Adam Flowers
Member Since 2017
This morning Mogee's AMPS was 195.
Where I live, we are having a terrible snow storm and I had to work this morning. I was worried about not being able to check on him during the day so I gave him a reduced dose. He usually gets 3 units, I only gave him 2.
**I know it is not recommended to give insulin if PS is under 200 but I test Mogee enough to know what number I am safe enough to give insulin at and sometimes I give it when, or if, he is under 200 but above 180.**
I would have normally gave him the 3 units, as I know how he drops based on multiple tests, if I was able to watch him during the day but was not able due to weather conditions. And I did not want to NOT give insulin at all because I was worried his numbers would be through the roof by his PM injection.
Now, since I only gave that 2 units this morning, his numbers have been higher than normal, which is to be expected.
My question is this: Does it harm Mogee by giving him only 2 units this morning and then switching him back to his 3 units tonight (given his PMPS is high enough)? I think I've read on here that since it is an in and out insulin (Prozinc) that it shouldn't cause to much harm? I also know it is recommended to stay with a dose for 3 cycles before switching too, so I wasn't too sure what I should do?
Any advice or suggestions is greatly appreciated! Thanks everybody!
Where I live, we are having a terrible snow storm and I had to work this morning. I was worried about not being able to check on him during the day so I gave him a reduced dose. He usually gets 3 units, I only gave him 2.
**I know it is not recommended to give insulin if PS is under 200 but I test Mogee enough to know what number I am safe enough to give insulin at and sometimes I give it when, or if, he is under 200 but above 180.**
I would have normally gave him the 3 units, as I know how he drops based on multiple tests, if I was able to watch him during the day but was not able due to weather conditions. And I did not want to NOT give insulin at all because I was worried his numbers would be through the roof by his PM injection.
Now, since I only gave that 2 units this morning, his numbers have been higher than normal, which is to be expected.
My question is this: Does it harm Mogee by giving him only 2 units this morning and then switching him back to his 3 units tonight (given his PMPS is high enough)? I think I've read on here that since it is an in and out insulin (Prozinc) that it shouldn't cause to much harm? I also know it is recommended to stay with a dose for 3 cycles before switching too, so I wasn't too sure what I should do?
Any advice or suggestions is greatly appreciated! Thanks everybody!
. I ended up waiting and re-testing in 30 mins and she was 152, but I reduced the dose anyway. It is always better to be safe than sorry, and I did not feel right giving the full dose that time. So, if you could not monitor and your gut told you to reduce, you did the right thing!