Vyktors Mum
Member Since 2011
My vet didn't want to treat Vyktor at first but he is now on board to try the TR protocol. The following is my proposed plan for Vyktor with questions - please advise if I have got anything wrong/could do something better, too much/not enough testing anywhere or if there’s anything I don’t seem to have considered. I want to get this just right and I am terrified of stuffing it up.
INSULIN (LANTUS) – STARTING
I will test every time before I shoot and use the sliding scale. With his BG levels averaging 197 (lowest reading was 149.4, highest reading was 226.8) over a five day testing period his starting dose is likely to be 0.25u.
I understand I do not have to be concerned about whether or not he eats at the time of the insulin shot, is that correct? If not I have been giving him a couple of teaspoons of chicken after his BG tests, is this sufficient?
I should try to inject in his side at least an inch down from his backbone (I can get a nice bit of skin near the front about 3 inches down from the backbone) rather than in his scruff.
The most convenient timing for regular 12hrly shots while I am working will be 6am and 6pm.
I will start the insulin on Friday (which I will take off from work) and give him his first shot at 6am.
I will test his BG at +2, +4, +6, +8, +10. At +10 if his BG is above 150 with rising levels (re test in half an hour if +10 is the first time I see his BG above 150) give another shot of lantus, otherwise continue checking every +2 until his BG is above 150.
Please confirm that I don’t need to wait to see if his BG is rising before giving a shot if it is +12 or later. If his BG hasn’t risen to 150 by +14 (10pm) congratulate Vyktor, go to bed and check again at 6am after a good nights sleep.
If his BG has gone above 150 and is rising at anytime between +10 and +14 give another shot of lantus as per the scale, for Vyktor probably 0.25u. Test BG at +2’s (is this +2 really necessary or is it okay to start at +4) until bedtime.
What should I do then? If further lantus has been given in the p.m. is it best to keep testing 2 or 3 hourly through the night (if Vyktor lets me!) or ok just to set the alarm to test at the point I expect to be his nadir and/or the time I except his BG to go above 150 based on the information I have, or is it safe just to go to sleep?
Continue this routine through the next day or two (is two days of two hourly testing enough or should I keep going for a third day?).
Is this schedule the best idea to start us off, or given that I am going to have to be at work most days, would it be better to stick to 6am and 6pm for Vyktor’s shots. If I don’t I could end up way off my 6am/6pm schedule and could therefore have to leave his BG to climb (if that’s what it’s doing) while I am at work for much longer than the additional two hours he would wait if his BG said he was ready at +10 but I had him wait until +12???
If I stick to the 6am/6pm schedule could I also reduce his BG testing to +3 +6 and +9?
I gather that the BG numbers should show a pattern which means I should now understand how he is responding to the insulin. Is this always the case?
Having watched him for three days is it now safe to inject him in the morning and go to work without worrying about testing his nadir to make sure he’s not too low?
Do I just do the two pre shot BG tests at 6am and 6pm during the week then and do a full or a mini curve on the weekend? Or should I try and get a nadir reading everyday (probably in the middle of the night).
Ongoing, if he has been low enough not to need insulin in the morning (i.e. below 150/) do I need come home and check him mid day or is it okay to leave him until I get home from work (usually around 4pm but I can generally leave earlier if I need to)?
I will post his figures as we go for checking and further advice but I would like to check my plan and make sure my understanding is correct before I start (knowing my luck the internet will go down for a week the day we start!), please correct me if I am wrong. My plan is:
If his nadir is below 50 reduce the insulin dose to 0.1u. If his nadir is still, or goes back to, below 50 cease giving insulin altogether. This is why I am wondering if I have to make sure I get a nadir test everyday (or night as the case may be).
I should not make any increases without consulting the forum and/or my vet.
LOW READINGS
If his BG drops as low as 50 but he is behaving normally do not do anything except increase tests to half hourly. If he drops below 40 or even as low as 20 do not panic as long as he is behaving normally (Is there a point below this that is just too low no matter how he’s behaving that means I should get to the vet?). If he goes below 40 start feeding a teaspoon of FF grilled chicken or turkey variety (higher carb varieties but I believe still comparatively low?? I can’t even tempt him to eat much of the very low carb stuff while he’s healthy at the moment so there’s no way he’s going to be tempted by those if he’s sick) every 15-30mins and continuing testing BG every half hour until he is over 45. Keep testing BG every half hour until he is over 50. Is there ever any point trying to do more, e.g. every 15 mins, or is that just likely to upset the cat and add no real value?
My understanding is that it just shouldn’t happen while he’s on low carbs but if I do see signs of hypoglycemia such as shivering, ‘drunkeness’, or convulsions I should do the same as above but try and get him to eat a greater amount of food - is that right?
