Pudders AMPS and PMPS for 03/06 and 03/07

Status
Not open for further replies.

puddersmom

Member Since 2013
The last 2 days for Oreo have been good. I am sorry I didn't post last night. I was tired and when I got to bed I remembered I didn't post and didn't want to get back up. Almost forgot again tonight. But than remembered. I didn't test him before bed tonight because it is to close to when he ate. I had a busy day today. Was out all day. Left at noon and didn't get home to 8:30. So I am going to get up at 8:30 tomorrow and test him. I thought since he was a 100 that he should be fine. Tuesday will be 2 weeks OTJ. Does his numbers have to get lower for him to be considered OTJ? Hope you all and your kitties had good days.

Here are his numbers for the last 2 days. Wed 03/06... 127 @ +14.5, 116 @ +11.5 @ +4. Thurs 03/07.... 125 @ +10.5, 100 @ +11.5.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
 
Niki

Frankly, he does not look like an OTJ cat to me. He's getting some pretty high numbers. On the Health board, they have a no shoot below 200 philosophy because most people coming there have little to no data.

On this board, we just ask new members to post for help if the BG is below 150. Many of us shoot in the 50s. I'm not saying you have to, but you can see the difference between 200 and 50.

This is the Spreadsheet of a cat in remission (scrolll down until you see "OTJ".)

I think Sienne's post the other day summed it up quite well.
I think what is relevant with regard to how you think about whether or not to shoot is what your goals are. There isn't a "best" answer here -- it's what your goals for Pudders are and what makes sense for your lifestyle.

If your goal is for Pudders to potentially go into remission and be solely diet controlled (i.e., no insulin is required), then getting your kitty into a normal BG range (50 - 120) on a consistent basis is required. That most likely will mean shooting lower numbers and most likely losing some sleep. The trade off is that if Pudders goes OTJ, you can go to bed early and sleep in all the time.

If your goal is regulation, then keeping Pudders' number below renal threshold (roughly 200 - 220 -- it varies with every cat) is fine. That's essentially where Pudders' is now. It means that Pudders' may need insulin or would do better with a bit of insulin at present, but that's your choice.

We typically like to see the insulin dose be tapered down so your cat's pancreas isn't working quite so hard to pump out it's own insulin. Rather, giving a shot provides some additional support so the pancreas can fully heal. It's kind of like having a sprained ankle. If you put an ankle brace on, it offers some support so you can go about your business and not worry about re-injuring the joint while your ankle is healing. If you don't wear a brace, there's an increased possibility that you'll twist your ankle again and cause even more damage.

So it's your decision.
 
I guess I don't know what to do. Because Carl and Jennifer (his case manager) have both said looks like he will be OTJ. So I am confused. Carl has said DO NOT give him insulin below 200. Everyone else says do. Some say don't give him insulin. Some say do. I am getting really confused. And really close to just giving up. I just don't know what to do. And getting really really confused. Wish just once person would tell me what to do with him and tell me what the right thing is to do with him. I was told by some that if it stays below 150 he is OTJ. And now he isn't. My head is starting to hurt. Don't know if I can handle all of this and school and everything else that I have to do. Am I or am I not doing the right thing?

Niki and Oreo
 
Niki

Read again what I put in the quotation box above. It is your decision. If you want him truly in remission, then he needs to be in the range of 50-120 the majority of the time. He does quite often bring his numbers down; did you do as I suggested and feed him at +8/+9 as much as possible? Then you would test 3-4 hours later to see what he's doing.

I'll be glad to contact Carl. I think Pudders numbers are creeping up since Carl last looked in on him. I think, also, when he told you not to give insulin below 200, it was when you first came on.

I know your schedule is demanding and we aren't trying to make it hard. That's why we're telling you the options are you either want him in remission, or you just want him regulated. To me, right now, he looks like he might can use just a tiny bit of insulin. But if you try the feeding, you might find he's doing better.

I
 
(((Niki))) I understand your frustration. We all do because we've all been there. You are doing a great job with Pudders. He is much healthier and happier because of your care. And FD is a tough, tough disease. I wish I had a crystal ball so I could tell you how your different choices would pan out. But mine is broken this week. :lol: :lol: I do know that Marje and Sienne have advised on hundreds if not thousands of cats and they know this protocol.

