Question about BG reading

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corie

Member Since 2016
So yesterday evening I split up Lucy's food into 3 different meals. Her amps was 295, I checked it pmps and it was 315. That's when I came on here and saw that some people feed multiple small meals a day. I did this in the evening an gave her her pm insulin and checked her BG 2 hours later it had gone down to 193. So I feed her again. And fell asleep before I could check her BG again. This morning it was 46. I didn't give her her shot. Now I'm just worried that I messed up. I ran out of test strips, getting more this evening, so I couldn't test again before I left for work. She'd eaten her whole can of FF classic beef before I left. Sorry for the long post.
 
Last edited:
It looks like Lucy's dose is too high. I recommend that you repost on the Lantus/Levemir forum so that the people there can give you more specific advice on how to proceed. Let them know what meter you're using.
 
I agree with Kris that Lucy's dose is too high. You don't know how low Lucy's BG might have gone last night and that can make her more sensitive to insulin so you are going to have to be careful with her dosing at this point. That said, with a history or DKA, the picture is a bit more complicated as you don't want a repeat of the DKA so skipping shots altogether except when pre-shot tests are too low, is not be the best answer. Are you testing Lucy for ketones? If not I would suggest you do so especially when you had to skip her shot (rightly so) this morning.

I too would encourage you to post in the Lantus forum using a "?" prefix to get some opinions on how much to reduce the dose given the events of last night and this morning. That low AMPS this morning earned a reduction of at least 0.25u but I would still want to be monitoring Lucy closely at the lowered dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top