Q about +11 vs AMPS and PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Errol

Member Since 2013
What is the difference between +11 and AMPS / PMPS. Will they vary substantially in general? I ask this because my +11 and/or AMPS/PMPS are usually done at more or less the same time.
 
I'm not quite sure what you mean that they are done at the same time? They would logically be very close to an hour apart, right?

The value of getting a +10 or +11, which would be 1 or 2 hours before the next shot, is that it tells you if the cat's BG is really going up or not. When this is really helpful is if you get a low reading when you are just ready to shoot. If you're questioning whether you should shoot that low number, it helps give you confidence to shoot if you have that +10 or 11 and know that the BG is already going up from comparing it to the last test.

It's not something you always need to get, but it can be helpful. If you have gotten enough to see that they're usually about the same, then maybe you don't need to get that late-cycle test as often unless you're seeing an overall lower cycle and you're worried about the next shot.
 
Ok thanks, I understand. They seemed so close together (the +11 and the preshot) but your explanation makes sense.
 
You can think of the pre-shot tests as '0' and you're counting the hours from 0.
 
I can give you a few examples from your SS

- on the night of the 7th you got a +10 that was 257 and your PMPS 2 hours later was 155. That tells you his number was dropping and it was a good idea to get more tests after you shot in case he kept dropping at that rate.

- last night when your PMPS was 187 - you didn't know what he was doing as you didn't get a +10 or +11 but you shot anyway. But it was good you got a +2 and found he was dropping. So hopefully you got another test a few hours later.

- now pretend last night the PMPS was 80. Without a +10 or +11 you would have no idea if he was going up or down. You might even stall or skip. A +10 or +11 in that case would tell you what he was doing.

Hence + 10 or +11 can be useful

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top