Tigger's Friend
Member Since 2013
Hi all you experienced PZI People,
Tigger's kind of at a log jam in his readings, & I'm not sure how to proceed.
Saturday I started him out @ .5 u for 4 cycles. His reading went from low 200's to 350 by Monday AM.
Monday AM I gave him 1 u. His levels dropped to 93 at +7.5, then up to 306 (I did feed him a late snack 30 min. b4 that test, tho').
My vet wanted me to take him down to .5 u for the next 5 days (per AVA protocol with new cases, I think to make sure there is no somogyi effect going on.
Many of you felt Tigger's readings that day were pretty good, & they were the best I've seen.
So - I reluctantly dropped the PM dose to .5 - & the AMPS was 288.
We decided to increase the AM dose to .75u (still under the 1 u, so not entirely going against doc's wishes). All day his numbers stayed in the upper 200's. We gave a .75u dose in the PM, & at +4, his reading was 204 - the lowest all day.
This AMPS he was back up to 312. So we bumped the dose up a little more to maybe .85 (it's hard to tell with the u-40 syringe) Again, its had very little effect, the best reading at +6 of 240. His next reading (+9) is in about 30 minutes, so I'm hoping it'll still be good.
Do any of you think this leveling of numbers could be a somogyi from Monday's 350 to 93 drop or is it that Tigger's not getting enough insulin to produce an effect? I read it could take several days for a somogyi to come back down & they can show a leveling / plateau of higher numbers. I also realize Tigger may still be adjusting to the insulin at any dose, so I don't know what to do at this point. Increase, decrease, or hold? I need some experienced advice!
Also, Tigger urinated all over his brother's catnip scratcher this morning. He's done that in the past, so I can't definitively say its due to the excess urine/sugar, but I moved it to the feeding area & he hasn't done that in at least 8 months. He looked in the litterbox before he did it, too (I clean their boxes daily so there was only 1 urine in it at the time). I know Tigger's urine glucose is still at 3+++ maybe 2++ at best. I tested for ketones with a blood meter yesterday, and he was negative (whew).
Any advice you have is, as always, greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!
Tigger's kind of at a log jam in his readings, & I'm not sure how to proceed.
Saturday I started him out @ .5 u for 4 cycles. His reading went from low 200's to 350 by Monday AM.
Monday AM I gave him 1 u. His levels dropped to 93 at +7.5, then up to 306 (I did feed him a late snack 30 min. b4 that test, tho').
My vet wanted me to take him down to .5 u for the next 5 days (per AVA protocol with new cases, I think to make sure there is no somogyi effect going on.
Many of you felt Tigger's readings that day were pretty good, & they were the best I've seen.
So - I reluctantly dropped the PM dose to .5 - & the AMPS was 288.
We decided to increase the AM dose to .75u (still under the 1 u, so not entirely going against doc's wishes). All day his numbers stayed in the upper 200's. We gave a .75u dose in the PM, & at +4, his reading was 204 - the lowest all day.
This AMPS he was back up to 312. So we bumped the dose up a little more to maybe .85 (it's hard to tell with the u-40 syringe) Again, its had very little effect, the best reading at +6 of 240. His next reading (+9) is in about 30 minutes, so I'm hoping it'll still be good.
Do any of you think this leveling of numbers could be a somogyi from Monday's 350 to 93 drop or is it that Tigger's not getting enough insulin to produce an effect? I read it could take several days for a somogyi to come back down & they can show a leveling / plateau of higher numbers. I also realize Tigger may still be adjusting to the insulin at any dose, so I don't know what to do at this point. Increase, decrease, or hold? I need some experienced advice!
Also, Tigger urinated all over his brother's catnip scratcher this morning. He's done that in the past, so I can't definitively say its due to the excess urine/sugar, but I moved it to the feeding area & he hasn't done that in at least 8 months. He looked in the litterbox before he did it, too (I clean their boxes daily so there was only 1 urine in it at the time). I know Tigger's urine glucose is still at 3+++ maybe 2++ at best. I tested for ketones with a blood meter yesterday, and he was negative (whew).
Any advice you have is, as always, greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!