Question about order of operations

Tiger and the squid

Member Since 2018
So, I know it's test, feed, shoot. My question is there any wait time before feeding and shooting? With Tiger's vetsulin, previously, I'm pretty sure I read that it can hit hard, so it's better to give some time between feeding and shooting. I would feed at 7, shoot at 730.

Is this the same with lantus, or an unnecessary delay in getting me back to bed on the weekends? lol

Also, when storing my vetsulin in the fridge, I'd pull it out at 7 with the meal, and let it come up to temperature. I know not to shake lantus, like I had to with vetsulin, but is this warming up process also necessary?
 
With Lantus, with most cats (and there are exceptions) onset (when the insulin kicks in) takes about 2 hours. As a result, it's fine to test/feed/shoot within minutes. I would typically give Gabby her shot when her head was in her food bowl. You don't need to delay.

I never brought the insulin up to room temp. It might make a difference with regard to your cat's comfort if you are shooting a large dose but there's no "need" to bring the insulin up to room temperature.

However, you will want to get curves so you have a better idea of when your cat's onset and nadir fall. Not all cats follow the rules.


 
Ditto! Even when Cameron was on Vetsulin,i had to shoot while he was eating- it was the only way he'd tolerate getting a shot.
 
Welcome to the forum! We are happy to have you and Tiger here :joyful: He’s a very handsome guy!!

Since your question has been answered, I’d like to take the opportunity to provide a little input on a couple things, if it’s ok :)

It’s always good to read the stickys at the top of the page starting with New to the Group where you will find a very valuable post, Making the Most of your Lantus, Basalgar, Levemir ISG Experience. We do one condo per cat per day with all of your questions so you can use this one for today by simply changing the title to:

9/9 Tiger AMPS 316 +1 600

You can add the test numbers as you get them. Starting with PMPS, we edit the title again to remove the a.m. cycle info and put in the p.m. cycle info. To edit the condo title, go to your first post and in the upper right corner, click on “Thread tools” and “edit thread”.

If you have questions, you can use the drop down bar to the left of the title to select the “?” as well as write something in the title line such as:

9/9 Tiger AMPS 316 +1 600 ? About feeding

When the question is answered, we ask that you remove the “?” and the text in the title referencing the question.

I’m also going to ask you to please put your SS back in the correct format with all of the potential testing cells shown. There is a very specific reason why we show hourly columns and you will need them. Look at any experienced member’s cat’s SS and you will see what I mean. If you don’t have the full SS as we’ve developed it based on years and years of experience, you won’t be able to record all your data which means our advice to you won’t be as good as it could be. Thank you very much...we truly appreciate it.

And while we can certainly deal with you separating the SS by monthly tabs, it actually helps us a lot more when you have at least a few months on a tab. Those of us experienced members who give dosing advice like to see what a kitty has been doing over a timeframe and it does take more time to go back and forth between tabs to look at the waves of action on lantus.

Lastly, I’m really glad to see you getting some nighttime tests. Well done you!!! I can’t tell you how much more that will help us all figure out why he’s seeing these black numbers.

When we see a kitty dropping over 300 mg/dL in a cycle, and bouncing back up to 600s again, that tells me there is an issue with the dose. But.....it’s smarter to do a little investigative work before changing it so the more random tests you can get in to fill in the pieces of the SS throughout the day is really helpful. At night, a +2 and a before bed can help us help you sort this out.

Let us know how we can help. Have a great day.
 
Last edited:
I believe with Vetsulin you should give 30 minutes after eating. It's been awhile since I used it though. With Olive I used lantus and now levemir. I take the insulin from the fridge set on counter. I then test Olive, give her tiny bit of food with her pill in it, then fix all 4 food bowls. I then pull up the syringe, pass out the bowls and as Olive is eating I inject in the side. She never even stops eating. And by then the insulin is warm enough.
 
Are you feeding LOW carb FF? Dr Pierson(yellow sticky notes) has a great article about why not to feed Dry food. She also has a list of nearly all the cat food & Lists the Carbs & Phosphorus
Some of the FF is very high in carbs.(FF Gravy Lovers is 15% you don't want to feed cat food that's high in carbs) ( FF Turkey feast in gravy Grilled is Medium carbs 13 %) You can look up the carbs on the list & mark the bottom of the cans with the % # of carbs. When my Ravan's bg is too low I give a spoon of Medium carbs 13% to bring his Glucose up. You don't need to give dry food. " Wellness Turkey Pate is only 4% carbs " There are a lot of other brands that are also low in carbs.

You need to add the DATE his labs were done. His Glucose was normal then? What was happening with your kitty that you had labs done?

Take the time to read the Yellow Sticky Notes. Once you know how Lantus Insulin works it will be easier to understand.Are you using a Lantus Pen? When we use the Pen we draw out the insulin with a syringe.
( I copied a lot of the info & put it in a folder so I can refer to it frequently.)

Is your Kitties name Squid, or Tiger ? It's a bit confusingo_O

Marje and Gracie can give you the Best advice!

Everything will be OK! :) Hang in there you're at the RIGHT place for help for your Kitty.
 
Is your Kitties name Squid, or Tiger ? It's a bit confusingo_O

I can answer that one. The pusscat is called Tiger. The person's chosen username is Squid.

I kept the lantus in the fridge and didn't bring it up to room temperature before shooting. I got the shot ready. Tested the BG - fed - shot. Or shot whilst he was feeding depending on the BG test results of course.

He is a really handsome super senior. :cat:

Hopefully with the testing and following the guide his numbers will become more even & he'll feel a little better.

:bighug:
 
Back
Top