Question about disruption of schedule

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Very Active Member
Hi again, sorry to be such a pest, but I have another question. I have to be in court (witness to minor traffic thing) tomorrow morning and will be unable to give shot at regular time. Unfortunately the only other person who could give the shot has to be in court with me! I give Rupert's shot at 10:00 am and I have to leave the house by 7:30 am. I am not sure how long I will be gone, it is in another city and I have no idea the time frame. :mad: What would be the best way to handle this? I hate to have him go high again and get off schedule. :(
 
Good question Lynn, I have wondered myself what would happen if I couldn't be home at 6pm for shot. I will be interested in hearing the feedback from the wise ones. I looked at Rupert's SS today. He's coming around! :)
 
It is a problem for sure, I am usually home, but there are times when it's just not possible. My back up person has to be at court too *sigh*. I also looked at Bubba's SS today and followed the post on Tuesday. Wow, what a night you had! You did well and Robin was so great sticking with you and Bubba! It was like a CSI episode, I was hanging on the edge of my seat! I got freaked yesterday when Rup was so low at AMPS, happy but freaked! Course I had the added frustration of the tree trimmer dudes coming right about then and messing up my whole day! Now stupid court, grrrr! :mad: I am extra upset, cause we were finally seeing some nice numbers and I am afraid of back sliding. :( Poor Rupert, sometimes he just can't get a break.
 
This happened to me one day (11-Aug-2015). Check Nicky's SS. I was not able to be around to feed or dose in the PM and I had no available backup. So I put out low carb dry food (EVO) for the cats to eat during the day and hoped for the best. Of course this happened at the time Nicky's glucose values were starting to come down. I got home at what would have been +5 PM and he tested at 507 which was not a surprise. He went down to 473 the next morning and I gave him his usual dose. He actually didn't take long to get back on track.

I guess the point of this story is that sometimes we just have to do the best we can. If you do skip, he most likely will go high but he will get back on track. Good Luck!!
 
This happened to me one day (11-Aug-2015). Check Nicky's SS. I was not able to be around to feed or dose in the PM and I had no available backup. So I put out low carb dry food (EVO) for the cats to eat during the day and hoped for the best. Of course this happened at the time Nicky's glucose values were starting to come down. I got home at what would have been +5 PM and he tested at 507 which was not a surprise. He went down to 473 the next morning and I gave him his usual dose. He actually didn't take long to get back on track.

I guess the point of this story is that sometimes we just have to do the best we can. If you do skip, he most likely will go high but he will get back on track. Good Luck!!
I was wondering if that was my only option, but sure not happy about it. :( Glad to hear Nicky got back on track fairly quickly!
 
It is a problem for sure, I am usually home, but there are times when it's just not possible. My back up person has to be at court too *sigh*. I also looked at Bubba's SS today and followed the post on Tuesday. Wow, what a night you had! You did well and Robin was so great sticking with you and Bubba! It was like a CSI episode, I was hanging on the edge of my seat! I got freaked yesterday when Rup was so low at AMPS, happy but freaked! Course I had the added frustration of the tree trimmer dudes coming right about then and messing up my whole day! Now stupid court, grrrr! :mad: I am extra upset, cause we were finally seeing some nice numbers and I am afraid of back sliding. :( Poor Rupert, sometimes he just can't get a break.
Glad you enjoyed mine and Robin's episode on Tuesday. She is great to say the least! It is exciting and scary seeing those numbers come down. I think as we gain more experience in all kinds of scenarios, we too will be cool cucumbers as the wise ones on the forum. And, I have had those days too when something upsets Bubba and we seem to backslide. It is said that a calm environment with no stress is best for the diabetic cat. This might be the wrong household for him with 2 yappy dogs that sometime chase him.......
 
This happened to me one day (11-Aug-2015). Check Nicky's SS. I was not able to be around to feed or dose in the PM and I had no available backup. So I put out low carb dry food (EVO) for the cats to eat during the day and hoped for the best. Of course this happened at the time Nicky's glucose values were starting to come down. I got home at what would have been +5 PM and he tested at 507 which was not a surprise. He went down to 473 the next morning and I gave him his usual dose. He actually didn't take long to get back on track.

I guess the point of this story is that sometimes we just have to do the best we can. If you do skip, he most likely will go high but he will get back on track. Good Luck!!
This is good to know Luann; the bottom line is we do have lives that don't always revolve around our pets, we can only do the best we can. And by the way Luann, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!! :bighug:
 
I am hoping you are right Bobbie, it will be great to have enough experience to remain cool and calm during any scenario! I kind of have a hunch Bubba handles the doggies chasing him with just a *pfft* . lol He has a great, caring mom for sure, he can handle the rest!
 
