Pudge - OTJ trial

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie

Active Member
Hi Everyone, Pudge started an OTJ trial this morning. He has not had insulin since last night as his PSAM was 121 and for the past couple of weeks seldom went over a BG of 130. The exception was when he had a disastrous encounter with FF chicken with beef classic with resultant diarrhea and vomiting. Shall see how things go: really meaning if my nerves hold out! I did not realize that I would be such a helicopter mom or grandma over the issue of low, though perfectly normal, BG values. He spent his cycles mostly in double digits under 70. That does not surprise me since his 2 litter mates test in the 50s.

I am very appreciative of the kindness and time you have spent helping us. I do not know what helped more bid or tid, though his cycles started extending on the tid schedule and we meandered between the two quite a bit. Wish I could participate more but I have limited access to the internet.

Wishing Everyone a good day, Sophie
 
This is really great news. Remember you can't not ever go back to dry food again or give crunchy dry treats. You have received a special gift that many members long for. Cherish the gift of OTJ.
 
Hi Everyone!

Thank you! What a lovely word is cherish. I do cherish the possibility of OTJ. Don't know exactly how it happened. No microdosing! Pudge went from 1.6 of ProZinc to, in essence, saying "I have had enough poking! Hate my ears poked! ProZinc, kiss my adorable bum good bye!" This last week or 10 days, he absolutely didn't want his ears poked. As soon as I warmed his ear he would try to put his paw up to cover it from me. Then, he would move his head back and look me in the eyes with his big reproachful eyes. And I would tear up. He never tries to get away from me. Just twitches and flicks his ears which he has never done before. Then, poof!! all the stars aligned and we are off to the no insulin land. I test only once a day now. Or, at least, try to... I tell him just this once! I might even switch to doing it between his paws. Considering it.

I will let you know how things go. My warm regards to all of you and special wishes of health and OTJ to all the extra sweet creatures, Sophie
 
Isn't it amazing how kitties react so differently - some need mini dosing, some just quit, some struggle for years and finally decide to go OTJ. So glad Pudge is considering going off the juice. Be sure to come back after the 2 weeks so we can have a party.
 
Hello!

Welcome back, Sue! A new grandson! Great! Congratulations! I'll come back for sure.

Kim, Pudge is swimming in a green ocean. He delights and amazes me. Today, he was at 77 when I checked at what would have been +6 after his morning insulin on bid. Gosh, I itch to do more testing, but I swore to him I would not so I don't.

Kim, I'm going to quote something from this evening's Health forum re plain unflavored Aloe Vera juice as a help in pancreatitis. It's in 4/26 thread "Newly diagnosed cat won't eat" - the entry at 7:48 pm from Cheryl A'Purrson:
We are totally new to feline diabetes, but old fogie to handling kitties with pancreatitis and/ or IBD without fd.!

Years ago a friend involved in kitty rescue recommended plain unflavored Aloe Vera juice when my older kitty was having issues and diagnosed with Pancreatitis. I was a doubter and didn't discuss with vet right away, finally asked him. He didn't know anything about it but said we could try it so we did. Gave via dropper to mouth drop at a time, initially like 1 cc/ day. Freckles did much better but being doubter thought it was other things vet used, until we ran out, came home and he threw up all over the place poor guy, looked like projectile war zone. :lol: cleaned up went and got more plain unflavored aloe juice, dosed him and next day he was out of meatloaf position running around with his brother. And eating and keeping food down.

Vet knew of good result, kept him on it rest of his life, gradual increased dose.
When Missy was diagnosed with elevated liver enzymes I didn't stop or ask just started her on aloe juice pronto, initially via dropper then mixed in one meal a day. Immediate appetite improvement. She's still on it, vet knows and recommends to others now.
She gets about 20 cc mixed in dinner of canned food, plain, unflavored Aloe Vera juice (NOT GEL).
I get it at whole foods and know it works.
Just my experience.

