Question About Test Strip Control Solution Range

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy & LiLi

Member Since 2015
Hello. After much deliberation about an AlphaTrak or FreeStyle, I went with the FreeStyle. I checked LiLi's BG and it was 161. She has not started insulin, nor fasted. I got the meter so I could do some readings before starting the insulin because I am also in the process of weaning her off Prednisolone and incorporating less carbs and more protein.

Anyway, I also did a Control Solution check - the range on the test strip vial is:

High: 248 - 372
Low: 30 - 60

I did 2 tests - 1 was 98 and the other 96. This doesn't seem right - shouldn't the number be somewhere between either the high or low range? It's been awhile since I've done this, so not sure if I'm missing something.

Also, I am making an assumption that the human glucometer may read higher than the AlphaTrak, so if I were to subtract 30 (just a guess) from the 161, then she's only around 131, so I don't know that she should start insulin at this point. I know it's just one reading and I'll get some more once I make sure the meter is working properly.

Any thoughts on the above would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Sandy
 
I'm not sure what the control solution number could mean, do you have the instructions that came with it?

You shouldn't be doing any math on the number you get. What your meter reads, your meter reads. All number ranges on this board are for human meters, which is what you have. Human meters almost always read lower than the AT, not higher.

What was her numbers before the diet change? It sounds like she is coming down with the diet and med change. I would probably not start insulin if the diet change is new and meds reduction is not complete and wait to see where she finally ends up. 161 is heading towards good numbers.
 
Hi Sandy,

There should be a number printed on the box of strips that indicates what the control solution test should return.

I don't have the same meter, but I have two boxes of strips and one control solution. On the bottom of the box and also on each vial of strips is a range of numbers - I'm in Canada and we use mmol/L instead of mg/dL, but basically one box reads 6.1 - 7.7. I have another set of vials that read 6.0 - 7.5. All this means is that when I apply the control solution, the meter should report back a number between 6.1 - 7.7 with the one set, and 6.0 - 7.5 with the other. If the reading is higher or lower, my strips are probably junk. Your vial of strips should have a "range" - probably something like 110 - 140 or something like that.

A human glucometer will typically report a lower number than the AT.

You should be aware that on a human glucometer, the danger range for a possible hypoglycaemic event is under 50, whereas on the AT it is 68.

That math does not work the same way going up the scale; just know that the AT will typically read higher than a human meter on the same drop of blood, even. It matters less in the higher ranges unless you are worried about renal threshold or ketones.

In your cat's case, the 131 on the Freestyle has no known translation, but you can assume it's somewhat higher.

If it helps, here the SLGS or TRP approaches use readings on human glucometers. 160 is not an awful number, but I don't give dose advice. What insulin are you considering using and what diet (or diet changes) have you made for your cat since diagnosis? Is LiLi showing symptoms of diabetes - lots of drinking and peeing perhaps? These things will all be taken into consideration for starting insulin.

Sorry, I've basically repeated some of what the other Melanie (hi Melanie) has already said.

Hope that helps!
 
Last edited:
Are you using a FreeStyle meter with FreeStyle strips and using FreeStyle control solution?
Does the FreeStyle meter automatically coe the meters for the strips used?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top