Pudders AMPS and PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

puddersmom

Member Since 2013
Here is Pudders numbers for today. This morning he was 124. I didn't get him tested this afternoon. I got in grossed in homework and than had to go shopping with my mom. Didn't get back to 6 and was going to test and feed him in 2 or 3 hours so thought he could wait. When I tested him tonight he was 101. He got 1 unit of insulin each time. He seems to be doing real good. One thing I did notice about him this morning when i tested him, his ears were cold. And they use to always be warm. And someone told me that is a sign of high blood sugar. So I found that interesting.

One question I did have. I pricked him at least 50 times this morning. He was getting so mad. And so was I. I don't want to give up because I know it is important to test him. I even got his ear warm and still had to do it a whole bunch of times. Is there any other suggestions? I want this to be something quick for him. And something that doesn't make him upset. And it isn't that way at all. I hate to see my baby like that.

Thanks-
Niki and Pudders
 
Hi Niki. Glad that Pudders is doing fine. What gauge lancet are you using? Are you poking near the very edge of his ear? Are you using a lancet devise or just the lancet?

It took me several pokes in the beginning to draw blood but never more than 3. You'll find his ears will get use to being poked and will bleed easier. Be sure to give Pudders a treat after every test. Keep a bit of pressure on the puncture point for 10-15 seconds after the poke. PurrFace's ears are just about always cold except when he's laying on one.

One thing on posting. You'll start a new condo each day at the time you do the AMPS test. When you open it you subject line for today, as an example, would be 2/26 Pudders AMPS 124. If you did the next test 3 hours after his shot and got a 160 your subject line would be AMPS 124 +3/160. Continue in this manner until the PMPS test. When entering that number you will erase your AMPS and other daytime numbers and post your PMPS number in the subject line. Today that would look like this...2/26 Pudders PMPS 101. Enter each subsequent reading as before.

I hope that makes sense. If you need some guidance on how to link your previous day's condo on your current one let me know.
 
Hello.
I don't know what other hints you may have been told.

I find that if I aim for a little closer to the tip right along the edge .... halfway between the sweet spot and the tip.... I get better results ....

Make sure you have a tissue/paper towel on the opposite side of the ear to put pressure against....
Some even use a flashlight as something to put pressure against... when poking... it helps illuminate the capillaries...
you want to hit near a capillary, not a vein...

ear_web1_zps0bf45a17.jpg



Courtney just put this on the main forum.
How to test a cat
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J49mi-RtTdE&feature=youtu.be

see if it helps you...
 
I have his lantus box at home. I will have to look when I get back. I use a device to check him. Works a lot easier and he doesn't fight me as much and I feel like I have more control.

Frosty looks like Pudders. I am hoping to get a picture of him set up this weekend.

Niki and Pudders.
 
I will have to use the flashlight idea. I do go towards the edge and it is a hit or miss. I think part of the problem to is we are at my parents and he is acting up a little. Think he will be better at home. And behave a little. At least that's my hope.

Niki and Pudders.
 
I want to offer an observation. Your AMPS was 124. Your +11.5 was 101. Right now, you do not have enough data to know where Pudders' nadir (lowest point in the cycle) falls. In other words, sometime between your AMPS and +11, Pudders' numbers could have been at 30, or higher, or lower. Given the amount of data you have, if you are going to shoot lower numbers, you must be able to get some tests. Somehow, I suspect you could have taken a break to get a test somewhere during the time that you were doing homework and before you went shopping. If you tend to get engrossed, set an alarm. Insulin is not a trivial medication and hypoglycemia can kill. I know you know this but I do want to reinforce the need to get tests if you are shooting lower numbers.

If you are going to shoot tonight, you MUST test. At minimum, and I mean bare minimum, you will need to get a +1 and a +2. It is the only way you are going to be able to keep Pudders safe.
 
Yes I do know this. And typically I do not miss testing him in the afternoon. I have just been sick and 2 weeks behind in my homework and have a test next week and finals in 3 weeks. I know he is important and I know that diabetes can kill him but sometimes I need to focus on my life too. And do my responsibilities. I do keep a real close eye on him and if he is acting the least bit strange I test him. I got the credit card bill to prove that. I really didn't have the time. I stopped studying at 230 had to meet my mom at 3 and take a shower and drive 20 minutes to meet her. And it takes 15-30 minutes to test him. So no I did not have the time. I do care about him and his safety is very important to me.

Niki and Pudders.
 
Hi Niki,

I do care about him and his safety is very important to me
.

I have no doubt about that. Otherwise you wouldn't be here :-)

I would skip the shot unless you see a number over 200. Shooting a lower number, like the 101 you just saw will mean you will need to test at least a couple more times in the first two or three hours of this cycle. In my opinion, you don't have enough data yet to give insulin on a number near 100.

Carl
 
Hi Niki,


I'm sorry you are still having trouble with the pokes. You've received lots of advice about testing over your last couple of threads. Have you tried searching YouTube for videos on how to test a diabetic cat? There are lots of them, and sometimes it's easier to watch someone else do it first. Another thing that you could try is to enter your location in subject line and ask if there is someone local that might be able to come over and demonstrate on Pudders.

Good luck. Testing does get easier. Zeus wasn't happy when we first started home testing, but tonight he just sat there and purred through the whole test, poke and all.

Kathie
 
Niki --

You absolutely should have a life outside of Pudders' diabetes. Like Carl was pointing out, if you opt to shoot low, you need to test. If you don't yet have the data, it's really OK to skip a shot or consider other alternatives. (See the sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.

We generally use 180 as a, "post and ask for help" number when you're close to shot time.

Please let us know if we can offer any suggestions to help you shorten up the amount of time it takes you to test.
 
I didn't realize he could be that low and not give him his shot. I will start skipping it than and see what happens. Maybe do a curve this weekend. Thanks all for your patience. This is a learning curve for him and I both. And I just want him to be happy and healthy.

Thanks
Niki and Pudders
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top