question - 12/9Duncan +7 329, AMPS 250, +3 206, +5 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
7am AM post:::::
Good morning!
Looking forward to the vet today so we can increase Duncan's dose. :)
He's happy, but still peeing and drinking a bit too much. Not terrible, but not quite back to normal, and it's no wonder with the numbers being high still.

Take are everyone, I hope your sticks work the first time and you get enough blood, and I hope your shoots go subQ and not fur!

9am::::::
Seeing that nice drop at the end of the cycle again, wondering if it was a fur shot I gave on 12/7 PM, or the contraband he got into, or a bounce that is cleared now?? Wish I knew more before I go to the vet today. Oh well. Dancing away! :dizcat
 
Re: 12/9Duncan +7 329, AMPS 250

Back from the vet and they said to keep him at 1u for another week just to see if he levels out. Also they said rarely the pancreas will kick in for a new diabetic without much treatment and they are scared to lower it in case that's going to happen in the first few weeks.

What do you guys think?? I would like to see his numbers lower with a .25 or a .5 increase, but I can see their point of keeping him at 1u since he is a new diabetic. Hmmm...
 
Re: 12/9Duncan +7 329, AMPS 250

SaraM2261 said:
Back from the vet and they said to keep him at 1u for another week just to see if he levels out. Also they said rarely the pancreas will kick in for a new diabetic without much treatment and they are scared to lower it in case that's going to happen in the first few weeks.

What do you guys think?? I would like to see his numbers lower with a .25 or a .5 increase, but I can see their point of keeping him at 1u since he is a new diabetic. Hmmm...

I agree with the vet to keep the dose at 1u but not because he's a new diabetic as that's not really important. He may be newly diagnosed but may have been diabetic before that for some time.

If you look at his ss, you see that his numbers are better during the day, then they are higher at nite.
Usually, cats drop lower at nite, so I suspect that giving him dry food overnite is likely preventing him from getting better numbers. How come he is getting dry food overnite, just curious.


If he is eating wet food all day long, then you can leave him wet food overnite and I think you will see lower numbers and won't need to increase his dose.

Lots of cats are diet controlled and maybe with luck, Duncan can turn out to be one of them, but first you need to see how he does with no dry food at all.
 
My 1st diabetic, Maxwell, was a dry food junkie. Always pricey food, but always dry.

When he was DX, he got the "best" dry--Evo Cat and Kitten.

4 months after DX, I told him no more dry. He went on a one-day hunger strike before he would eat the wet. Within 24 hours, his BG levels were down 100 points, and we spent the rest of the ~4 weeks of his insulin dependency chasing the dose down. (He was on PZI.)

That was when I came to truly believe in the power of wet food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top