Pumpkin's AMPS 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joy.T

Member Since 2010
Pumpkin #'s last night at 6 pm we're PMPS 451 +3-208 +6-61 +7-63 +9-98. His AMPS this mroning at 6 am was 165. Here is my problem he hasn't eaten it's now 7am Do I give this lantus dose of 2 1/2 or wait til he decides to eat???
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Good morning. Do you have a link to your spreadsheet? It is hard to give advice without seeing any information.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Hi actually I already put he food down. I'll test him again right now it about one hour after his AMPS, @ Putty His ss is almost done,I'm using a library computer and they give one hour per day. @ blue yes I'm on the cell BRB going to test him now
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

It looks like he is going up and as long as he eats I think it will be fine to shoot full dose. I read your thread from yesterday and you are home to monitor today...is that correct?
I also read that you gave some dry food to bring numbers up. It would be best if you have higher carb wet food with gravy instead of using the dry when Pumpkin is low. Dry takes too long to get into the system and stays in the system too long.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Ugggg its one and half hours after AMPS he still hasn't eaten and his # is 169
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Is eating often a problem for Pumpkin or is this new?
Do you have any tuna juice or treats you could put on his food?
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Do you have any Parmesan cheese in the house? Or I know you were enticing him with Turkey and Chicken...any such around.

It looks like he is surfing yet in those nice blue numbers. He is going to come up...with a zoom from yesterday....

At 1.5 hours and new to home testing, but not to lantus....I would reduce the dose 0.25 u- 0.50u and give a Big Chicken Shot. BCS.

Let's see what Mariam says too.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

He has only been doing this for 2 or days.Can Lantus be given if a cat doesn't eat.I already add bits of real chicken or turkey to his meals.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Can you offer him just the chicken or Turkey at this point.

Yes, it can be given, but most likely we're going to recommend a reduced dose. Your numbers from yesterday were pretty good and with a two hour delay you will essentially be shooting a reduced dose already.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Since you do not have a spreadsheet yet it is a little more difficult to give advice since I don't know what Pumpkin's lowest pre-shot number is etc. I am concerned about him not eating. Is he a grazer or does he usually eat when fed......is this a new issue that he is not eating?

How much time is past your regular shot time?
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Oh. Wait he is picking at his food. Before he was diagnose he would attack his food plate at each meal and would ask for snacks. Now he doesn't ask for snacks and doesn't seem hungry. Ok see here's what he did yesterday too. He eats about 4 mouth fulls walks away from the plate then nibble at his food during the day. Well he did eat some. No this problem only staryed about 2 days ago with him eating like this. I think he whole system is off he isn't even having regular Bm's He last lantus was 6:30 pm last night.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Joy it's been a half hour since the last test. Can you get another test in now?

Edit: If his shot was 6:30 last night, this mornings shot was due at 6:30am. It is only 8am here. So by my calculation we're an hour and a half off.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Do you have Miralax to add to his food?
I think that constipation may be a factor in his lack of appetite.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

He did eat about 4 or 5 mouth full,so since our timing is off reduce the dose?
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

He looks like he is rising and you're delayed one and 3/4 hours. I would go ahead and shoot 2.25u.

Miriam might advise differently.

You will have a new shot time due to the delay. To work back to the original shot time you'll need to only move back in half hour increments.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Ok he juiced.so at 9:30est I'll re-test. So to get back to his 6:30 go back 1/2 inc.'s ok got it Thanks so much. Iknow he will not like a full curve,but Thursday is his first full curve. Yeah one more ear prick for today til dinner time his ear looks sore I'm still working on my skill he is already asking for the pillows to go on his ears HAHA
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Joy.T said:
Yeah one more ear prick for today til dinner time his ear looks sore I'm still working on my skill he is already asking for the pillows to go on his ears HAHA


Um...Joy, he may need a few more ear pricks between now and dinner. If you have a little neosporin on hand...it will help.


Do you know how to edit your subject line? You should go back and change to the forum standard now.
 
Re: HELP !! Should I give Lantus or wait??

Hi Joy....maybe change your header as Blue said. and here is the link for the SS again viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
That is from the Tech Support forum....there are instructions for avatars and lots of thing if you go to that forum for other information. I do hope that you will be able to set up your SS aspo! When you get is set up, and you attach it to your signature, everyone will be able to just click on it and see all the BGs. It is necessary to have that in your signature, okay?
Hope you guys have a good day today...it was certainly exciting in the beginning.

1/8 teaspoon of Miralax added to his food with extra water might help with the constipation. I sometimes give it mixed with tuna oil..that works too....and I always add warm water to their canned food.... Hope you see some LB action soon!
 
Joy, 165 is not your Amps. It is 173. The reading at the time you administer the shot is the AMps. 165 is a +12.

As you can see a SS in your signature line would be very, very helpful for folks to be able to advise you and Pumpkin.

You may need help when other's are not around and familiar with your situation. The SS is the fastest way people can catch up with Pumpkin. Think of it as the lay-persons medical chart for our cats.