Take a few deep breaths and try to clear your mind. You don't have to decide anything right now. When you're ready, re-read what Sienne wrote. The first thing is to decide what your goal is. If you want him in remission, he's not there yet, but very close. If you want him to be regulated, you will need to keep giving a bit of insulin. Either choice is absolutely fine and everyone here will do their best to help you. We are just as crazy about Pudders as you are.
Liz
 
I'm as confused as Niki. The high of 189 she writes that she thinks he was stressed from not having the litter box. I see the 139 but I also note that she has talked about storms and not being home.

There's no data collected for her to shoot below 150 or even 200. He's only recently switched to canned food and do we take into account the possible 20% variance up or down on any meter? If so numbers could be lower or higher, but in any event, she says he seems better.

Why would she give insulin on a day like today with a number of 125?

If he were consistently hanging in the high 100s I'd think a drop of insulin would be called for, but I'm seeing numbers in the lower 100s.

I understand that I don't follow the tight regulation protocol, but is it really suggested that she dose low 100s?
 
puddersmom said:
I guess I don't know what to do. Because Carl and Jennifer (his case manager) have both said looks like he will be OTJ. So I am confused. Carl has said DO NOT give him insulin below 200. Everyone else says do. Some say don't give him insulin. Some say do. I am getting really confused. And really close to just giving up. I just don't know what to do. And getting really really confused. Wish just once person would tell me what to do with him and tell me what the right thing is to do with him. I was told by some that if it stays below 150 he is OTJ. And now he isn't. My head is starting to hurt. Don't know if I can handle all of this and school and everything else that I have to do. Am I or am I not doing the right thing?

Niki and Oreo

Wow, Niki. I'm sad to read that you're feeling confused and obviously frustrated. And I realize that's in part, due to what I've said previously.
I went back and looked at the times I've posted in your threads and I think you are remembering this from one of your earlier posts on the Health forum.

When someone is new to treating feline diabetes, and just starting home testing and giving insulin, we usually recommend that they not give a shot on any number below 200. That is primarily because you haven't collected much data yet to determine how effective the insulin has been. It's a "safety" thing. But we don't say that because it's a low number. Just sort of low to give insulin on when you're just starting out. Once you have data that shows what a given dose has done, it's very common to shoot numbers like 150 or even lower. Just before Bob went "off the juice", I gave insulin on numbers under 100 on a few occasions. But they were very small doses, and I'd been doing "this" for a while. A lot depends on which type of insulin you are using too.

The first thing I need to say is that I did not use Lantus on Bob when he was on insulin. I used PZI, which is a lot different. I didn't follow a "protocol" either, whether it was Tight Regulation or "Start Low, Go Slow" which are two protocols that are followed by many people on FDMB. There wasn't really a protocol for PZI, and I more or less flew by the seat of my pants. I have often told people here that Bob went into remission in spite of, rather than because of what I did or didn't do right. He and I were just very blessed and fortunate.

Like I said in that Health thread, shooting under 200 at first is not advised, because people lack the data needed to do it safely. The more data you have, the better you can make decisions on dosage, or even on whether or not to give any insulin.

When I look at Pudder's spreadsheet since you stopped giving insulin is this:

I see a couple of times where you saw numbers I'd call "too high". Like the day he gradually went up from 115 in the morning to 189 in the evening. And I see your notes that show that was possible due to stress. You were away from home with him at your folks, right? And a few times he's been above 120 (top end of what is considered "normal") in the morning?

What I see that I really like is that just about every day, in the middle of the cycle, you're seeing nice numbers below 100. That tells me that his body is doing its best to function the way it's supposed to and control his BG levels.

Can you tell me this? Is he eating just two meals a day at AMPS and PMPS? Are you giving him a meal or snacks in between breakfast and supper?

The people who are suggesting that maybe Pudders isn't quite what we'd call "off the juice", well they all know a lot more about Lantus that I ever will. They've followed the Tight Regulation protocol with their cats, and they've helped and watched hundreds of cats go into remission after following that protocol. And they're right in that it's very rare for a cat to go from 1 unit doses to "zero" immediately. I've also followed along and "watched" lots of cats go off the juice on this forum. Just about all of them have gone from 1u, to .75u, to .5u, and to .25u and even smaller doses before finally going into remission. That's the way the protocol works, and although I've only been watching for less than a year here, it works incredibly well.

I think what people are trying to communicate is that you and Pudders have done a terrific job. Look at where you were on the day you first posted on FDMB, and look at where you're at today. Beautiful numbers, no insulin for two weeks. Has it been easy? No, I don't think anybody thinks that. I'm sure you don't. What everyone is concerned about is that they don't want him, or you, to see things "go bad". They don't want to see his numbers begin to get worse instead of better. Nobody wants to ever see you come back after thinking all was good and say "oh my god, Pudder's BG this morning was 300! What do I do now?"

