Question: 12/06 Blackie PMPS 138, +2 88, +3 59, +4.5 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57942&p=629227#p629227

4 P's in place. Increased her food to 0.80 oz./meal now as of PMPS +2. Thankfully, she's coming down from the bounce of kibble.

Question: I'm a bit concerned about her rising PS #s now. Is this the case of too much food too soon? Before increasing her food, she was getting 0.50 oz./meal, which is suitable for a 3 lb. cat., and her #s looked better. Now, she's up to 0.80 oz./meal, and her #s are looking bad. I'm considering holding this dose for a while longer to see if she'll straighten out before I do anything else. Please no flames. I need advice. I feel like I'm doing something wrong.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing (Tawny, and Weezer especially) make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Question: 12/06 Blackie PMPS 138

+2 - 0.80 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 66 - 0.80 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+5 - 0.50 oz. steamed chicken
PMPS 138, 1.00u, 0.80 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 88 - 0.80 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 59 - 0.80 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+4.5 65 - 0.50 oz. steamed chicken
 
Re: Question: 12/06 Blackie PMPS 138

I'm really wondering if the quantity of food is an issue. Have you any records of Blackie's weight? Could you get that info from your vet if you don't have it? If you were underfeeding Blackie, she'd have been losing weight. Now that you've increased her food, is she gaining?
 
Re: Question: 12/06 Blackie PMPS 138

((((angela)))) of course you're not doing anything wrong! just one more puzzle to untangle. i have noticed that if i give punkin more food, even more low carb food, his numbers go up. there's a balance between the volume they eat, the carbs in it, and the insulin to take care of it. if you change one factor in the equation, something else will change also.

i'd wonder about the volume of food too. one way to tell would be to reduce the food again. but you want a healthy weight, no weight loss unless it's needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top