PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi all you experienced PZI People,

Tigger's kind of at a log jam in his readings, & I'm not sure how to proceed.

Saturday I started him out @ .5 u for 4 cycles. His reading went from low 200's to 350 by Monday AM.

Monday AM I gave him 1 u. His levels dropped to 93 at +7.5, then up to 306 (I did feed him a late snack 30 min. b4 that test, tho').

My vet wanted me to take him down to .5 u for the next 5 days (per AVA protocol with new cases, I think to make sure there is no somogyi effect going on.

Many of you felt Tigger's readings that day were pretty good, & they were the best I've seen.

So - I reluctantly dropped the PM dose to .5 - & the AMPS was 288.

We decided to increase the AM dose to .75u (still under the 1 u, so not entirely going against doc's wishes). All day his numbers stayed in the upper 200's. We gave a .75u dose in the PM, & at +4, his reading was 204 - the lowest all day.

This AMPS he was back up to 312. So we bumped the dose up a little more to maybe .85 (it's hard to tell with the u-40 syringe) Again, its had very little effect, the best reading at +6 of 240. His next reading (+9) is in about 30 minutes, so I'm hoping it'll still be good.

Do any of you think this leveling of numbers could be a somogyi from Monday's 350 to 93 drop or is it that Tigger's not getting enough insulin to produce an effect? I read it could take several days for a somogyi to come back down & they can show a leveling / plateau of higher numbers. I also realize Tigger may still be adjusting to the insulin at any dose, so I don't know what to do at this point. Increase, decrease, or hold? I need some experienced advice!

Also, Tigger urinated all over his brother's catnip scratcher this morning. He's done that in the past, so I can't definitively say its due to the excess urine/sugar, but I moved it to the feeding area & he hasn't done that in at least 8 months. He looked in the litterbox before he did it, too (I clean their boxes daily so there was only 1 urine in it at the time). I know Tigger's urine glucose is still at 3+++ maybe 2++ at best. I tested for ketones with a blood meter yesterday, and he was negative (whew).

Any advice you have is, as always, greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I think he is bouncing a little. It is a good idea to hold the dose once he gets a nice nadir number even if he bounces up for the preshot. I like his numbers at .75. I think i'd hold that dose for a few cycles and see if he stops bouncing.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks for responding, Sue!

I just got his +8 number: 369 - a new high for him. I re-checked to make sure & it was 361.

Would these numbers concur with bouncing?

Just to confirm - you like the .75 dose (yesterday that stayed in the upper 200's), not the .85 (today 312 - 240 - 360) or the 1u (Monday 350 - 93) dose.

How high do you think the numbers could bounce?

Thanks again for your help - its keeping me off the ceiling!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

It's that ECID is thing - every cat is different. Some cats bounce within the same cycle; some bounce the next cycle. Some bounce for days, some for weeks. Lisa's Cassie has bounced for over a year and is finally settling down.

I think any dose between .75 and one is fine. I liked the numbers on one unit but understand they made you a little nervous. I'd just pick a dose in that range and stick with it for several cycles. Collect the data and look for patterns.

You're doing great, Suzanne. Be patient. :mrgreen:
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I can't open your ss so I can't really advise on dose. But is Sue liked a dose I would probable agree with her.

Since you are still just starting out I think that you should pick a dose (.5u, .75u .85u) what ever you are comfortable with and stick with it for a few days and let the numbers guide you.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

OK, thanks, Sue & Rob.

Sounds like I may have jumped the gun a bit, & probably listening to the vet & lowering the dose from 1u to .5 was a 'not great' idea. Should have stayed with the 1u as you advised. I didn't know about bouncing. Lesson learned. Too many lessons with diabetes!

Also, will 'pick a number' & stay with it 4 cycles & re-evaluate.

My gut says Tigger should be at 1u, but since we've been away from that since Monday eve, & at .75 2 cycles yesterday & .85 this AM I'll start with .75 or .85. With the u-40 syringes it's hard to tell between the 2 doses, anyway. Just not very accurate on smaller doese, even with the .5 - I don't like that & am going to order u-100s.

Watching these numbers go up is like feeling I'm going to jump off a skyscraper!

