Pudders AMPS and PMPS for 03/02

Status
Not open for further replies.

puddersmom

Member Since 2013
Pudders had a real good day. I think he enjoyed having me home most the day. I know I liked it.

His numbers today were. 122 @ +11.5. 92 @ +7. 135 @ +13.

Tested him a little late tonight. Got home a little later than planned. But still good numbers. Very proud of my Pudders.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
 
Nice numbers on your SS. You need to brag about the numbers by updating the colors manually!

Looks great! Hope you have a nice evening!
 
Oh, No Problem.

I am attaching an image of the buttons to play with.
The left button in the image will adjust the text color and the right button will adjust the background color.

Give it a try and let me know - I will take a look :)
 

Attachments

  • ColorEditButtons.png
    ColorEditButtons.png
    7.3 KB · Views: 369
Thanks Rich, for helping Niki :-D

Niki...let's see if we can get the preshot numbers down a bit.is it possible for you to feed him low carb food around +9 each cycle? I know you have a demanding schedule....maybe a timed feeder will help with that. Often when the pancreas is working, if we feed at +9, we see lower preshot numbers. That's what we're looking for.
 
I can't afford a timed feeder. If I could skip testing him than I could get a neighbor to feed him. But I can't do that. I am usually home that time of night. So I will try to start feeding him at that time. I got him out of the habit of waking me up at 5 am. Just hope that doesn't start again. That's one reason why I feed him so late at night. So that he doesn't wake me up so early. And can't lock him out of my room because than he cries and the neighbors complain. Specially the one across my hall. Tomorrow night him and I are going to my parents for the night. So I will start doing it Monday. Feeding him like 8 in the morning and 5-6 at night.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
We'd like them to be predominantly under 100 with just a few scattered numbers not higher than 120.

Normally, we don't stop insulin at 1u....we like to keep them on insulin as long as possible to support the pancreas and give a strong remission. Most of the cats that go into remission pretty much have all green SSs. The great thing Pudders is doing is bringing his numbers down.

We were hoping that by feeding at around +8 or +9 routinely, it will help his pancreas.
 
Niki, you are the one with the syringe in your hand and the one ultimately responsible for when to shoot and when not to shoot.

I have personally managed two diabetic cats (Maxwell and Ennis), and fostered a few others. I am a little more "relaxed" than are most on the Lantus Tight Regulation group.

It is highly unlikely that I would shoot insulin into a cat that has a +12 preshot number under 150, especially if I have evidence that small, frequent meals will bring the preshot BG level down. At my present age I would not be interested in staying up most all night on hypo watch. If I had a job outside the home, I wouldn't want to be dealing with trying to take the day off work for hypo watch. Back when my Maxwell was coming off insulin (2005) there were not 1/2 unit syringes, so 1U was the lowest dosage I ever tried to measure. I think shooting "drops" of insulin is unnecessary micro-management, but some here do it, and the leaders in the Lantus Tight Regulation group seem to promote shooting drops.

I am just one of those beans who believes in taking the training wheels off and pushing the bicycle to see how it goes. Roll or topple over. Maxwell was OTJ for maybe 16 months before he died of pancreatic-origin cancer. During his OTJ period, he always ran in the low 100s, which was well above "normal." But he was happy with that and so was I.

What you do is your decision. You need to decide what makes sense for you and what works in your life.
 
puddersmom said:
Pudders had a real good day. I think he enjoyed having me home most the day. I know I liked it.

His numbers today were. 122 @ +11.5. 92 @ +7. 135 @ +13.

Tested him a little late tonight. Got home a little later than planned. But still good numbers. Very proud of my Pudders.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
You should be proud of Pudders, and you should also be proud of yourself, Niki! You're doing a great job with him :-)

Just wanted to put a link to yesterday's conversation on food and how much to feed that you had asked about, in case you hadn't seen the input from me and Sienne.
With how many posts are made in this forum, it's easy for things to get "buried" under the newer ones. I had to go to "page two" of the forum to find this one.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90050
Carl
 
Venita. I usually don't shoot him if he is under 200. I am not willing to stay up all night with him and not will to miss a day of school to watch him. I just don't understand why I have to get them lower. I think his numbers are great and I am very very proud of him. Just don't get why we want them lower.

Carl I did see that last night. Thanks for doing that. Sorry I didn't answer. Slipped my mind. He seemed to be a little happier yesterday with the can of Friskes. So I think we are going to stick with that. Whatever makes the master happy. haha.

Hope you all have a good Sunday.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
Niki:

I think what is relevant with regard to how you think about whether or not to shoot is what your goals are. There isn't a "best" answer here -- it's what your goals for Pudders are and what makes sense for your lifestyle.

If your goal is for Pudders to potentially go into remission and be solely diet controlled (i.e., no insulin is required), then getting your kitty into a normal BG range (50 - 120) on a consistent basis is required. That most likely will mean shooting lower numbers and most likely losing some sleep. The trade off is that if Pudders goes OTJ, you can go to bed early and sleep in all the time.

If your goal is regulation, then keeping Pudders' number below renal threshold (roughly 200 - 220 -- it varies with every cat) is fine. That's essentially where Pudders' is now. It means that Pudders' may need insulin or would do better with a bit of insulin at present, but that's your choice.

We typically like to see the insulin dose be tapered down so your cat's pancreas isn't working quite so hard to pump out it's own insulin. Rather, giving a shot provides some additional support so the pancreas can fully heal. It's kind of like having a sprained ankle. If you put an ankle brace on, it offers some support so you can go about your business and not worry about re-injuring the joint while your ankle is healing. If you don't wear a brace, there's an increased possibility that you'll twist your ankle again and cause even more damage.

Just my 2 cents....
 
I guess I am getting confused with all these different opinions and don't know what to do. I am getting really frustrated. Of course I want to keep Oreo and I want him to be healthy. But I am starting to wonder if this is all worth it. I have a uncle dying and it hit me tonight that if he does die I will have to board Oreo. Which is something I can not afford. And my dad told me I have to go to the funeral. And its to far away to just drive up for a day and come back. So I am torn and stressed. I just don't know what to do. I want him better and healthy. And I want to help him. He is my baby. I guess I just don't do well with so much coming at me at once.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
 
Niki,
I'm sorry to hear about your uncle. Try to take things one day at a time.
If you have to go, how long would you be away? Could you just get someone to feed Pudders while you are gone? If it comes to that, we'll try to help figure out something.

This is all worth it, Niki. Just overwhelming at times. Especially when you have to juggle several issues at once. Glad you're here, because there's nothing we love more than trying to help.

:YMHUG:

Carl
 
When it does happen I would be gone 3-4 days. Maybe as long as a week. Depends when and if I have school and what is going on with school. I do have someone to feed him but she won't test him. I suggested bringing him with but my dad thinks that will put to much stress on him being in a strange place and a 7-8 hour car ride. I guess it is something we can face when it happens. Just want to have a plan in place.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top