four times a day.
Thanks for helping out!!

Paula
 
Re: question for you

well the wellness chicken and turkey are both the same in carbs. 4%

I thought maybe you fed him a larger variety like I feed mine.

Perhaps he's got his own stash.... :lol:
no. i'm just saying that to be funny.


So....
the answer will most likely be found by looking at a spreadsheet.
So...
that's what we need to get created.
Marge says she'll be here later today/tonite. She was out running errands today.

She actually helped me create my profile ....
I kept doing something wrong and messing it up so i changed my google password( temporarily ) and let her fix it.

There are many here who would do the same for you.
 
Re: question for you

I'm planning to start him on insulin tonight, but i was wondering can someone send me a picture of where to give it to him?
thanks a bunch
Paula
 
Re: question for you

I have another question for you, if I start Dragon on insulin, can I stop once he is in remission, or is it gonna be like a human where it is for the rest of his life?

thanks

Paula
 
Re: question for you

What dose are you planning to start at?

Your bg numbers are low enough that you have to be very careful.
You could easily give him too much and have a hypo situation.

I'm not even sure that .5 isn't too much. nailbite_smile
Are you going to be able to wake up in the night and check on him?

Would you at least post all the bg numbers you have and list them by each day ?
 
Re: question for you

Paula

Did your vet tell you to start insulin and what insulin? What dose did he tell you to start at?

I'd love to see some recent numbers. One way we look to see if the pancreas is working or not is to take the BG before you feed first thing in the morning. Feed, wait three hours, and then take it again. Are the numbers coming down, and if so, to where? I can see where you did this on August 1st and he brought his numbers down a bit. Are you still seeing numbers in that range?

As Rhiannon said, we will need a SS for him. I can get one done for you in about ten minutes but you have to allow me temporary access to your google and FDMB accounts. I then destroy the info.

The Tight Regulation Protocol is the only science based protocol for diabetic cats. Over 80% of cats started on lantus and levemir within the first six months of being diagnosed can go into remission and not require insulin.

I am also concerned about you starting a dose that might tank him quickly. Is there any reason why you must start tonight instead of getting a SS up for us where we can look at the numbers and help with a starting dose?
 
Re: question for you

Paula,
What is the highest number you've seen in the past couple of days? I like Marje's question as to why you need to start insulin tonight. We'd be much more easily able to help you if we could see all the numbers you've been collecting since you started testing, and they could be put in a SS in just a few minutes if you let Marje help you.

In answer to an earlier question you asked.
I have another question for you, if I start Dragon on insulin, can I stop once he is in remission, or is it gonna be like a human where it is for the rest of his life?
If Dragon were to go into remission, you would not have to give any more insulin as long as he stays within normal blood glucose ratings. He will always be considered a diabetic, and you would always need to feed him a low carb diet to give him the best chance at staying in remission. My cat Bob went into remission a little over a year ago after 10 weeks of insulin. He eats only low carb Fancy Feast and Friskees flavors, and always will for the rest of his life, whether he falls out of remission or not. I still test his BG monthly just to make sure he's "normal".
But this is not a race to remission. You will need to do this slowly and safely, and we would all be more than happy to help you do that.

Carl
 
Re: question for you

Me again,
I'm a little concerned about you.
So just in case you gave your cat insulin and have low numbers tonite.
Anything under 50 and you should probably go to the emergency vet if you have one.
But here are instructions .




Hypoglycemia or low blood sugar is a dangerous condition that must be treated immediately. Also known as insulin shock or insulin reaction, hypoglycemia occurs when there is too much insulin in the body potentially leading to neurological damage and/or death.

Knowing how to respond to a hypoglycemic event whether or not symptoms are present can save the life of your diabetic cat. The following general guidelines are intended for those who home test the blood glucose levels in their cats. These guidelines are not intended to replace the advice given by your Veterinarian. It is very important that you discuss any and all treatment options with your cat’s physician BEFORE an event has occurred.

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness


TREATMENT

During treatment for hypoglycemia, try to test every 15 minutes until you see the bgs begin to rise. Then continue to test until you are satisfied that the cat is out of danger.

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup.

LOW NUMBERS – MILD SYMPTOMS
Try feeding first or give a little syrup or honey followed by food until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and the symptoms disappear. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If the cat will not eat, syringe feed. If your cat will eat dry, feed this first as the high carbs will help to increase his/her bgs quickly. You can then follow with his/her favorite canned food. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – MODERATE SYMPTOMS
Give a tablespoon of syrup, a teaspoon of liquid glucose, a tablespoon of honey or a tablespoon of sugar syrup followed by food and continue doing so until you see the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level and all symptoms disappear. The syrup, honey, or glucose can be rubbed against the inside of the cat’s cheeks or on the gums for quick absorption. You can also mix the syrup with wet food or pour over dry if the cat will eat it. Continue to give syrup and food as needed and observe your cat for signs of recurring hypoglycemia. Keep in mind that giving syrup (Karo, etc.) or honey is not enough because the effects wear off quickly. You need to follow with food.
IF IN ANY DOUBT, TELEPHONE YOUR VETERINARIAN.