Hopefully someday I can get to the place where I can offer help instead of always needing help!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I just wanted to say that I don't put much value on "somogyi" diagnosis. Mostly because it's just a theory, dating back to the early 1900's, and it's actually never benn proven to exist in humans, much less in cats.

But that said, I think vets (and people generally) are just using the wrong word. Here, we say "bouncing". And it isn't the same thing. Somogyi is supposed to be a "chronic" problem caused by a dose of insulin that is too high. It sets up some sort of vicious cycle of gradually increasing BG values, allegedly.

Bouncing is simply a cat's natural and instinctive reaction (happens in people too) to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative, and it truly is an ECID thing. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then a BG that drops to 150 (which is actually above the normal range of BG for a non-diabetic cat) can trigger a "bounce". The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going "hypoglycemic". I put that in quotes because a BG of 150 is nowhere near hypoglycemic, but to a body used to really high numbers, it must seem that way.

So the cat "bounces". Eventually, the effect goes away, and BGs return to more regular numbers.

There are only two ways that I know of to make it "stop".

One is to reduce the dose so that the BGs don't go "too low". The big problem with that strategy is that it ususally means the BGs don't go "low enough", and the diabetic condition doesn't improve. You might see some improvement, but generally, the numbers will hang out in the "above renal threshold" range, which means that things don't get better, damage to the overall system continues, and no progress, or loss of progress happens.

The other way is to ignore the bounces. It seems that the more often the cat sees lower numbers, the more used to them the system gets, and the frequency and severity of the bounces decreases.

Based on the numbers you saw on 1u, it looks like the lowest was a 93? And then a few hours later you got a 306. Well, that's not actually terrible. 306 isn't drastically high, and 93 not too low. Tigger just thought it was low. But it really wasn't a big bounce. If normal BG is 40-120, then 93 is just above the middle of that range. Unless you are using an AlphaTrak or some other "pet meter" and not a human glucometer. It's also possible though that the 93 wasn't the lowest he went since you saw that number at +7.5 which is beyond the typical "nadir" point with Prozinc of 5-7 hours after the shot.

In general, I like the 350-93-306 cycle overall. I'd rather see a cycle like that than one that reads "312-240-360" because the 2nd cycle doesn't have any really good numbers in it. Pretty flat compared to the first cycle.

Just my opinion...
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks, Carl, for the wonderful explanation of bouncing. And Sue, for all yours as well - you guys are amazing.

Well, I went with the .85 number - mostly because I had started it that morning & from what you all were explaining, I need more consistency - I'd gone 1u; .5u; .75u; .75u; .85u which isn't giving Tigger's system enough time to adjust .

So today, we started off a little lower - AMPS = 286. It stayed pretty level - +3 = 262, +6 = 271. But then the +8 soared to 397! Seems each day we get a new high since the 1u dose. 286-262-271-397.

I hope that listening to the vet & going from 1u to .5u on 6/10 evening dose wasn't a big mistake.

You both were suggesting Tigger may need more consistency, so I'm assuming I need to stay with this .85 dose for another 3 cycles? (It's been 3 so far).

If that's still the best plan, do I view Tigger's 397 as his system struggling to keep itself in its recent BG equilibrium (per Carl), & that it may settle on it's own, or am I simply dosing too low? I'm setting the bottom of the plunger at the top of the 1u line, so I'm assuming that's approximately .85u.

Tigger's still acting ok, but he's drinking & urinating more - or at least I'm seeing him do it, where I rarely ever did before. That is a concern that I'm not acting fast enough. I'm trying to remember this is a marathon, not a race, but I'm scared this is going to damage Tigger.

Sorry I keep having to get so much advice - I'm heading toward the ceiling again!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Slowely let yourself down off the ceiling.

There is no such thing as asking for too much advise. Even if you get 3 different opinions at least you have 3 options to choose from, and try, and see which one works for you. The people that worry me the most are the ones who hardly ever ask questions and are trying to wing it on their own.

Besides, the reason we hang around here to answer questions is because someone before us answered all of our questions when we were new and now we are paying it forward, someday soon you will be doing the same thing.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I think consistency, within reason, is a good idea for now. Try to establish a "baseline" so you can logically move forward.

I tend to lean towards using some sort of scale where the dose is based on the the most recent cycles and how a cat reacted to a dose (how high were the preshots, how low was the nadir, was or was there not a "bounce" in the equation, etc). But in order to do that effectively, you have to have the data to support the logic of a dose.
So for now, I say "stick with one dose" until the numbers indicate that it either is or is not working well. In other words "too soon to tell".

