Question about Testing after eating BG Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancey

Member Since 2012
Just kind of wondering out loud about this. If you test your sugar kitty when you know darn well they have been eating what BG level is considered to high? Whether they have been eating low carb canned or low carb dry?

Typically Frodo is anywhere from mid to upper 200's and sometimes even low 300's. I tested him on Friday around +5 after AMPS and he was 79, I was working from home and he had nothing to eat for at least 4 hours and had been sleeping most of that time. First time in a while I have caught him like this.

I am just curious if there is a normal range for cats BG after eating when they are on insulin.

Odd question I know but like I said I am just wondering out loud.

Thanks to anyone that takes the time to respond.
Nancey
 
Do you mean you consistently test for pre shots after he eats? If so, yes, that could be a food influenced number. We generally say food makes a number rise within 20 minutes, but that certainly varies for each cat. Not having any food for 4 hours could certainly have meant a lower number.

The 79 was probably the low point in the cycle? If so, it looks like your dose was pretty good although it could have caused a bounce. (Your spreadsheet doesn't have recent numbers so I can't tell whether you recently raised the dose?)
 
Sue,

I knew I wasn't asking that quite right. I did not mean to imply I consistently test for after eats for his pre-shots, although I have tested knowing dog gone well he had eaten something with in the 2 hour range. I am just basically wondering if anyone else has tested their cat knowing they have eaten within that 2 hour window and what kind of range they might get.

Is there such a thing as a "normal" range if you test after eating?

Not sure if the question even makes any sense but it kind of came to me and I thought I would see if anyone else ever had the thought/question.
 
Not that I know of. Cats are so different about food/insulin that it would be hard to generalize. Do you have an automatic feeder? I love my PetSafe 5. You can set it to feed small snacks during the day/night and then move to an empty slot two hours before the preshot test.
 
I knew it was an odd question, but had to ask. Curiosity you know, seems always wondering about the numbers. I do need to update my spreadsheet I did it Friday but that was before the 79 reading I think. I don't think it was a bounce I think it was his NADIR, will do a few more mid-days this week to be sure, as I will be at home.

I do have a automatic feeder, it is the one with 2 feeders on it. I either have to pick food up of invest in the PetSafe 5. Or at the rate he is going put him in a room to himself so I can manage him better. Well not totally by himself he would have one very very very shy kitten with him, she is in GREAT need of socialization, but LOVES Frodo to pieces :-D so could be a win win for us all. At least long enough for me to get him under control and her more social.
 
Nancey said:
I am just basically wondering if anyone else has tested their cat knowing they have eaten within that 2 hour window and what kind of range they might get.

There are so many variables to this equation that it's an ECID thing. When we first started this Sugar Dance, I used to keep a record of Mikey's food and eating habits to help me figure out which foods worked best in relation to his numbers. Even now, I'll still do a "food tracking curve" whenever I want to try a new food out on them to see how it affects his numbers.

With Mikey, I know that regardless of where he's at in his cycle, he gets about a 30-point food spike from 5% calories from carbs and it hits his BGs within about a half hour to an hour. If his numbers don't budge at all after eating, then I know he probably would have dropped an additional 30 points but the food kept him even. With 0-4% carbs, it's still around a 30-point spike but with 6% carbs, he gets a 50- to 80-point spike. 8% carbs, it's even higher. Add to that, higher fat foods lead to higher BGs with Mikey than higher protein foods. ECID!

As to when it "wears off," with Mikey, the food spike doesn't ever wear off without insulin (might be related to the type of diabetic he is...whatever that might be :roll: ).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top