I know there are some limitations going on, but perhaps you could post over on the health board for help. I know when I was intimidated about creating the SS, a few folks there offered to do it for me!!!

So I know it can be done that way too. All you need to do is ask and someone more tech savvy than me could help you out.

Thanks.

As far as the constipation goes...tuna oil, miralax, and as my vet told me...even white vaseline. Believe it or not that is what is in some of the fancy furball medications anyway...read the label it says petroleum jelly with flavoring!!! :lol:
 
If this is the lowest PS # you have shot, you should get a +1 and a +2 to start out.

As Blue said, you can move the schedule back to your regular time by shifting the shot time back by 30 minute increments, BUT only 30 minutes once per day. Alternatively, you can shift by 15 minutes per shot. You don't want to shift by too much too fast because it affects the shed....giving a shot early is like a dose increase, giving it late is like a dose decrease, so small increments are best.

As others have already said, the SS is very helpful when you are looking for advice about what to do quickly. It's good that you listed the numbers in your first post, but more data is needed as Miriam said. I understand your limitations, but I would suggest at least getting the SS linked to your signature today if possible...even if all of the data isn't there, it will help a lot to have some data there. Other people can help you update your SS if you are willing to allow others to edit your SS....that might be an option for you consider if you have limited access to the SS. You can choose to allow just certain people to be able to edit if you want, not just leave the SS open to anyone to edit...that's what I would suggest. We want to help, but we need data!

I'm not sure if anyone has suggested reading the stickies at the top of the forum, but I would do that as soon as you are able. Start with the New to the Group and the Tight Regulation Protocol stickies, there's a lot of good info there. Also, since you are seeing some lower preshot numbers, you should read the Data Ready sticky as well as Libby's post on Dealing with Low Preshots.
 
Hi Celi & Binks, I've improve my vampire skills to one test strip! I haven't posted any of pumpkin's # because I was told not to since I don't have his ss up. Even through I have posted I can only get to a desk top computer on Saturday for one hour at the library. That's why I haven't posted. Thanks for checking back with us. Have a happy holiday.
 
That's very nice of you, MJ.

Joy, I think 30 minutes a day, is the max you want to adjust your shot time schedule. The easiest way is to move it by 15 minutes per shot, twice a day. Or, you could move it by 30 minutes, once per day. So to get back 90 minutes, it will take 3 days.
IF, Pumpkin gets a real high number, like well into the 300s, then you can shoot more than 30 minutes early, but I would post for advise first, before doing so.

You are doing so well with Pumpkin :-D I am proud of you.
 
Thank You MJ & Donovan!! I just tried to send you the info via pm and for some reason the pm will not send,no matter how many times I hit preview and then submit. Do you have an e-mail I can send to. If not that's ok. I'll be able to finish ss on saturday's party.
 
Hi Joy. What does the computer say, when you try to send the PM?
I think people are pretty anxious to help you and a ss up and running the sooner the better, would be best.
 
Hi Dyana, there is no message,it just keeps going back to the preview screen. I am on a cell phone,android phone.
 
Yes,I can alas the message doesn't show in the sent box or out box.I did type a post in tech support forum.
 
I just copied this into a PM to her, for you. You should receive a PM from her tomorrow, I would think.
Joy.T said:
Thank You MJ & Donovan!! I just tried to send you the info via pm and for some reason the pm will not send,no matter how many times I hit preview and then submit. Do you have an e-mail I can send to. If not that's ok. I'll be able to finish ss on saturday's party.
 
So, I have to admit, I did not read your whole condo, today. What, and how long ago was Pumpkin's last BG test?
 
Dyana,I was told to not bother posting any results since the ss isn't up. I have a log with his #'s,food ,bm's,moods,activity level. Enjoy your holiday pumpkins last bg was tonight before dinner it was 108.
 
Thanks Joy :-D

If the 108 was awhile ago, maybe he's green now. Maybe, you could get another test before going to bed.
We are still here for you, for support, and encouragement and all, and will help you if he goes low.
It's just hard to advise on dose when we can't see the whole picture in front of us.
 
He does dip to green during the overnight and if he had a bm but is back to 120- 160,if no bm's alas he always high the first hour after eating but then the lantus starts to work. After eating he gets to 170-237 was the highest.
 
Okay. I just want to be sure you're testing, tonight. I am going to hit the hay, pretty soon. I am on vacation :-D but still, my normal bed time is around 9:00pm, and I do have things to do tomorrow morning.

If you ever get a number that makes you feel uncomfortable, go ahead and post for help and support. If you don't get a response here, post on the Health forum.

Ni~Ni and sweet dreams.
 
sorry, having a crazy morning :roll:

you can email me at m.j.towler AT gmail.com (replace AT with @)

MJ&Donovan
 
Good morning guys! I see you are getting a ton of advice here about shooting/feeding etc .. so I will just say Hi, and that if you can't get on before Saturday, I hope you guys have a Merry Christmas!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top