Pumpkin's blood glucose just tested at 78 - Please advise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
I had increased him to 2 units after I reported my last curve to the vet. The vet suggested 2 units because she'd like to see his numbers at most in the 200's. It was 300 something the day I did the curve. I just feel 2 units may be a tad much for him. His numbers did drop and I stayed on the safe side with 1.75 units as always, based on a gut feeling (which may be wrong). However, I just dropped a test on him and it said 78. So, I fed him one of those delectable gravy sticks and I am very concerned. I also got him to eat a few treats because he is in a phase where he is turning up his nose at his dry and/or wet food. Please advise????

UPDATE : A half hour later after the gravy stick it's back up to 98. He refused his dry food and he has also been fussy about his wet food lately. It is normal for him to go through those phases. I gave him something I KNEW he'd eat yesterday, only because I know I would not be here to test him and be sure he was okay - Tiki Cat Sardine Cutlets. I hope I didn't cause him to refuse all food now unless he gets Tiki Cat Sardines. That could become costly.
 
Last edited:
78 was a safe number. High carb is usually reserved for under 50. Next time, try a low carb snack and test again after 30 minutes. However, since the 78 was at +9, he may have gone even lower than that earlier in the cycle.

According to SLGS protocol, the new dose should be 1.5 units but I'd like to see what others have to say first.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko

The more testing you can do, the more you will know about your cat and the better we can help.
 
Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat. Your vet had you increase the cycle after giving a reduced dose the night be of just 1.0. You saw nadirs under 150 so an was not needed.
Why do you think his appetite is not always good?
 
Any drop under 90 when following SLGS warrants a dose reduction. So as @Red & Rover (GA) indicated you need dose is 1.5 U moving forward.
are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycles? At the moment we have no data as to what is happening at all for 12 hours of the day. Even a before bed test would be useful.
Thank you. I have anxiety, so this can activate it. I know when I see the numbers start to fall at night, as I am sure they do, I will then stay up all night testing. That's why I have avoided opening that can of worms. I become really panicked and lots of the time, it can be over nothing. But, nevertheless, it is what I tend to do and I don't know how to talk myself out of it.

He has been on 1.75 for some time because 1.50, the Dr said was too low based off of the numbers he had been testing at the time. But that was a while ago.

Is it possible that he could go back to 1.50 and have the numbers be more acceptable than they were previously?
 
Is there any way you can get a test before you go to bed every night? Many cats experience lower numbers at night.. Not testing during the PM cycle means you're missing half of. your data and he may be dropping lower in the evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top