Could Pudders use a tiny dose of insulin? Possibly. Could he stay in this range, at or just above "normal"? That's possible too. It's also possible that he may continue to improve. If you could (if you aren't already do so) space out his feedings so that he's getting less at one time, and the food is hitting his system in small amounts several times during the day or night. Maybe that could help his pancreas put out small amounts of insulin more often, and keep his numbers flat and in the 70s all day and night.

I don't know the answers for sure, Niki. Nobody does. I just don't want you to get frustrated or be confused. I want Pudders to be in remission for the rest of his life like I hope my Bob will be. And I also want you to be able to handle everything else on your plate with as little stress as possible. If I can help make any of that happen, I'd be happy to try.

Carl
 
I am sorry if I have confused you or Jennifer, Niki. Let me see if I can give you some additional information to help.

First, none of us can tell you what to do. When it boils down to it, we can give you info, we can give you examples, but we don't have the same circumstances you do. And it's just as important to factor in your own personal circumstances as it is anything else. That's why this has to be your decision. You can look at info, you can look at examples, but you have to consider your life and your goal for Pudders and then make the decision that is right for you and Pudders.

So, just a few facts:
  • The "normal" BG for a cat is 50-120 mg/dl.
  • Ideally, a cat on an OTJ trial or in remission will spend "most" of its time in between those numbers. Might a cat in remission occasionally throw a high number? Absolutely. Libby says her Lucy (who has been OTJ 4 years) recently tested 207 at the vet but tested 52 at home.
  • Our goal is a strong remission for your cat so he does not fall out of remission any time soon.

Since Pudders stopped getting insulin, he has spent 64% of his time in normal numbers as defined above and 36% of his time above normal numbers. I don't think it is wise to factor in 20% meter variance when looking at these numbers. For instance, take today. One could argue that with meter variance, that 125 could have been 100. But it also could have been 150. Another example...my kitty was at 36 today. That's a number where she earns a dose reduction. But, if I wanted to consider meter variance, she might also have been at 43 for which I'd hold the dose. OR 31...which is getting way too low. So I'm going to assume the 36 is a 36 and reduce her dose.

Would 125 be a number to give insulin? Yes....for some cats. Even some cats on the Start Low Go Slow Approach get insulin at 125. And many of us give insulin at less than that. But ECID and that also, for me, means Every Caregiver is Different. There are days when 125 is not a good number for someone to shoot. So it's not black and white and it's not the same for every cat or every caregiver.

The great thing about Pudders is it does appear his pancreas is working because he does come down. That is really great and that's why I've suggested Niki try feeding and testing at specific times....what we call a "food trial".

Just a couple examples I want to give you. The first is Chyna's SS. She stopped giving insulin on 2/26 and through 3/2, she was in normal numbers 87% of the time. The comment made by Libby on her condo on 3/2 was
she is running right at the top of the normal range and normally we look for mostly green with just a little bit of blue.
Rachel restarted insulin and Chyna is still on a very small dose and is all green. After a day of monitoring her numbers closely and feeding small meals, when Chyna had a PMBG of 126, the other important thing Libby said was
I think if tomorrow morning looks the same, I would resume insulin. Ultimately it's up to you, of course.
The bold is mine because that is a very important part of the statement and applies to Niki and Pudders as well.

Here is Muffin's SS. You have to scroll way down to the bottom but Muffin is on her third OTJ trial. She has a few numbers above normal but she also has gotten into contraband food.

When someone new comes into this ISG, we tell them to post if they get a number below 150 and we'll help them decide what to do. We have options besides skipping but sometimes we suggest skipping. The goal is to help CG's get data on what happens when they progressively shoot lower so when it comes to shooting a 100, then they know how kitty will react. Will every CG choose to shoot 100 or lower? No they won't and many of those folks prefer Relaxed Lantus. Most of us following the TR protocol shoot low to stay low. That is probably not the best fit for Niki and Pudders with Niki's schedule.

So...there is no pressure here. Only information. We support whatever decision Niki wants to make. I've only been trying to answer her questions. It's wonderful that Pudders' is coming down when he eats and it's wonderful that he's feeling so great.

Please let me know if I've only confused you further or if there is any other info I could provide or questions I could answer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top