? Question about increasing insulin for Tyler

Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Member Since 2018
I'll tell you why I am posting these pics
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



I know I have asked this more than once sorry
Tyler is getting 0.10 units of lantus, most of you know he has been getting way more blue pre shots and through the cycles

When I look at these pics and where the 0.10 plunger should be, right under the zero line ,just a smidge under it

Well I have been giving more what looks like 0.25 units by looking at the pic
Don't kill me please after all this time I think I have been shooting 0.25

Tyler's numbers haven't been that bad , just the other night during the night cycle 5-26 and 5-27 he did really good
5-26-20 PMPS was 128. @+4 was 88. and @+6 was 88

5-27-20 PMPS was 80. @+3 was 69. @+5 was 79

So what I trying to say is do you think I should go to shooting 0.5 units or do you think he might drop really low
Please don't ask me to get calipers , I wouldn't even know where to start with them
Would they even work with a small dose of 0.10 or 0.25 units

To tell you the truth I'm so confused as what to do or just keep shooting what I have been doing
Thanks guys
@Deb & Wink
@carfurby
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Wendy&Neko
@Nan & Amber (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Chris & China (GA)
Anybody lol
 
Last edited:
IMG_20200529_122652.jpg
IMG_20200529_122652.jpg


This is approximately where I have been putting the syringe for 0.10
But looking at the above pics doesn't it look like 0.25 that I have been shooting
I just don't know anymore
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200529_122652.jpg
    IMG_20200529_122652.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 160
It's really hard to measure a small dose. Why don't you try drawing up 0.1 units in one syringe and 0.25 in another can compare them. It's more important that you give a consistent dose with what you measure than it is that you match a picture or what other people measure. You can use a colored liquid instead of insulin to test this. If you decide to increase, you'll have an idea of where you need to measure on the syringe no matter what you call it. Since Tyler's nadirs have been higher greens, I think you have room for an increase.
 
It's really hard to measure a small dose. Why don't you try drawing up 0.1 units in one syringe and 0.25 in another can compare them. It's more important that you give a consistent dose with what you measure than it is that you match a picture or what other people measure. You can use a colored liquid instead of insulin to test this. If you decide to increase, you'll have an idea of where you need to measure on the syringe no matter what you call it. Since Tyler's nadirs have been higher greens, I think you have room for an increase.
Hey Carla I just posted pics of where I am putting the plunger, don't know if you saw it, I'll go to the store and get some food coloring and try it. Thanks Carla and scritches to furball
 
It doesn’t matter if your 0.1u dose looks exactly like the one in the picture. What matters is that you are consistent. If you think what you’ve actually been shooting is closer to 0.25u, then make a note on your SS. You can insert a line above where you change the dose number (even though you are shooting the same amount) and just remark that you were misreading the syringe and it’s actually 0.25u. That way we know you didn’t increase the dose.

He’s getting green nadirs so I wouldn’t jump to increase the dose. When you do increase, I might just try adding a little fat instead of drawing up to the 0.5u line in your syringe.

Dosing with calipers is not required and it’s not difficult to learn. I could accurately dose down to 0.05u......not 0.5u. It 0.05u with calipers so tiny, tiny doses.
 
It doesn’t matter if your 0.1u dose looks exactly like the one in the picture. What matters is that you are consistent. If you think what you’ve actually been shooting is closer to 0.25u, then make a note on your SS. You can insert a line above where you change the dose number (even though you are shooting the same amount) and just remark that you were misreading the syringe and it’s actually 0.25u. That way we know you didn’t increase the dose.

He’s getting green nadirs so I wouldn’t jump to increase the dose. When you do increase, I might just try adding a little fat instead of drawing up to the 0.5u line in your syringe.

Dosing with calipers is not required and it’s not difficult to learn. I could accurately dose down to 0.05u......not 0.5u. It 0.05u with calipers so tiny, tiny doses.
Thank you Marje, if I get the calipers I'll be asking for your help, I hope you won't mind:cat:
 
I'll second the vote for calipers...that syringe barrel is so tiny to begin with. I had a bit of a learning curve with calipers, but @Marje and Gracie helped me and she can help you too. Fine dosing just screams out calipers to me...I'd never be able to get a consistent dose without them...and I may never get down to the tiniest dose like you're already doing.

