Wendy,
"Five Steps to Regulation" is the original Start Low Go Slow approach. We updated it recently to be more specific to Lantus and Levemir:
Lantus & Levemir - Start Low, Go Slow Method (SLGS). In this adaptation, we adjusted the recommended dose change from 0.5 units to changing by 0.25 units at a time. Random spot checks are not required in addition to the curve, but they are recommended and will give you a better picture of how the insulin is working in your cat.
The
START LOW, GO SLOW METHOD (SLGS) with LANTUS or LEVEMIR for DIABETIC CATS has been adapted from the FDMB's original
5 Steps to Regulating Your Diabetic Cat (the "Start Low - Go Slow" approach). Adaptations were necessary to accommodate the action, nuances, and exceptions of the newer Lantus and Levemir insulins.
I see a curve yesterday with a nadir of 179, so according to the
original SLGS, a 0.5 unit increase is appropriate. According to the
updated Lantus and Levemir SLGS, a 0.25 unit increase would be recommended. We do find that smaller dose adjustments tend to work better for these insulins, at least for most cats.
Wendy is correct in that we do often notice an increase in numbers in the first day or two following a dose increase. Usually they will come back down after a few cycles and you'll be able to see what the dose really can do. Especially since you increased the dose by more than we usually recommend, I would plan to do another curve (or at least some spot checks) on the 4th or 5th cycle of this dose so you can see if it is working yet.
eta: never mind, I see that you reduced the dose to 1.25 this morning. Carry on! I think that will be a bit safer and you can always increase again if needed.