No, you didn't mess up big time or anything by following your vet's dose reduction advice. It's still too early in the dance to say anything you've done is "a mistake". He hasn't been on insulin for long at all. Do not worry about it, seriously. My cat was all over the board for a few weeks until I started seeing numbers that made any kind of sense to me.

Try not to focus on one number, or even on one cycle or one day for that matter. You can give him the same exact dose on the same exact preshot two days in a row, and you won't see numbers following the shot that match each other. Besides the insulin you're giving him, there are a whole bunch of "other things" that can effect his day to day numbers. Over a few weeks, what you'll see more than the numbers are the "patterns" of the numbers. One thing I found helped - reduce the zoom on your spreadsheet some time, so that you can't see the numbers. Focus on just the colors. See how many red, pink, yellow, blue and green spots you see, and what the primary colors on the spreadsheet are. When you see less red and pink, and more blue and green, that's a beautiful sight. And that tells you more than the exact numbers will. And some days, just forget about the numbers or the spreadsheet and just look at Tigger and see how he's doing. Does he act like he feels okay, or better than he did a few days or a couple weeks ago? Some cats, even though they get insulin twice a day every day, well you'd never know they had diabetes if you didn't have a meter to prove it. We call that the "whole cat report", and it tells you more than the meter ever could.

Don't let this take your life over. Your kitty is loved and is in great hands. You're doing great with this!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks, Rob & Carl.

I've read & re-read all your posts & am taking all your advice. yes, I will pay it forward - I don't think I could have got this far without all the advice and support here. I have to keep reminding myself that less than a week ago we were still on glipizide. And most members seem to echo each others' sentiments, broadly speaking, but everyone says it a little differently. This is especially good for people like me - it takes that repetition before the message takes hold. I'm still grappling with that.

As for people not asking for help - wow - this is like trying to tame a dragon! I couldn't not ask for help - especially with experienced members available & willing to assist.

I'll start looking more at the whole picture - that makes sense. Funny, fuscia 'used' to be one of my favorite colors - now I much prefer blue & green! I've actually been trying to do some of the color mapping when I look at other members spreadsheets, too - it does help.

It sounds like I need to decipher Tigger's 'rhythm', so to speak, & what his system is telling me in response to a dose over time.

As for Tigger, he was a feral kitten, who was so close to death when we caught him (we caught 2 out of a litter of 4) - so he 'always' acts 'ok' - unless it's major like his eye bursting (he's one-eyed) or company - then he's under the bed. Seriously, if he wasn't drinking more water & urinating so much, we couldn't tell he was diabetic.

I'm grateful that he is so apparently healthy - compared to others here that are really struggling with high numbers and side effects, I realize we're lucky so far.

So - I feel alot better thanks to you both- tonight is another opportunity, & tomorrow another day. If we don't get better numbers, we'll get more of a picture. Will practice patience here. But - come +9 tomorrow - that seems to be our challenge time - I may be posting again!

Thanks so much for all your help & support - please don't give up on us!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks so much for all your help & support - please don't give up on us!
Not a chance that we would or could ever give up on you. Your stuck with us for the duration of this sugardance.

Ask all the questions you want, as many times as you need to. Ask for clarifications when you don't understand something.

We will cheer you on, provide a shoulder to cry on, pull you down when you are feeling stressed. Give you the confidence that with our help, your cat can get to feeling better. This is early days still. It take more than a few weeks for your cat to be come diabetic. It will take time for regulation and then possible remission.

Be patient little grasshopper.

You want to borrow a pair of patience pants in fuchsia? Here tis:
 

Attachments

  • fuchsia patience pants 2 small.jpg
    fuchsia patience pants 2 small.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 2,129
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

For a new diabetic getting used to insulin, he is doing great. And so are you, Mom. :mrgreen: I'd say move up to one unit when you will sure be around to monitor. He got some great nadir numbers on that dose before and maybe scared you a little. This time around, you'll be excited with a green or blue.

