Question about testing before AMPS.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Some people do a +11 before the amps, usually to see where kitty is going(hopefully up)..Or go to work & need to see where cat is, as they need to leave.
BTW Welcome to Lantus Land!!
 
Thanks for the welcome Roni :)

I test at +11...but does it have to be exactly an hour before or could it be 45 minutes or 1/2 hour?
 
Here's my spin. If you test at +11, if you get a low number, like something in the 50s, you then have more time to figure out what to do. On the other hand, I fall out of bed, put my contact lenses in, then go to test, feed, and shoot because that's what works for my schedule.
 
Hi Natalia, 1/2 hour or 45 minutes are fine. As Roni says, the reason for testing a bit before AMPS is to see where your cat is trending so you will have an idea of how and what to feed, etc. before you leave for work. If you work at home, or are at home for a few hours after AMPS, it is not so crucial to test before the AMPS test itself. But it is nice to have those pre-amps data if you can get them, especially since you are new and have to begin learning what to expect from Enana.

You are doing well. Keep up the good work.

Ella & Rusty
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Here's my spin. If you test at +11, if you get a low number, like something in the 50s, you then have more time to figure out what to do. On the other hand, I fall out of bed, put my contact lenses in, then go to test, feed, and shoot because that's what works for my schedule.
I often test at +11 or +11.5 (as soon as I wake up) because it gives me the extra time to make decisions and or post on the board for advice.
My schedule does not allow for much room for stalling (waiting to give the AM shot after +12, because of a low number) as I have to leave the house to go to work at +1.
So that first (+11) test helps me to know what I may have to be dealing with at AMPS. And if the AMPS is lower than the +11, then I know my cat is dropping, and depending on those numbers, I may have to shoot a BCS and/or leave out higher carb food when I leave for the day.
 
Sienne this
On the other hand, I fall out of bed, put my contact lenses in, then go to test, feed, and shoot because that's what works for my schedule.
is what I would like to do :)

But I have been doing what Dyana says...I crawl out of bed at +11...test her...then climb up to be until +11.5...and test her again.

*sigh*

Thanks for all your answers.
 
Natalia! Welcome! I am a fellow Houstonian too (near JSC)! :YMHUG: You do what you can. If you can grab extra tests about an hour or half hour before shot time great, but if you just can't drag yourself out of bed... no worries. I try to do my testing on the weekend :)

Welcome to LL, and if you need any local help feel free to PM me and we can exchange numbers. :) Stay warm!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top