Question about low number out of the blue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
Hi all. I don't post much but I am here daily reading EVERYTHING

I have months of numbers for Tuxie but I have not created a spreadsheet since I am in Canada and it is too much work to convert all the numbers to US numbers. I regularly test 6-8 times daily or more if needed.Also Tuxie's numbers have been mostly unremarkable over the months. With the odd exception he runs in the low 20's (375-400) PS and has nadirs around 15 (270) prettu much standard even with dose increases. Tuxie had a dental and extraction done Feb 25, which did not do anything for his numbers unfortunately. Since then his doses are increased .25 units about every 5 days if his numbers are the same.

Last night I was doing my +6 test before bed and got a 2.5 (45)!!! Never ever came anywhere close to this. I gave him a bit of maple syrup and some FF with gravy and his numbers came up over the next hourly tests 6.35 (115) 9.4 (170) 14.0 ( 250) ...so all was good for the night. Of course this morning he was 29.8 (532) which I expected after such a low number earlier.

So...my question is what thoughts does anyone have about the low number out of the blue like that?? Could this be a short sputter from the pancreas or ??????

Thanks for any input....I was really freaked out since the chance of him going hypo has never been a concern with the way his numbers have been.
 
Re-test any time you get a weird number; test again if the 2nd is vastly different.
Glucometers aren't perfect.
 
Thank you for the reply. When I got the low number I did 2 more tests and both were in the same range as the first...so I am pretty sure that he did hit that low. But it just came out of the blue. I was ready to go to bed and just doing his +6 test and totally expecting it the be in his usual range...around 15 (270) since his nadir usually occurs between 5-7 hours. So seeing this number really spooked me since there is no explanation for that low a drop out of the blue???
 
By going that low, he has earned a 0.25 unit dose reduction, regardless of protocol. You may have to eyeball that.
Since you're testing
 
Can we get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests? It will help us give you better feedback. Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
If I set up a spreadsheet can I do it in mmol/l which is the Canadian number system...trying to convert all those numbers to US format will fuzz my brain out.
 
Unfortunately I did his usual dose this morning...with little or no sleep I wasn't thinking very clearly He got his 4.75 and I am doing a full day curve if I can..every 2 hours

AMPS 29.8 food 1/8 c and shot (higher preshot number than usual most likely because of the low number last night)
+2 26.6
+4 22.1
+6 14.4 lunch 1/8 c (this is usually around the time he has his nadir)

I give him a small piece of chicken or salmon as a treat after tests. My food averages out to about 2% carbs
 
There is a World version that does the math for you (has 2 pages: 1 where you enter the data, the other with the value multiplied by 18).
 
OK I did the spreadsheet from the start of March but I can't get it to show up on my profile...I am obviously doing something wrong???
 
It looks like an error in the forum link coding. @BJM - is it possible for one of the mods to fix the signature coding for Tuxedo Mom?
 
Almost there!
From Drive, File, Publish to the Web.
Copy the link provided and re-highlight Tuxie's Numbers, click the link icon, and paste in the new link.
(ps. You don't need the bracket ] )


You may need to click the Share icon on the right, too.
 
If someone can check and see if my spreadsheet is showing. I can see it but I don't know if everyone else can.

Thanks
 
Thanks BJM!!

I didn't do a dose reduction this morning but I will drop to4.5 for his PM shot and see how that goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top