Question - 12/01 Blackie PMPS 99; +4.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31004&p=321524#p321524

This a.m.:

AMPS 143 - 3.75u, fed
+2.5 76 - 1 chicken bite

She was up on the table at around +2.5 this a.m., and I think she was trying to tell me something. LOL I was thinking about waiting until later to test her, but I'm glad that I listened to my inner voice. 67 points in 2.5 hours. She bears watching today. Good thing I'm not going anywhere.

Hope everyone has a good day. :)
 
Re: 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76

Good morning guys! Looks like blackie had the idea of diving today .. good thing you tested her to see where she was headed ... I hope she surfs the rest of the day away for you in greens .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 68

+4 60 - no food
+5.5 68 - 1/8 can FF, 2 chicken bites

Question:

I've been offered a temporary job starting next week. I accepted it as we need the $$. For the full week next week I need to go in 8-5 all week long for training. Unfortunately, it's about an hour's drive, and I won't be able to get back to test, shoot and feed until about 6 (hopefully give or take a few moments). She's going to be without food for about 12 hours as I can't leave anything down for her during the day as it'll get eaten up by the others, and I don't have any auto feeders, nor do I have any dry diabetic food for her. She doens't like being cooped up in a room by herself, either, and I've already thought of that.

Is she going to be ok?
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

Congrats on the job! :-D

You'll want input from some of the wise ones, but I'll suggest one option: If you really can't make food available to her -- no one can come in and offer food? -- you could consider lowering the dose a bit. Some people do that when they go on vacation and have petsitters who won't be testing. Her numbers are looking good, so you might not want to do that. On the other hand, if it would make you worry less, it might be worth considering.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

I thought about lowering her dose by a drop. And I can always give her the full can of FF with perhaps 1/2 doz chicken bites, too.

The job is only temporary, but it's still a job. Next week is a full week of 8-5 for training, but the week after and for the remainder of December, it'll be Monday, Wednesday and Friday 8-5, and I don't work Tuesday and Thursday, and the weekend. It's something coming in, that's for sure, and I'll take it.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

I'm sure Blackie knows she may get a few extra treats from mamabean's extra income! :lol:

If you do lower the dose, you might want to do it a day or so before you start the job. that way, you can see how she reacts.

I suppose in your case even the autofeeder might not work; "the others" might get to that too. Is Blackie a different size? Just wondered whether you could set up her dish in a box only she could get into.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

No, there are 3 other cats that are either equal size and slightly smaller than her.... 2 of them are her daughters, and the other is as petite as 1 of her daughters.

The only way that I can think of is obviously giving her the full can instead of 7/8 can like normal, and giving her 1/2 dozen or so chicken bites before I leave.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

I don't have any advice for you - just wanted to stop in and say hi! Her numbers are looking great!
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

congrats on the job! Temporary or not, it's something so that's great!

I'm not the best one to answer on how to deal with being gone all day. I didn't get a timed feeder until just before Lucy went OTJ, so most of the time she was on insulin my solution was just to leave out a TON of food in hopes that they couldn't scarf it all right away. Lucy gained a lot of weight thanks to that. :sad: If it's only for a week, that might work. You could try it on the weekend and see who does most of the eating and when they are eating. You could try leaving frozen food out so maybe they can't eat some of it right away.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

A good neighbor of mine suggested that I try a test tomorrow and see how she does during the day between AMPS and PMPS feedings. I won't give her any food at all, but will test her to see where she goes during the day. I may do that for 2 days to see what she does. So, I'll "pretend" that I'll be gone for 11.5 hours, give her a full can of food, and say 6 or more chicken bites, and see what happens.

The job's a full week for training next week, and then the week after for the remainder of December I'll be working Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 8-5. January will be a different story as I'm not sure if I'll be working there or not. For now, though, I'm working. :) And it's a part time position, which is what I really want anyway. :)
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

A variation is to freeze some cat food into "catsickles" -- water down some wet food and freeze it in an ice cube tray or the equivalent. Unless your kitties like frozen food, it will thaw over time and there will be food out.
 
Re: Question - 12/01 Blackie AMPS 143 +2.5 76; +4 60; +5.5 6

That's what was also suggested, too. I'll see how she does on her own without food tomorrow as I "pretend" to be at work. If this doesn't work, then she'll have to be shut up in a room for 12 hours. The hardest part will be the full week next week, then it'll be for 3 days each week for the rest of the month.

PMPS 99 - 3.75u, fed
+4.5 75 - 1/8 can FF, 3 chicken bites
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top