I use these calipers: https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html
Thanks for the info Sue:cat:
 
It doesn’t matter if your 0.1u dose looks exactly like the one in the picture. What matters is that you are consistent. If you think what you’ve actually been shooting is closer to 0.25u, then make a note on your SS. You can insert a line above where you change the dose number (even though you are shooting the same amount) and just remark that you were misreading the syringe and it’s actually 0.25u. That way we know you didn’t increase the dose.

He’s getting green nadirs so I wouldn’t jump to increase the dose. When you do increase, I might just try adding a little fat instead of drawing up to the 0.5u line in your syringe.

Dosing with calipers is not required and it’s not difficult to learn. I could accurately dose down to 0.05u......not 0.5u. It 0.05u with calipers so tiny, tiny doses.
Hey Marje , good idea one question if I do think I have been shooting 0.25 instead of 0.10 would I put 0.25 units in the unit cell instead of 0.10 @Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
Diane, whatever you have been doing, whatever dose you have been measuring, whatever you do to keep that dose as consistent as you HAVE been doing, is working for Tyler. Stop a minute and think about that.

I read an article in a scientific journal many years ago, that said measuring a dose <2U with the syringes available is virtually impossible to do. Yet you have been doing good measurements for Tyler's insulin for cycle after cycle, week after week, month after month, keeping Tyler's BG levels almost ALWAYS in the blues and the greens for more than a year now.

You should be proud of your skills at measuring the dose and keeping Tyler's BG levels as steady as you have been able to do. Give yourself a pat on the back, a round of applause, put a gigantic smile on your face and congratulate yourself. Kudos to you "girlfriend!" :bighug::):D;)
 
Diane, whatever you have been doing, whatever dose you have been measuring, whatever you do to keep that dose as consistent as you HAVE been doing, is working for Tyler. Stop a minute and think about that.

I read an article in a scientific journal many years ago, that said measuring a dose <2U with the syringes available is virtually impossible to do. Yet you have been doing good measurements for Tyler's insulin for cycle after cycle, week after week, month after month, keeping Tyler's BG levels almost ALWAYS in the blues and the greens for more than a year now.

You should be proud of your skills at measuring the dose and keeping Tyler's BG levels as steady as you have been able to do. Give yourself a pat on the back, a round of applause, put a gigantic smile on your face and congratulate yourself. Kudos to you "girlfriend!" :bighug::):D;)
Thanks so much Deb, really, I just get so anal about all of this sometimes lol
I appreciate all of your help and advice, definitely going to try not to over think this
Have a nice day tomorrow:bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I'll pipe in with my 2 cents regarding syringes and calipers. This last packet of needles/syringes I had have consistently been off by about .5u by the syringe markings. Even though Freckles is at a relatively high dose of insulin, I would hate to fathom what might happen to a kitty who is on a lower dosage and getting .5u extra insulin because the markings on the syringe are off. I have been using calipers all along but I do use the markings on the syringe just to give guidance on approximately how much insulin to draw into the needle.
 
I'll pipe in with my 2 cents regarding syringes and calipers. This last packet of needles/syringes I had have consistently been off by about .5u by the syringe markings. Even though Freckles is at a relatively high dose of insulin, I would hate to fathom what might happen to a kitty who is on a lower dosage and getting .5u extra insulin because the markings on the syringe are off. I have been using calipers all along but I do use the markings on the syringe just to give guidance on approximately how much insulin to draw into the needle.
Hi Judy first I want to tell you what an adorable kitty Freckles is.
I am going to keep shooting the same dose I have been, but looking at my pics of my syringes I posted above I really think I actually have been shooting 0.25 units instead of 0.10 units
I'm not increasing Tyler's dose
I noted it on my spreadsheet that I was reading the syringe wrong, I actually put the plunger way more below the zero mark than I should. Thanks for your input, hope you have a nice day tomorrow Judy I was reading your remarks on your SS and had to laugh about Freckles got into the beef fat juice and ripped the bag to shreds to get into the cheese envelope they do get into everything don't they:cat:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top