Question: 06/19 Bodie PMPS 570 +6 432 + AMPS 611

sadye claxton

Member Since 2020
hi everyone! SO I tried to do the side flank area for his shot this am. He growled at me and it felt different. Almost like I maybe gave it intramuscular. Our "tent" method is more of a pinch and slide into the top of the pinch because he's so skinny and the needles are so tiny the traditional tent or tent and roll over the finger methods are not working for us.

My questions are
1- What are the reprocussions if I accidentally did not do SQ and went further down into his tissues?
2- What if an antibiotic drops his sugars significantly as we are on this 7 day hold dose of 1.75u? Continue regardless?

He's going into the vet this am for labs and a shot of Convenia. (sometimes when he sky rockets an antibiotic helps..it's been at least four months if not longer since he's had one).

I'm so annoyed with myself I cannot seem to get a good injection technique down. He's tough! I think we're going to shave a spot this weekend.
 
Maybe someone will come along and offer you some good advice. For me, I just pull up the shoulder skin with my thumb, index and middle finger and stick the needle in. I will feel it when it goes in. Then I shoot quickly so Susie doesn't have a chance to bail on me. I always do the shoulder area. She rarely even notices it. Good luck. It probably just takes practice and a somewhat willing cat.
 
Maybe someone will come along and offer you some good advice. For me, I just pull up the shoulder skin with my thumb, index and middle finger and stick the needle in. I will feel it when it goes in. Then I shoot quickly so Susie doesn't have a chance to bail on me. I always do the shoulder area. She rarely even notices it. Good luck. It probably just takes practice and a somewhat willing cat.
Thanks! Yea he's willing and okay with it. Today I just tried a different spot after reading some of the material here about where the best absorption is. I'm just hoping I couldn't have done any damage by possibly shooting into the wrong tissue
 
I'm sorry he's being difficult for you! I use the shoulder area as well as there seems to be a little extra skin there to grab on to. I have read other condo's discussing the repricussions of IM and if you hit a bad spot it can cause respiratory issues so maybe keep an eye on his breathing. I'm sure that's a worst case scenario, but something to be aware of. Just keep practicing and you'll get better at pulling that skin up!
 
The only thing I have heard can happen if you hit a muscle is quicker absorption.
What would a convenia shot be for? If there isn’t a known infection it makes no sense. If there is an infection you need to know what kind. Just my two cents fwiw.
If I were you I would switch to TR if you can monitor and get these numbers down. Of course that means no dry food and more testing. You could switch back to SLGS once you see better numbers.
 
The only thing I have heard can happen if you hit a muscle is quicker absorption.
What would a convenia shot be for? If there isn’t a known infection it makes no sense. If there is an infection you need to know what kind. Just my two cents fwiw.
If I were you I would switch to TR if you can monitor and get these numbers down. Of course that means no dry food and more testing. You could switch back to SLGS once you see better numbers.
thank you! I'm not doing any dry food at all! With work and trying to actually get a full nights sleep, Idk about more testing. He's also very very sensitive about his ears, with chronic issues with them so I hate to stick him more
 
Back
Top