? Question about BG and dosing - PMPS 144; @+1.5: 55;@2.25: 60; @3.5: 64, @+4: 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica & Sammy

Member Since 2022
Hi - so Sammy and I have been at this for a couple weeks since his diagnosis. We started home testing last week and have received mostly good numbers. Today was the lowest I have seen him, at 55. I immediately gave his favorite HC snack and will test again in 30 minutes. He is not acting any differently, just jumped up to cuddle with me. I am concerned; I don’t want it going that low. What if I am not home and this happens? He seems to be feeling fine but I would like him in the 100s, at least until I am more secure/experienced with FD. Any suggestions on how to avoid this in the future? Thank you
 
You need to reduce the dose tomorrow morning
Novolin N
Decreasing the Dose
  • If your cat’s BG drops to 90 or below, it’s time to reduce the dose,
  • Reduce the dose by 0.25u.
  • There are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.

Increasing the Dose
  • If, after at least a week and having gotten a curve, the dose doesn’t seem sufficient, a dose increase should be considered. Doses are increased by no more than 0.25u.
  • Increasing doses of N/NPH needs to be done with great care. If you are new to using N/NPH, post on the board for advice if you are considering dose increases for your cat. If in doubt, consult your vet.

I see you are shooting all different doses. We don't adjust the dose by what the pre shots are we adjust them on how low the cats BG is dropping

You need to be getting some more tests in after AMPS

@Jessica & Sammy
 
Last edited:
Hi - so Sammy and I have been at this for a couple weeks since his diagnosis. We started home testing last week and have received mostly good numbers. Today was the lowest I have seen him, at 55. I immediately gave his favorite HC snack and will test again in 30 minutes. He is not acting any differently, just jumped up to cuddle with me. I am concerned; I don’t want it going that low. What if I am not home and this happens? He seems to be feeling fine but I would like him in the 100s, at least until I am more secure/experienced with FD. Any suggestions on how to avoid this in the future? Thank you
@Wendy&Neko
Hi Wendy her kitty is on Novolin N ,I told her to reduce the dose tomorrow morning
Can you take a look at her SS
Thanks
 
@+2.25PM, he was at 60. Gave him more HC snacks. Will test again in 30. Any help would be greatly appreciated
Do you have any med and high carb wet food and some honey?
Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.



Dry food takes longer to reach the system , that's why we like to use med or hc food
Dry foods are not the best during a hypo situation because it takes longer for them to be digested and bring up the bg


@Jessica & Sammy
 
Last edited:
Hi- I just tested him and he is at 64. I tried to give him some fancy feast seafood feast with gravy and he took a couple bites. I have fancy feast medley white meat chicken that I will give him now. He’s going up but slowly. I will definitely reduce his insulin in the morning. I gave him a little more tonight since his numbers have been higher since this weekend. He still seems to be feeling fine
 
Hi- I just tested him and he is at 64. I tried to give him some fancy feast seafood feast with gravy and he took a couple bites. I have fancy feast medley white meat chicken that I will give him now. He’s going up but slowly. I will definitely reduce his insulin in the morning. I gave him a little more tonight since his numbers have been higher since this weekend. He still seems to be feeling fine
Can you please update your Title and spreadsheet now
We don't adjust the dose by what the pre shots are we adjust them on how low the cats BG is dropping
@Jessica & Sammy
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the info. I thought it would help bring him down a little bit, not as far as he did. I will test him again in 30 minutes. Thanks for your help. I am still new to this and have limited knowledge with what I am doing. I appreciate all the help
 
Thank you Diane for your assistance. I just tested and Sammy is at 88. He is resting comfortable and snoring. Not sure if it was an overreaction on my part since he has never been so low. He never once seemed uncomfortable or out of sorts, so maybe it was me. Thank you for taking your time to help me
 
Thank you Diane for your assistance. I just tested and Sammy is at 88. He is resting comfortable and snoring. Not sure if it was an overreaction on my part since he has never been so low. He never once seemed uncomfortable or out of sorts, so maybe it was me. Thank you for taking your time to help me
Oh you're welcome It wasn't an overreaction on your part, you don't want him to get that low especially on Novolin N. Sometimes they don't seem out of sorts.
On your Title @+3.5 you have 6 , can you correct that and put 64
Please reduce the dose in the AM to 0.75 like Wendy suggested
Last night you should have reduced since he did drop below 90 so you can see even 1 unit was too much

On your spreadsheet you can you can put in the +1 cell 55 +1.5
In the 2 cell you can put 60 +2.25
In the 3 cell you can put 64 +3.5
Then you will have to color code them in manually look up top for the color
In your title you left out 60 @+2.25
Did you feed him anything @+4
@Jessica & Sammy

It's always a good idea to mark how many carbs are on the cans you have :cat:
 
Last edited:
I will update in the morning. It’s looks correct on my phone, but maybe it isn’t fully populating. I gave him a can of fancy feast white chicken florentine with spinach at 3.5 and he ate most of it. He ate a couple bites of kibble a few minutes ago and seemed to be fine. I will definitely reduce his AM insulin. What are the recommendations for reducing the insulin? Is there a set number, like no more than 1u if at 100? The vet didn’t share much information with me so everything I have learned has been from this site.
 
I will update in the morning. It’s looks correct on my phone, but maybe it isn’t fully populating. I gave him a can of fancy feast white chicken florentine with spinach at 3.5 and he ate most of it. He ate a couple bites of kibble a few minutes ago and seemed to be fine. I will definitely reduce his AM insulin. What are the recommendations for reducing the insulin? Is there a set number, like no more than 1u if at 100? The vet didn’t share much information with me so everything I have learned has been from this site.
There is no set number when ever he drops below 90 you reduce by 0.25 units
But as it says above about reductions
  • There are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
  • Is there any way you can get some more tests in after his AMPM dose?
@Jessica & Sammy
 
If I were you I would start a new post every day with the following
Date. Sammy AMPS# and any additional tests after then then you can just continue on the same Title PMPS# and any additional tests after that
You did good tonight :cat:
@Jessica & Sammy

In your title go back and in front of where you have @+1.5PM and put PMPS 144
so then you don't have to keep putting the letters PM after every time you tested it
 
Last edited:
Morning Diane, thank you again for all your help last night. Sammy seems to be feeling better than usual. He had an epic battle this morning with his toy mouse and has been purring all morning. I unfortunately cannot get additional AM tests; I dose him about 30 minutes before I leave for work and get back maybe 45 minutes before his PM shot. I will create a new thread with today's information. His morning was a little high, but lower than yesterday morning so looks like we are going down the right path.
 
Morning Diane, thank you again for all your help last night. Sammy seems to be feeling better than usual. He had an epic battle this morning with his toy mouse and has been purring all morning. I unfortunately cannot get additional AM tests; I dose him about 30 minutes before I leave for work and get back maybe 45 minutes before his PM shot. I will create a new thread with today's information. His morning was a little high, but lower than yesterday morning so looks like we are going down the right path.
Afternoon Jessica I'm glad to hear that Sammy and as feeling frisky this morning .On weekends can you get more tests in after AMPS
Have a good day, I'm sure you leave food out for Sammy while your at work right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top