I am hoping you are right Bobbie, it will be great to have enough experience to remain cool and calm during any scenario! I kind of have a hunch Bubba handles the doggies chasing him with just a *pfft* . lol He has a great, caring mom for sure, he can handle the rest!
Actually, poor Bubba runs so fast down into the basement. That's his man-cave and dogs are not allowed. (They don't go down there, luckily for Bubba)
 
I agree with Luann. It's safest to skip. If he was floating along in high numbers and not doing anything out of the norm, you might try messing with your schedule tonight and tomorrow, but he seems a little unpredictable right now. If you do skip and get home before his usual pmps, you could - assuming you'd want to switch up the schedule and dose earlier overall - give him an earlier shot. You'd just have to plan to give the next am shot 11.5 to 12 hours later.
 
I agree with Luann. It's safest to skip. If he was floating along in high numbers and not doing anything out of the norm, you might try messing with your schedule tonight and tomorrow, but he seems a little unpredictable right now. If you do skip and get home before his usual pmps, you could - assuming you'd want to switch up the schedule and dose earlier overall - give him an earlier shot. You'd just have to plan to give the next am shot 11.5 to 12 hours later.
Ok, I will skip and shoot earlier for PMPS and adjust the next AMPS by 11.5 to 12 hrs later. I can gradually get back to my schedule by adjusting my shooting times by 15 mins increments. I just not happy that this happened right at this break through! We have worked so hard to get here! :( Thanks so much for your help Sue! :bighug:
 
Happy birthday to you Luann! I have a birthday in Oct. will be the big 60 for me too, Bobbie! :eek: Life unfortunately does get in the way of caring for our sugar kitties, it's hard being the only care giver here, but we all do the best we can and I am fortunate that I am usually home. Thanks everyone for your help, comments and smiles!
 
Actually, poor Bubba runs so fast down into the basement. That's his man-cave and dogs are not allowed. (They don't go down there, luckily for Bubba)
Glad Bubba has his man cave to retreat to! He just looks like the type that would stare a dog down and dare them to bother him! lol Guess it's hard if there are two of them, unfair advantage! I will be turning 60 in Oct. and I am like :eek: about it! It can't be true, no way! lol
 
Glad Bubba has his man cave to retreat to! He just looks like the type that would stare a dog down and dare them to bother him! lol Guess it's hard if there are two of them, unfair advantage! I will be turning 60 in Oct. and I am like :eek: about it! It can't be true, no way! lol
I hear you! I don't feel my age at all. Except in the morning when I get out of bed. LOL
 
My mom is turning 86 this Saturday and she always says that too, "getting old at for sissies"! I am finding that to be true! One of my favs is "you know you are old, when you hurt yourself sleeping". Ha! Sometimes I creak when I get out of bed! :p I would never know you were a "senior" Sue, you seem much younger from your posts! One of the nice things about the internet, we can all be 20 something, beautiful and thin! :smuggrin:
 
What about reducing tonight's dose so you can shoot a token dose in the morning?
I didn't get to read your post till after the fact, but I think I will try that next time. He was really high, since I was 2 hrs late with his shot. Of course, we were one of the last cases to be heard at court! :mad: He did come down pretty good and had decent numbers the rest of the day and night. What is considered a token dose? Reduce by a certain amount? Would be handy to try next time this comes up. Thanks so much BJM!
 
One of the nice things about the internet, we can all be 20 something, beautiful and thin! :smuggrin:[/QUOTE]

I love this! It's funny, but when I read a book, I picture each character in my mind's eye so that I see them during their dialog and I have been doing the same thing with all the peeps on the forum. I agree, Sue seem much younger from her post!
 
You might think about it arithmetically. If the dose only needs to cover 9 hours, for example, you might take 9/12, ie 3/4 of what you would have given so you can shoot in 9 hours or so.
 
You might think about it arithmetically. If the dose only needs to cover 9 hours, for example, you might take 9/12, ie 3/4 of what you would have given so you can shoot in 9 hours or so.
That makes sense, thanks so much!
 
One of the nice things about the internet, we can all be 20 something, beautiful and thin! :smuggrin:

I love this! It's funny, but when I read a book, I picture each character in my mind's eye so that I see them during their dialog and I have been doing the same thing with all the peeps on the forum. I agree, Sue seem much younger from her post![/QUOTE]
So true! :bookworm::D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top