If he won’t eat or has more than one seizure I should rush him to the vet and ask them not to give him glucose but to give him valium and to tube or syringe feed him with low carb wet food and since the vet is more than 1/2 hour away if Vyktor is seizing and won’t eat I should give him a little syrup on his gums (is agave syrup ok? It is very low GI) and this is the only time I should ever give him syrup.
INSULIN (LANTUS) – STARTING
I will test every time before I shoot and use the sliding scale. With his BG levels averaging 197 (lowest reading was 149.4, highest reading was 226.8) over a five day testing period his starting dose is likely to be 0.25u.
I understand I do not have to be concerned about whether or not he eats at the time of the insulin shot, is that correct? If not I have been giving him a couple of teaspoons of chicken after his BG tests, is this sufficient?
I should try to inject in his side at least an inch down from his backbone (I can get a nice bit of skin near the front about 3 inches down from the backbone) rather than in his scruff.
The most convenient timing for regular 12hrly shots while I am working will be 6am and 6pm.
I will start the insulin on Friday (which I will take off from work) and give him his first shot at 6am.
I will test his BG at +2, +4, +6, +8, +10. At +10 if his BG is above 150 with rising levels (re test in half an hour if +10 is the first time I see his BG above 150) give another shot of lantus, otherwise continue checking every +2 until his BG is above 150.
Please confirm that I don’t need to wait to see if his BG is rising before giving a shot if it is +12 or later. If his BG hasn’t risen to 150 by +14 (10pm) congratulate Vyktor, go to bed and check again at 6am after a good nights sleep.
If his BG has gone above 150 and is rising at anytime between +10 and +14 give another shot of lantus as per the scale, for Vyktor probably 0.25u. Test BG at +2’s (is this +2 really necessary or is it okay to start at +4) until bedtime.
What should I do then? If further lantus has been given in the p.m. is it best to keep testing 2 or 3 hourly through the night (if Vyktor lets me!) or ok just to set the alarm to test at the point I expect to be his nadir and/or the time I except his BG to go above 150 based on the information I have, or is it safe just to go to sleep?
Continue this routine through the next day or two (is two days of two hourly testing enough or should I keep going for a third day?).
Is this schedule the best idea to start us off, or given that I am going to have to be at work most days, would it be better to stick to 6am and 6pm for Vyktor’s shots. If I don’t I could end up way off my 6am/6pm schedule and could therefore have to leave his BG to climb (if that’s what it’s doing) while I am at work for much longer than the additional two hours he would wait if his BG said he was ready at +10 but I had him wait until +12???
If I stick to the 6am/6pm schedule could I also reduce his BG testing to +3 +6 and +9?
I gather that the BG numbers should show a pattern which means I should now understand how he is responding to the insulin. Is this always the case?
Having watched him for three days is it now safe to inject him in the morning and go to work without worrying about testing his nadir to make sure he’s not too low?
Do I just do the two pre shot BG tests at 6am and 6pm during the week then and do a full or a mini curve on the weekend? Or should I try and get a nadir reading everyday (probably in the middle of the night).
Ongoing, if he has been low enough not to need insulin in the morning (i.e. below 150/) do I need come home and check him mid day or is it okay to leave him until I get home from work (usually around 4pm but I can generally leave earlier if I need to)?
I will post his figures as we go for checking and further advice but I would like to check my plan and make sure my understanding is correct before I start (knowing my luck the internet will go down for a week the day we start!), please correct me if I am wrong. My plan is:
If his nadir is below 50 reduce the insulin dose to 0.1u. If his nadir is still, or goes back to, below 50 cease giving insulin altogether. This is why I am wondering if I have to make sure I get a nadir test everyday (or night as the case may be).
I should not make any increases without consulting the forum and/or my vet.
LOW READINGS
If his BG drops as low as 50 but he is behaving normally do not do anything except increase tests to half hourly. If he drops below 40 or even as low as 20 do not panic as long as he is behaving normally (Is there a point below this that is just too low no matter how he’s behaving that means I should get to the vet?). If he goes below 40 start feeding a teaspoon of FF grilled chicken or turkey variety (higher carb varieties but I believe still comparatively low?? I can’t even tempt him to eat much of the very low carb stuff while he’s healthy at the moment so there’s no way he’s going to be tempted by those if he’s sick) every 15-30mins and continuing testing BG every half hour until he is over 45. Keep testing BG every half hour until he is over 50. Is there ever any point trying to do more, e.g. every 15 mins, or is that just likely to upset the cat and add no real value?
My understanding is that it just shouldn’t happen while he’s on low carbs but if I do see signs of hypoglycemia such as shivering, ‘drunkeness’, or convulsions I should do the same as above but try and get him to eat a greater amount of food - is that right?
If he won’t eat or has more than one seizure I should rush him to the vet and ask them not to give him glucose but to give him valium and to tube or syringe feed him with low carb wet food and since the vet is more than 1/2 hour away if Vyktor is seizing and won’t eat I should give him a little syrup on his gums (is agave syrup ok? It is very low GI) and this is the only time I should ever give him syrup.