At this point she might need the tube feeding as probably with hepatic lipidosis :cry:
Missy 18 yr old April 2012
Dx April 23 2012 BG 415 ;Steroid induced
On Prednisolone for elev

Please take as good care of yourself as you do of Kitty. All my best, Sophie
 
Hello Everyone!

Pudge is into his 11th day of no ProZinc and doing well! He hovers around BG 47 - 52 whenever I test him and eats a lot less at a time than before. I had forgotten that he really had been a grazer during the dry food days since dry food was always available. It was canned food that he inhaled since I provided it only at snack time - didn't like washing all those food bowls plus had bought the pet industry's propaganda of how great it was for pets!!! These days I don't mind washing food bowls.

If anyone has suggestions as to how to help Pudge's pancreas heal completely and keep it from getting irritated , inflamed, bothered or bewildered in the future nailbite_smile I would much appreciate them. That seems to be the issue in keeping kitties in remission. I have gotten some Aloe Vera juice. Any experience with it? In Southern California Bristol Farms, Whole Foods and Trader Joe's carry it. I heard that high fat in food is bad for pancreatic health. Any comments? All remarks are gratefully accepted though, perhaps, not immediately acknowledged :oops:

Best wishes to you guys and good health to all the furries, Sophie
 
GO Pudge! It looks like we will be having another party in PZI!

I will throw this out concerning pancreatitis.....the internalist at the vet school told me that high fat is not a culprit of pancreatitis in cats. But, it is the major contributor in dogs. I have no idea if this is true, but I was told this by multiple internalists at the school. I think the major factor in helping keep Pudge OTJ is to control the carb intake and the stress level. I am very interested in trying the aloe vera juice, but I am not sure that it will help Kitty at this point. I would love to hear your thoughts concerning it once you start giving it to Pudge.

Glad to see you posting and wishing you and Pudge all the best!

Kim
 
To add to what Kim said about p-titis...

Great info here:
http://www.idexx.com/pubwebresource...pec-fpl-treatment-for-feline-pancreatitis.pdf
Diet Selection
There are no studies to support dietary choices for cats with pancreatitis. Nutritional experts do not believe that high-fat foods are implicated in causing pancreatitis in cats. However, some internists avoid high-fat diets because they have anecdotally recognized an association. Liquid diets are required for use in nasogastric, nasoesophageal and jejunostomy tubes. Commercially available CliniCare®Canine/Feline Liquid Diet (Abbott Animal Health) is high in fat but commonly used. Human-formulated liquid diets are too low in protein to be used in cats. Low-residue, lowfat, easy-to-digest blended canned diets can be used in esophagostomy or gastrostomy tubes. Recommendations for feeding cats with pancreatitis are based upon opinion. Trial and error is often required to find a diet that works for a particular cat. One challenge is that cats with pancreatitis often have concurrent disease. A low-residue diet might be the diet of choice in a cat that only has pancreatitis, but if concurrent intestinal disease is present, then a novel protein diet might be a better choice. The caveat for owners is that the cat must eat. So if their cat won’t eat one of these special diets, they need to go back to whatever they were previously feeding.
 
Hello and thank you!

Kim, thanks re the fat information. As to the Aloe Vera juice, I understand and will let you know what I experience. Kitty has a lot of meds and who knows how it would interact with them. It's so easy to forget that plants are composed of chemicals. Since Kitty's pancreatitis has resolved and she's on an appetite stimulant, there is no need for anything else that 'maybe, perhaps, who knows if' duplicates those two effects. Once I have my new computer, I plan to update Pudge's ss. This is a somewhat distant horizon plan as I want a Mac and Pudge's expenses depleted funds meant for that purpose. It's fun to post whenever I can.

Robin, thank you! I used your sliding scale with some tweaks - gave me more confidence!

Carl, thank you so much! Will study it all carefully.

Best wishes, Sophie
 
Sophie -

So happy to hear Pudge is doing so well!!! GO, PUDGE! Always ready for another party
party0003.gif


Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top