LOW NUMBERS – SEVERE SYMPTOMS
Rub syrup, honey, or glucose on the gums and cheeks if your cat will allow it. Another option for administering syrup, diluted liquid glucose, honey or sugar syrup to a cat who is seizuring is to fill a needleless syringe with the mixture and insert via the rectum.
NEVER TRY TO SQUIRT SYRUP, HONEY, OR GLUCOSE TO A CAT WHO IS SEIZURING AS THE CAT COULD CHOKE ON IT! RUSH TO EMERGENCY.

AGAIN! ANYTIME YOU CAT IS SEIZURING OR LIMP, RUB KARO, GLUCOSE OR HONEY ONLY ON GUMS OR ADMINISTER RECTALLY AND GET TO EMERGENCY OR YOUR NEAREST CLINIC IMMEDIATELY!!!

Remember that syrup or any other sugared syrup/preparation will spike the blood glucose ONLY for a short period of time, so food is really important with mild and moderate symptoms. Dry food (high carbohydrates) will keep the blood glucose numbers elevated longer, so it’s a better food to give during a hypoglycemic episode.

After a hypoglycemic episode cats may be more sensitive to insulin, so a reduction in dosage is generally required, especially considering too much insulin – whether due to dosage, inadequate food intake, or the cat’s changing insulin requirements – caused the hypoglycemic event in the first place. With moderate to severe episodes, your Vet may have you skip the next injection altogether.
IT IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU DISCUSS YOUR CAT’S HYPOGLYCEMIC EVENT WITH YOUR VET, SO TOGETHER YOU CAN DECIDE UPON THE NEXT COURSE OF ACTION.

Always keep in mind that with low blood glucose and no symptoms, the BG you get is not as important as where it is headed. In other words, if you get a BG of 100 mg/dL or 5.6 mmol/L or less and there are still several hours or more before the insulin peaks, your need to watch your cat (and the numbers) carefully and take appropriate steps. With very low numbers and NO SYMPTOMS, a cat can be fine one moment and seizuring the next.

BE PREPARED! KNOW THE SYMPTOMS AND KNOW THE TREATMENT!


Copyright © 1998-2010
Last edited by Rebecca, Webmaster on Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed broken link
Melissa & Popcorn (GA) & Sushi (GA)
Joined the FDMB: February 25, 1998Melissa&Popcorn(GA)

Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:37 am
Private message
 
Re: question for you

I have a question... over the weekend Dragon's numbers went to 16, but for the past few days he has been dropping. For the past few days he has been lower than 8.0, today at 622am he was 5.8.
Can he be giving himself to much insulin? I still have not started insulin, but I was wondering what is the lowest he can go? I know he is in the right number range now, but what is the danger zone?
Thanks
Paula
 
Re: question for you

Hi,

Normal values for a cat are under 6.7 mmol/L.

So if you are having numbers under that without insulin, that's a good number. Your cat can't go hypo if he's not taking insulin.
That's what I've read several times.
You did say you had higher ones.
Would you tell us popcorn's numbers.... like
8/8 - 6:22am ~ 5.8
8/8 - noon ~ ____


It sounds like you are teetering.
We really need to know more.
When he went up to 16, could he have found some dry cat food somewhere? Or even some dry dog food?
If he's having a high number once a day, there might be more high numbers that you don't know about.
So if you could keep a log and post it so everyone can see.
A number here and there is just a snapshot. You've got to be able to look at an overall pattern.
Then everyone here can tell you if you need to start the insulin and what dosage.
With all those low numbers, you might just need a short course ( not necessarily a lifetime) of insulin.
But everyone here is blind without you sharing more information.
You'll get lots of help if you could do that.
 
Re: question for you

I know I haven't been on for awhile, but Dragon has been doing real good as of late, but last few days when I get home from work his numbers are quite high... I was wondering could it be because I am not here? Yesterday at 9pm his numbers were 14 and then just now he was 16. His numbers were between 6 and 8 for the past week and now all of a sudden he is going up here and there.
Can you please help me with this>

Thanks
Paula
 
Re: question for you

Well,
It's difficult to be of a lot of help without you giving me numbers like a record of the last two weeks.
So I can only speculate.
possibilities:
1) you cat found dry food somewhere or treats that aren't supposed to be available anymore.
2) you tried new foods and they aren't one of the good low carb ones
3) your cat 's pancreas is sputtering( not a technical term) and is not functioning properly and needs insulin support to
heal.

