Question: 01/29 Blackie PMPS 141, +3 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62260&p=674936#p674936

Sienne and Gabby said:
The idea here is not to change the overall amount that you're feeding (which is a good thing because Gabby can be rather ummmm..... "motivated" by food). Rather, you change the pattern/timing of when you feed. Let me use Gabby as an example. As you've probably seen, Gabby tends to dive early in the cycle and was much bouncier back at the end of April 2010. What we did was move Gabby's feeding times based on her Lantus onset and nadir. Gabby's onset is typically early, as is her nadir -- you can see her BG dropping often at +1 and her nadir is usually around +4. As a result, her food is front-loaded in the cycle. She's fed at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. She does get a small snack (if Gizmo doesn't eat it which I think happens more often than not) at +8 but that's more because she is prone to a bit of an acid stomach than trying to use the food to lower her pre-shot. Once you know when onset and nadir are, you can increase the dose so you see blue pre-shots and green during the cycle as a first step. You then use food, both your regular feeding and if necessary, some extra, to prevent your cat from getting a dose reduction. The idea here is you are trying to flatten out the cycle so you are getting mostly green. In Blackie's case, this would mean that you are looking to get the pre-shots to begin to drop into green.

One thing to be aware of. Making changes in the food pattern does not result in an immediate effect. I changed how I was dosing/feeding on 4/30/2010. It took about 2 months before I saw any results. Michelle is using this approach with Mannie and Patty has just started this process with Champ.

I hope this helps. Let me know if you have questions.

Ok, so should I be moving her feeding schedule to AMPS, +1, +2, and +3, PMPS, +1, +2, +3 and leave the amounts to where they're at, correct? Is this the "tweaking" part of diet controlling the diabetes? Is her little pancreas "stuck", and needs some assistance with an extra drop of insulin (ie. 1u fat)?

I just reduced her snack to 0.10 oz., and can't afford to reduce it any more than that, nor can I reduce her Evo any further, either. As I've mentioned before, she doesn't do well with a snack +8 or +9. Her #s go right up there.

Thank you for your advice, Sienne. I appreciate it. I'll think of more questions as I go along.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Question: 01/29 Blackie AMPS 128

No answers from me, obviously. But I admire your persistence in trying to tweak these details. Blackie is lucky to have you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Question: 01/29 Blackie AMPS 128

Let me try this again. You don't follow what I do with Gabby. I was using Gabby as an example. We are not asking you to change the AMOUNT you are feeding; you change the TIMES you are feeding based on how Blackie's cycle works.

So, please answer:
  • When is Lantus onset for Blackie?
  • When is Blackie's nadir?
  • What kind of duration are you getting?

Based on your answers to those questions, you adjust the feeding schedule. You can then begin to increase the dose and use food to prevent Blackie getting a dose reduction. You may need to get a couple of curves to answer those questions since your testing is limited (which is fine given that Blackie is well regulated). Remember, Jill also said:
Jill & Alex said:
BUT... there's nothing wrong with maintaining status quo. blackie is doing very, very well. using food manipulation is just another method available to reach your goal.
 
Re: Question: 01/29 Blackie AMPS 128

I think what Jill and Sienne are trying to do is give you some options. As they said, Blackie is doing great, is well regulated and healthy, and there is nothing wrong with leaving things they way they are. You keep mentioning wanting her to be diet controlled, though, and if that is what you want to try for then it's going to require more work. If Blackie was just going to fall OTJ on her own, she would have done so by now.

Jill and Sienne are making some suggestions that might help her get there. You have to do it, though, by figuring out what food schedule will be most beneficial for her.

So first, do some testing to find out when her onset/nadir are (not what they used to be, what they are now). Then once you know those, work on moving her food around to keep her middle numbers from dropping so low. Then you'll probably be able to increase her insulin dose (sometimes you have to go up to go down). Then hopefully she will start getting some reductions. It's not quick, but if you want to try for OTJ then I think it's what you need to do. Leaving things the same isn't doing that.
 
Re: Question: 01/29 Blackie AMPS 128,+5 74

Great info on this condo today.

Jill has helped us immensely with food management of the curve. You are lucky in that Blackie is so consistent and you may be able to pick her patterns out easily and then manage her curve as Jill, Libby, and Sienne have suggested.

It definitely takes some fine tuning and adjustment. We've been working on Gracie's food management for over a year and once we thought we had it down with lantus, we changed her to lev and had to start all over.

Here's hoping great things for Blackie.
 
Recap:

AMPS 128, 1u, 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+5 74 - 0.10 oz. raw turkey cutlet
PMSP 141, 1u, 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 61 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+4.5 - 0.10 oz. raw turkey cutlet
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top