And you can pay it forward any time! Newbies need someone who has just started this dance. It is so good for them to hear from another new person that you mastered home testing and that changing the food was possible, and that you are already feeling more conficent and less overwhelmed about this sugar dance. The most common word in the beginning is overwhelmed - you can reassure them that you just had that feeling and it does get better!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks everyone, & Deb & Sue for the most recent responses - LOVE the fuscia pants, Deb!

Just to Update & Ask ANOTHER question.......

We upped Tiger's dose to 1 unit this AM, after 6 cycles @ .85. Yesterday, it looked like he was leveling off with the .85, his numbers stayed in the mid to high 200's - & NO 397s!!! (as you ALL advised if we stayed consistent!), so we figured today was a good day to increase to 1.0

So far so good. But -

I'm reading posts & some people recommend feeding 4x a day or small meals throughout the day.

My question is: Tigger eats 3/4 can AM before shot. Lately we're skipping his 1/4 can snack around Noon. Then he gets 1/4 can snack about 5:30, then 3/4 at 7:30, & another 1/4 can @ 10-12 PM. (about 2 - 2&1/4 cans a day)

Lately he's not as interested in the full 3/4 can in the AM. Today he ate 1/2 can before injection & the rest after injection. Is 1/2 can enough for an injection? He weighs about 14.5 pounds (+/-), a good weight for him. I'm ok doing the 1/2 can at injection & 1/4 for snack if that won't blow the numbers later.

Thanks you amazing people!!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Were you able to get any mid cycle tests today. I still can't open your ss.

If he's satisfied with 1/2 at shot time and the 1/4 as a snack later then go with it.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Rob, she has two pages on the SS. If you click on the Numbers tab, it will bring up the data. The other tab of data is blank.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Hi Rob & Deb,

Rob, I don't know how I got those extra pages on my SS - & don't know how to delete w/o fear of deleting numbers!

I did get mid-cycle numbers - mostly in mid to upper 200's - except the +9.5 (348) & +11.5 (319) numbers - these are usually higher, with the +9.5 usu. being the highest of the day.

I think Tigger bounced a little off the 1u, but then he seems to be settling after the PM shot - too bad I only woke up @ +4.5 to test, he may have dropped below 200 last night.

Best AMPS so far on Prozinc - 229! I think we might see some blue today! Will leave this afternoon to celebrate Father's Day - will feed Tigger before to avoid any potential hypos since we're now in unchartered territory at 3 cycles @ 1.0u. I'm excited & hopeful, but: nailbite_smile!

I think I'm beginning to see a pattern (really like the suggestions to look at color patterns - it helps!) with Tigger, and understand why it takes several cycles of consist injections to see how Tigger & the insulin are interacting. Like your word the "Dance", Deb!

HAPPY FATHER'S DAY TO ALL! Thanks for your support!

(PS - just found out we're going to be grandparents 2nd time around!)
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Congrats Granma and Granpa! What fun! We're in Seattle for 6 weeks while house is being built, and have 3 grandsons 20 minutes away. I'm planning lots of fun times.

He is settling into the one unit. Hoping dor a nice nadir today.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Hi, Sue! Thanks & Happy times in Seattle! Good luck with your house, too! We have family there, too - fun place & everyone is so nice. Enjoy those boys! :thumbup

Tigger's 2.5 = 261, up from 229 AMPS. Maybe his system is adjusting, especially if last night he dropped below 200. Really need to set the alarm clock to get up at night - I have a hard time with that.

But - I'll be more consistent dosing this time - I think I've been changing doses too quickly (as I look at more spreadsheets). Unless of course we get a CRAZY number - then I'll ask you all.

Have a great time, & thanks for taking the time to respond!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Huh, lost the post that was here yesterday! Anyway, Congratulations on the new grandbaby! Just wanted to say Hi.

On the extra SS sheets, next to each sheet's name on the tab is a little triangle. Click that and you get a drop down menu. Just click the "delete" selection to get rid of the extra sheet. If you are still worried about losing other data, click "move right" , that will put your SS on the far left and when others click on your link they will go to that not the blank page.

Good luck on getting the dose settled.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I don't know if anyone is getting posts yet - I've been locked out - in an endless login loop & changing passwords.

Tigger is still doing his spinning / bouncing thing. I was hoping he would settle a little more today, but no luck so far. Seems a repeat of the previous days. Why can we get such a beautiful curve at 1 unit a week ago, then no blue again afterwards, only higher numbers? It's a cruel hoax. :YMSIGH:

If anyone knows how to post a photo of Tigger like you have of your pets, I'd like to do that. I tried yesterday, & failed miserably.

