question for a friend

Status
Not open for further replies.

Just-As-Appy

Active Member
After a bit of messing about and finally changing vets, my friend's cat is on Prozinc. I am not familiar with this insulin. Kitty had an evil bladder infection and has been on abx for a week and has a week to go. Her lb action is getting closer to normal, but with big pees. Her vet started with 2u and after 2 days she was still HI. Raised to 3u and giving fluids (which is where I came in). I've taught kitty mom testing which she does. Yesterday at about +5 Kitty was 144, but at PMPS she was HI again. She is planning to do a curve Sunday. I am still giving Kitty 50 mls sub q daily and helps with constipation. Thoughts on the dose or suitability of the insulin? Thanks.
 
The 144 sounds good. Wonder if the pmps is a bounce? (If the cat has been running pretty high, that might have felt like a low). The curve is a good idea. What is she feeding?
 
Thanks Sue. She is feeding mostly FF pates, but a lot of Temptations to lure Kitty out from under the bed and after tests and fluids. I just picked up some low carb duck soft treats so hopefully she'll like those instead.

My intent is for her to join and post for herself but she has been pretty overwhelmed. Hopefully I can post Sunday's numbers for you to have a look at.
 
I know it can be overwhelming! So she is still on AB for the bladder infection? That can cause her numbers to be higher too...hopefully as it clears up that will help.
 
She is still on abx for another week I think. It was a once-a-day. Unfortunately neuropathy is starting. We'll see what tomorrow's curve shows, but I am wondering if this is the right insulin for this cat. Does it have a fast acting component like Caninsulin?
 
Prozinc is gentler than Caninsulin. Caninsulin is fast acting, but tends to be too harsh for most cats...and doesn't last long enough, making it hard to get regulated. It's possible she needs a different insulin...but let's see what the curve shows.
 
I'd give ProZinc a chance. If she is on antibiotics, that can raise levels. It looks like she hasn't been on insulin very long. I'd give it awhile. The 144 was encouraging and shows the insulin is working. The dose may need to be adjusted up or down.
 
A little surprise this morning. Her AMPS was 77.4 and +1.5 was 140.4. She may have been lower overnight as all her plates of food were sparkling clean. She have a skinny .5u and is planning to test a couple of times during the day. It won't be a true 'curve' but should be helpful.
 
I was wondering that too. I would stick with the 200 as a no shoot number for a few more days. With ProZinc, we suggest not shooting under 150, and then only with lots of data and on days monitoring is possible, and then only small amounts - often drops.
 
I didn't feel that she has enough data to shoot a 77, or even the 140. However, .5u was not enough and by +4 kitty was over 450 again. Darn. Oh well, better to high than too low...
 
Good. ProZinc is not dosed the same way as the depot insulins. We do not shoot low to stay low. I would never shoot 70 or 140.

Be sure you are considering bouncing in looking at her numbers
 
Do you think she should drop back to 1 u? She is at 2.5 now (down from 3 that the vet recommended), or does she need more data to really know?
 
I think that she is close to being able to start her own account, and yes, I know a ss would be most helpful. To Sharon's question, she started a 2u and after 5 shots the vet said to increase to 3u. Can you point me to the ss instructions and I'll see what I can do? And neuropathy is a bit of an issue. I started B12 injections yesterday. Thanks.
 
Those numbers look like a bounce to me - from 88 to 500. With that big of a bounce, I'd consider a small reduction, hopefully to flatten out the cycle.
 
Her vet started her at 2u, then increased to 3. She dropped back to 2.5u. Would 2u be good or do you think that 1.5 might be better.
 
I have named a ss and put it in my signature for now, although its not quite right as you can see. And now I need to know how to edit - do I have to sign in to google account o edit?
 
She is doing 2 days at 2u and then on Friday attempting another curve (the first was disrupted by low #s and changed dose). In general kitty has been in the high 20s or low 30s at ps and low to mid 100s at +5. Her account is KT and Char. Hopefully we can get her data in the ss. I see that I made some mistake editing my profile so will try to fix. Her ss was there for a day or two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top