PZI info?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

So, I was talking to a friend of mine who is a vet the other day and she was thinking Louie should be on PZI. It is her insulin of choice.

Although she is not Louie's vet, I thought I would look into it and see what you guys thought.

He is currently on Lantus....and his numbers have regulated a decent amount- although they are still a bit high, they are not jumping around the way they were on Humulin.

My ss needs to be updated...but generally, his recent numbers (ill fill them in in the am) have been in the 200's...sometimes a bit under 200. He has had a couple of spikes into higher numbers....but each time I am pretty sure he got into carbs....that little carb sneak!!!!

Anyway, I apologize for the non-updated spread sheet. I will fix it in the am.

Thanks in advance for any info,

Laura and Louie
 
Hi Laura,
My PC is acting up and the SS wouldn't open! But I will take a look at it tomorrow.

PZI works differently than lantus works. It works well for some kitties. That's what Bob was on for about 10 weeks before he went OTJ.

The PZI forum is not as "busy" as Lantus TR for sure, but the people who post here regularly have a great deal of experience with PZI and Prozinc, and they are all really amazing and terrific people.

Did your vet friend explain "why" she thought that PZI would be a better choice than Lantus for Louie?
Anything specific? As you know, every cat is different, and it could be that PZI would work well for Louie.

This forum is busiest in the morning and after dinner at night, and I am sure the "Breakfast Club" members will chime in when they get up tomorrow. I'm glad to see you here, as I am very familiar with Louie and your history. I'll check back in tomorrow!
Carl
 
He is not doing badly on Lantus. He seems generally regulated (200+ at preshot, 100 and below at nadir) Have you gotten some advice on that forum about tweaking his dose?

It's definitely an ECID thing. We have had some wonderful successes with PZI and have had some people working with it for a long time. Most of them have regulated kitties but they aren't OTJ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top