Thank whoever can read this!
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Your picture needs to be avatar sized. I use shrinkpictures.com and click the avatar setting and follow the directions.

After download to your computer, you need to go into your user control panel, profile, edit avatar and upload the picture from your maching. I use the browse button to find the picture I want to use.

Submit to save the change.

Caution, some people are still getting hit in the server changeover and that is why the lockouts, etc. Server changeover was completed 6/17 but Robert, site admin, said depending on your internet service provider, you may see problems for 48 hours.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks, Deb! I didn't know about Avatar! I think it shrunk with Paint, but your site seems much easier.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Hi Everyone, (posted this in the wrong post last time - sorry!)

I'd appreciate if you could look at Tigger's SS again. We just don't seem to be moving out of this range at all. The last few days, Tigger's had an over 300 AMPS, which he hasn't had much before. Today, he had a 382 at +6, which is also unusual.

This is only day #4 (cycle #7) at 1 unit - am I expecting too much? Am scared to see the +9 number - that's usually his highest.

Sorry, am getting a little discouraged; trying to be patient.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Suzanne
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Let's see what others say, but I think I'd increase, Suzanne. He has had several cycles at this dose and the numbers aren't awful but are generally higher than you want. How about 1.25, as soon as you can monitor a cycle?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks, Sue - I think I agree - each cycle he goes a little higher.

Do you have any idea why he'd have that one really nice curve the first time he got 1 unit, then went downhill from there?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Ok, so Tigger's +9 (usually his HIGHEST number of the day) was lower (330) than his +6 at 383.

Any ideas? Is he still bouncing or is the 1 unit just not holding him or were we better off at the .75?

Now I'm bouncing! confused_cat
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Sometimes when you raise the dose it acts like a bam dose and does a great job but then they bounce and when the bounce wears off the same dose is more of a meh dose.

I agree with Sue, the next time you will be around to test the cycle I would increase the dose.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Good Morning, PZI People!

Just wanted to announce that thanks to the great advice from Sue & Rob we bumped Tigger up to 1.25 units this morning. I'll be watching him today. Am still terrified with the dose increases, but getting better. I try to remind myself the insulin is our friend & here to help. I'm just worried I'll jump over the right dose, or have already passed it due to my own impatience.

I ordered u-100 syringes last night - too bad the u-40's don't have half-markings. Will hide the u-40 syringes once the u-100's arrive, so I don't accidentally switch syringes.

Meanwhile - the 1.25 dose won't be completely accurate, but we're doing the best we can.

Keeping our fingers & toes crossed for a nice gentle BLUE ride today..........
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Meanwhile - the 1.25 dose won't be completely accurate, but we're doing the best we can

Do not worry! I am eyeballing our doses daily and have been since we went to 2.25 and now at 2.75. It is reasonably accurate and that is ok with PZ although I would think with Lantus/Lev, it might need to be more accurate with TR since they dose in drops over there. Best to you and Tigger on the new dose. Simon does the bouncy thing too. We are working on getting the right dose and hopefully his little pancreas will get the message and not pour glucagon out like he is in hypo territory! :o
 
I think we're bouncing again

Thanks, Joyce & BJM!

Thanks BJM for the ruler - I think we have a compass here somewhere that's my husband's & I'll get him to make it up. I also saw your post about syringe magnifiers - never heard of those - would WM carry them?

Yes, I've seen Simon's SS & he & Tigger seem to do a similar dance. Yesterday, however, Tigger's curve was backwards - lower +2.5 & +11.5, but higher in-between - I can't figure it out yet.

Today, we're seeing blue! +2 = 189 & +4 = 170. First time we've seen blue in over a week!

But his +6 shot right back up to 274. :YMSIGH: Is that Tigger's comfort zone?

It looks like our best numbers / nadir are around +4., except for Tigger's 1 beautiful curve on 6/11. Is this usual for Prozinc?

How do you tell if a cat is bouncing because the dose is too high or too low?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Our shopping parter Amazon carries syringe, visor, clip on, and free standing magnifiers.

