Question about TR for Mimi

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-59-carb-her-up-or-wait.228069/#post-2554329

Let me see if I can ask this correctly.
Is there a more advanced TR protocol I can follow for Mimi considering how hard it is to get her to stop bouncing.

Is it possible she’ll never regulate or go into remission or is it still too soon to tell.
when does their body go “ok, I think we can stop overacting”
Also wondering why not simply changing their eating habits hasn’t been enough to get them into remission as it seems to do so in human beings. Man, this disease is so complicated..

mimi seems to be sensitive to micro increases and decreases- what is the goal of TR? Like how do you know you’re doing it correctly?
 
Max bounced his whole first year. He also didn’t hold reductions. So I didn’t reduce at the first drop under 50. I reduced after 3 drops under 50 and fed the curve to prevent drops. It’s a technique usually used after the first year but I started that sooner.

When I look at your ss I see a lot more green and progress.
 
The TR protocol is the same for all. The technique of waiting for reductions for 3 drops between 40 and 49 on separate days or one drop below 40, is one that is used for cats that don't hold reductions well. You don't have to wait a year for that, just whenever you find your cat not holding reductions well at all.

I also wouldn't worry about how much Mimi is bouncing at this point. I've seen much worse with cats at Mimi's length of time as a diabetic and even longer, one of them named Neko. :rolleyes:

I would caution you not to hold doses too long. TR says to hold doses with green nadirs up to 10 cycles. By my count, you are at 12 cycles for this dose.
 
The TR protocol is the same for all. The technique of waiting for reductions for 3 drops between 40 and 49 on separate days or one drop below 40, is one that is used for cats that don't hold reductions well. You don't have to wait a year for that, just whenever you find your cat not holding reductions well at all.

I also wouldn't worry about how much Mimi is bouncing at this point. I've seen much worse with cats at Mimi's length of time as a diabetic and even longer, one of them named Neko. :rolleyes:

I would caution you not to hold doses too long. TR says to hold doses with green nadirs up to 10 cycles. By my count, you are at 12 cycles for this dose.
Mimi had green numbers only a few cycles ago?
 
Max bounced his whole first year. He also didn’t hold reductions. So I didn’t reduce at the first drop under 50. I reduced after 3 drops under 50 and fed the curve to prevent drops. It’s a technique usually used after the first year but I started that sooner.

When I look at your ss I see a lot more green and progress.
So would you say I should follow TR the traditional way still and not hold if it drops below 50?
It seems that every time she hits numbers in the green stages she bounces back up to the yellow for a cycle or two- like can’t her little body just accept the green!? lol
 
At this point as Wendy suggested, I would not hold the dose as long as you are. I’d increase to 1.5 now. You really haven’t taken many reductions yet to see if they stick or not.
 
I think that's what I am confused about- I know Sienne mentioned it to me one time. I don't know how to follow TR if Im changing it more often than what is said in the explanation? She just tested at 42 for her +3 so Mimi is very confusing to me! Ill make a new post
 
At this point as Wendy suggested, I would not hold the dose as long as you are. I’d increase to 1.5 now. You really haven’t taken many reductions yet to see if they stick or not.
in the past when Ive increased Ive heard others stating "she was clearing a bounce". It seems like she gets into green, then bounces, the goes back to green then bounces- Shell go from green to yellow in a cycle so Im confused
 
Back
Top