nepenthe
Member Since 2010
My cat has resolving pancreatitis (fPL=6.4 12/03/12) and came off an EOD low dose of prednisolone (for chronic pancreatitis) on Dec 10.
Because of the pred leaving his system, I've started to see some lower numbers and cautiously lowered the dose from 2 to 1.75.
Problem is that he stays in good numbers at that dose for a couple of days and then gets lower and lower and then higher. Hard to discern whether or not its "bouncing" or the inflammation in his pancreas ebbing and flowing. And challenging for me to keep the dose consistent with the spread of highs and lows I'm getting.
In that Queensland Protocol, the dose is apparently set on the nadir - are we looking for the nadir within the 12 hr cycle?
What if the nadir doesn't come at 6-7 hrs and comes like 10+ hrs later? OR should we look for the lowest readings over a 3 day period?
(just worried that if he gets a really low PS, that'll require lowering the dose and make the roller coaster worse. My main goal here is to find the safest dose)
Because of the pred leaving his system, I've started to see some lower numbers and cautiously lowered the dose from 2 to 1.75.
Problem is that he stays in good numbers at that dose for a couple of days and then gets lower and lower and then higher. Hard to discern whether or not its "bouncing" or the inflammation in his pancreas ebbing and flowing. And challenging for me to keep the dose consistent with the spread of highs and lows I'm getting.
In that Queensland Protocol, the dose is apparently set on the nadir - are we looking for the nadir within the 12 hr cycle?
What if the nadir doesn't come at 6-7 hrs and comes like 10+ hrs later? OR should we look for the lowest readings over a 3 day period?
(just worried that if he gets a really low PS, that'll require lowering the dose and make the roller coaster worse. My main goal here is to find the safest dose)