PurinaOne Grain Free Pate… ok to use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey is a Fancy Feast guy. But yesterday in 3 stores the Pate was scarce except for fish( I limit his fish) I did find this Purina One Grain Free Pate which looked similar to FF on label. He liked it

It was blank on Dr Pierson’s chart as it is new. Is it an ok option?
Thanks,
Thomas
 
It looks like based on the guaranteed analysis (which is not wholly reliable) it's 1.1% carb. It should be fine. Of course, the best way to know if how Mikey's BG numbers respond.
 
It looks like based on the guaranteed analysis (which is not wholly reliable) it's 1.1% carb. It should be fine. Of course, the best way to know if how Mikey's BG numbers respond.
Yikes, I just did his PMPS number and it was 596, He is in a new dose so he has been bouncing, but don’t know if this is bouncing or the food.
 
I tend to think what you're seeing is a bounce. I was a big drop from your AMPS to the +4 test result -- more than 200 points. I wouldn't consider the 2.5u a "new" dose. Mikey has been at that dose for 7 cycles (before. your PMPS). Since it looks like you're following SLGS, as a comparison, with TR the dose is generally increased every 6 cycles.
 
I tend to think what you're seeing is a bounce. I was a big drop from your AMPS to the +4 test result -- more than 200 points. I wouldn't consider the 2.5u a "new" dose. Mikey has been at that dose for 7 cycles (before. your PMPS). Since it looks like you're following SLGS, as a comparison, with TR the dose is generally increased every 6 cycles.
I was thinking it was the Purina One? You are right , he is not in a new cycle
I get confused about cycle and SLGS. When exactly do I up the dose? I have been very conservative perhaps?
Thank you!
 
With SLGS, you hold the dose for a week (14 cycles), do a curve, and evaluate the effectiveness of the dose. If numbers are higher than you want them to be, you increase the dose. The information is off the top of my head so I'd suggest that you review the dosing methods sticky for the specifics.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top