I use the Carson Clip and Flip for near work even after having the cataracts out, as the implant doesn't adjust focus and the eyeglassess don't focus small enough. I can flip them down or up as needed.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

It is common for ProZinc's nadir to be around +4 to +5ish initially.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks, BJM, I'll check into those clip-on magnifiers. I'm wearing bi-focals now, & I always appreciate the extra x's.

When you say Prozinc initially comes in at +4 to +5, how long can I expect this reaction? I know ecid. but is there a generality here?

Thanks for your input - it really helped.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Sometimes it takes a while for the nadir to settle in and be later than +4 or so, Suzanne. I'd assume the nadir will be later in future cycles. Nice number early on though. Got those patience pants on?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Prozinc has a 10-14 hour duration according to their website.
Tigger may be one of the "ten hour kitties".
Maybe have Lisa take a look or see if Kim can?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Thanks Carl, appreciate your input.

Would a 10-hour duration create a '2nd curve' like what's emerging with Tigger?

BJM also says that initial use with prozinc has a shorter nadir. I'd accept either one of those. I'm just hoping it's the dose & not the extraneous issues (stomatitis, steroid injection still effective in his system). He did seem to have better numbers with the glipizide, so maybe it is just a dose thing & I need to be more patient.


I thought about a consult with Lisa Pierson last night, but read it costs about $200, which is more than I can afford right now. I've already spent almost $2,000, so I'm waaay out of budget.

Who is Kim, please?
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Kim is a wonderful lady who used to post here everyday when her kitty, "Kitty" had diabetes. She dosed Miss Kitty on a TID schedule (shots every eight hours) because she only seemed to get that long out of a dose. It worked very well in her case. Lisa also tried it for a while with Cassie, and Kim helped her try to manage that. I was hoping Kim could look at your spreadsheet to see what she thought.
If you search for older posts from "kse", that would be Kim.

There was a study done on Prozinc that did show that over time, with prozinc, the nadir did seem to happen later in the cycle. But the study only ran for 45 days, if I remember correctly.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

I do think you might take the dose up another 0.25 units. Your nadirs are pretty high.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Good Morning Everyone,

Thanks for sticking with us & offering your sage advice.

We were gone yesterday till +6, & upon return Tigger was at 202 - low for him, & he probably went lower +4-5. He stayed under 300, then after his PM shot, went to 175 at +5, which made me feel pretty good, having 2 low (for Tigger) cycles in a row.

He did have some horrendous diarrhea late last night (full of hair) & smaller this AM. But he seems perkier today.

However - today his numbers are back up in 300's, higher than his AMPS at + 2.5.

Several of you seemed to think it was ok to bump him up another .25, Not sure if we're getting a bounce today from the good numbers yesterday or the nasty poo, but I'm thinking I should maybe hold this dose at least another day & see how he does, or until I know whether yesterday was an anomaly or the beginning of a forward trend..

Also - to make matters worse, our daughter & her family are moving in for 6 months starting yesterday. Tigger's terrified of my son-in-law & 3 y/o grandson. Too much noise & activity. He cowers under the bed or behind a desk if he can't get outside. I'm concerned how much of a stressor this will be for him & how well he will adjust - he's been in a quiet household for 10 years. I am keeping him in a room with the door closed, checking on him, & think after several days I'll have my son-in law start quietly bringing him his favorite treats under the bed. That's all I can think of.

I'm also going to take him back to the vet next week (we're trying Anne & Tess's vet this time) to get an update on his stomatitis & see if that's also influencing the equation.

I'd love any feedback on these issues - again, sorry to be so needy - things are just crazy right now & poor Tigger's caught in the middle of it all.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

It may help to put a Feliway diffuser in the 'safe' room to help with his stress.
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Feliway! Great idea, will try it.....

So guess what??? Tigger is at 185 at +8!!!!!! Whoda thunk!!!!!! Maybe we're starting to get some traction here!!!!

I feel like I have borderline personality disorder - when Tigger's numbers are high I'm so down, but when they're blue, nothing can stop us!!!!

Well, at least until he hears the pitter-patter of little feet..........
 
Re: PZI Users, I'd love interpretation of test results, Plea

Probably one of your big challenges will be to convince your grandson that Tigger can't have any people food. I can see it now, DGS will want to make friends and share his food with the 'pretty kitty'.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top