Niki, you are the one with the syringe in your hand and the one ultimately responsible for when to shoot and when not to shoot.
I have personally managed two diabetic cats (Maxwell and Ennis), and fostered a few others. I am a little more "relaxed" than are most on the Lantus Tight Regulation group.
It is highly unlikely that I would shoot insulin into a cat that has a +12 preshot number under 150, especially if I have evidence that small, frequent meals will bring the preshot BG level down. At my present age I would not be interested in staying up most all night on hypo watch. If I had a job outside the home, I wouldn't want to be dealing with trying to take the day off work for hypo watch. Back when my Maxwell was coming off insulin (2005) there were not 1/2 unit syringes, so 1U was the lowest dosage I ever tried to measure. I think shooting "drops" of insulin is unnecessary micro-management, but some here do it, and the leaders in the Lantus Tight Regulation group seem to promote shooting drops.
I am just one of those beans who believes in taking the training wheels off and pushing the bicycle to see how it goes. Roll or topple over. Maxwell was OTJ for maybe 16 months before he died of pancreatic-origin cancer. During his OTJ period, he always ran in the low 100s, which was well above "normal." But he was happy with that and so was I.
What you do is your decision. You need to decide what makes sense for you and what works in your life.