Question about food for new diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

cbrace

Member Since 2014
Hi,
My 8 yr. old cat was just diagnosed with diabetes. Her numbers were over 400 and the whole experience was a big shock
After a month of twice a day insulin shots and feeding her only the Vet recommended DM dry (she wouldn't eat the wet)
her numbers have come down to under 200.
I just discovered this website and was concerned because it says under no circumstances to feed your cat the Purina
Vet Diet DM dry. I trust my vet so I'm really confused. Can you all tell me why you feel the vet is wrong?
Thanks,
Charl
 
Until and unless you are home testing the blood glucose, keep the food the same

Switching to a low carb diet can reduce the glucose 100 mg/dL (on a glucometer) and may reduce an insulin dose 2 units.
 
With a dry food diet, there is simply not enough water in your cat's system and with the frequent urination caused by the feline diabetes unregulated blood glucose levels, that can easily lead to dehydration. Also, more water in the diet helps to flush out the excess glucose in your cat's system. Think of excess glucose in the kidney/urinary tract system as a nutrient rich environment for bacteria to grow and that gives you another reason to try to change from dry to wet food.

According to the manufacturer's website, http://www.purinaveterinarydiets.com/Product/DMDieteticManagementCatFood.aspx the dry DM is 18% carbs. There are various vet journal published studies that show that 12% or less carbs are better than the higher carb diets in managing feline diabetes. We recommend that members strive for <10% carbs in a cat's diet, which more closely profiles their natural diet they would be eating in the wild, think a whole mouse or 2 or 3. ;-)

There are some Transitioning Tips For Dry Food Addicts here, a nice write up by vet Dr. Lisa Pierson. It took me about 4 weeks to get my dry food addict cat Wink switched over from dry to wet and that was really quick. I used almost all the tips in this great document to do the food switch. Patience and persistence are keys.

What insulin are you using?
 
My cat's also newly diagnosed and my (former) vet also recommended Purina Dry. After ten days one of the vet techs suggested I feed her Purina wet. I started feeding her mainly that, still giving her some dry to tide her over while I'm at work or out for a long time. Then after doing some research (mostly here) I decided to cut out the dry entirely. The difference was shocking - her bg stopped spiking into the 300s overnight. She's been much easier to regulate since I cut out the dry food entirely.

Conclusion based on observation: even a small scoop of dry food can shoot blood glucose very high. My vet meant well but is maybe not the best informed on how close is the relationship between dry food, carbs, and blood sugar. I wish I had known this right away because we might be much farther along than we are now. So, I definitely recommend cutting out the dry, but also if you do so MAKE SURE you test her blood sugar at home because she may need a reduction in insulin.
 
thank you all for the replies. I am learning a lot.
i am giving my cat Prozinc 5mg twice a day. Are you advising that I should stop the dry DM food and
start with a canned such as Fancy Feast? I am supposed to go back to the Vet in about 2 weeks to have her blood work checked.
 
Yes, canned low carb food is often the ticket to going OTJ if you are lucky or at least getting regulated on less insulin. For those who have been on dry food it is amazing how this works.
 
cbrace said:
...i am giving my cat Prozinc 5mg twice a day.

I think you mean 5 units.

And if you change the food, immediately drop the insulin by half. Dropping high carb food may reduce the glucose by 100 mg/dL and may reduce the insulin needs by around 2 units.

N=1 My Spitzer's dose was reduced from 3 units to 1 by switching food. Your cat may drop more or less.
 
Hello! Welcome to FDMB! Can I ask if you started in 5 units? That's a pretty high dose. We usually start low and move up in increments.

Are you testing at home? If not, are you willing? We can help you learn and you can use a human meter to keep cost lower. It's the safest thing to do for a sugar cat.

As BJ said the diet change can drop the BG much lower....it's really best and safest to not change until you are testing at home.
 
The vet first started her at 3 units, but her level was still high so she increased it to 5 and her levels came down to under 200.
I am willing to do whatever it takes to make and keep her well. Hey, I learned how to give insulin shots - something I didn't think
was even on my radar screen. I'm more than willing to learn how to monitor her glucose levels and appreciate anything you all can
tell me. I think best case for now is to wait until I see the vet in 2 weeks before I start changing her diet.
 
Glad to hear you are open to home testing. It's not hard but it takes some practice to get used to. It gets easier though. With my girl, it got to the point that she heard the box of lancets and came running!

First, a list of supplies put together by our awesome members: https://docs.google.com/document/d/11Uf ... asic?pli=1

Most of use a human meter like the relion confirm. It's cheaper than a pet meter and has cheaper strips. :smile:

Next, two docs on how to test: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_ ... PPhEag/pub
https://sites.google.com/site/michelang ... psychology

These give you great how tos on testing.

Read through them and let us know when you get a meter. There are videos to watch...like I said the first few times it is hard but it becomes routine in no time. If you try three times and get no blood, give a treat and take some time off. Try again an hour later or so. And remember to treat yourself!!

Let us know if you have problems...we can help once we know the tough parts for ya. Until you get the meter, try spending time with your kitty in whatever your testing spot will be (mine was a towel beside the fridge). Rub your kitties ears for a bit, then treat. It helps them get ready. :mrgreen: good for you by the way!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top