It is most likely time for you to start a spreadsheet and log your bg numbers and
start the insulin. The sooner you start, the better your chances of getting popcorn back into remission.
If you keep waiting and having the high numbers, even if it's every other week, you are losing ground.

So if you are ready to start, I can go ask Marge to come back and give you a starting dosage. She and everyone else will
want that spreadsheet and at least 3 tests. one at each shot and another in the middle of the cycle.
I don't think you can postpone anymore. But I also don't want you out there doing it alone.
Please let us help you.
If you are new to giving shots, and all the other stuff, there are lots of people to help guide you thru.
I will bring them to you if they don't show up.
You obviously know how to test.

Popcorn needs to start getting better.
I don't think he's going to be able to do it with just the food change..
 
Re: question for you

Hi Paula,

I know I haven't been on for awhile, but Dragon has been doing real good as of late, but last few days when I get home from work his numbers are quite high... I was wondering could it be because I am not here? Yesterday at 9pm his numbers were 14 and then just now he was 16. His numbers were between 6 and 8 for the past week and now all of a sudden he is going up here and there.
Can you please help me with this>

Rhiannon mentioned some things that can cause a sudden increase of BG, but there's a couple more things that might be going on.
Could there be any sort of infection going on? Something like a UTI for instance.
Any chance there are dental issues? They can cause pain and/or infection which can both cause an increase in BG levels.

Is there any change in behavior? Peeing more, upchucking, diarrhea or constipation? Is Dragon acting in any way differently just in the past few days? Any signs of dehydration. Is he drinking more/less or eating more/less? Is he acting in any way that makes you think he might be in pain?

Carl
 
Re: question for you

Today I tested Dragon first thing in the morning and his numbers dropped to 1.8/32 and I gave him some corn syrup.. and his numbers jumped to 1.9/34.
I had noticed that he isn't in the mood to eat. He likes to go into the tub here and there and he tried to get in, but his back legs weren't working all that well.
Even though he isn't on insulin yet, what could be the cause of this? I have never had him this low before and it is scaring me... is it a good thing that he is so low, or do I need to get him up higher again? What could be the reason behind his low numbers? Should I get him to the vet asap, or is it okay beacuse he isn't on insulin yet?
Please let me know what to do and also should I start to force feed him today?
Thanks a lot for your help

Paula
 
Re: question for you

Since you haven't started the insulin, that's a good number. Cats are sometimes low.
He didn't show any other symptoms , did he?
If he was acting normal, then I believe he is okay. You don't need to give him syrup for a low number that isn't caused by an insulin shot.
I will go ask Sienne about it.

The leg thing sounds like neuropathy.
I have to go read thru all of this thread to remember if you were doing anything for that. so BRB
 
Re: question for you

First thing, if your cat is not in insulin, hypo can't happen.
So karo was not needed. If you have not started insulin I would not.
if you are getting odd numbers, I would look to health.... what if there is a cracked tooth or something? An infection could also raise numbers, as could pancreatitis.

if the cat is not getting any insulin yet, and you are getting numbers like that 1.8/32, look to health and don't start insulin.
 
Re: question for you

Some cat's "normal" blood glucose levels can be in the 30s or 40s. However, there are other conditions that can cause blood glucose levels to fluctuate. Since you have been keeping records, I would second Gayle's (Blue's) suggestion above and talk to your vet and get this investigated.
 
Re: question for you

I am very sadden to report, but Dragon was put to sleep this afternoon. He was not doing good, his numbers had dropped to 0.7 and it seemed like he was ready to go.

I would like to thank you all for helping me through this and I will never forget you for this

From Paula and his brother Simba
 
Re: question for you

I thank you for your help, but I had to let him rest... today he was going to leave and I wanted to be with him, as I was... I will miss him!!

:cry:

Paula and Simba
 
Re: question for you

Paula,
I am so sad to hear this, but I don't understand... did the vet say what could have been causing the low numbers when no insulin was being given?
That you could be with him when he was set free is a good thing, and it had to be a very painful decision for you to make, and my heart goes out to you.

Carl
 
Re: question for you

Thanks Carl, the vet told me that he didn't have many options and with the way he was he could go within a few days, so I thought instead of keeping him in this pain, I needed to let him go and yes I was very, very happy that I was last person he saw and that he heard me tell him that I love him!!!
Paula and Simba
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top