Pudden went hypo this morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Puddensmom

Member
Pudden was at 355 this amps so I gave 1 unit as normal. 3 1/2 hours later she was at 39! I could tell something was up when she kept begging for food. She seemed agitated too.

I fed her wet turkey feast grilled in gravy with honey and put fancy feast dry food in as well. She ate a ton of it. 20 min later she was at 54. I just checked her at 12 and she was at 75.

Am I out of the woods or is it still possible for her to drop again? I plan on checking at 12:30 and 1:00.

Any idea why she could have dropped like that? Are her high pre shot numbers actually bounces and her dose is too high? She just came off steroids a little over a week ago and maybe her own insulin is starting to kick in.
 
Generally if you get 3 rising numbers you can start to relax. I'd make sure to get some tests in this afternoon just to be sure she doesn't go down at nadir...the food might prevent that but it's good to keep an eye out.

The steroids could be the culprit here. If they're all out of her system the insulin can work more.

She'll probably be a bit sensitive to the insulin with today's numbers so I'd post for dose advice tonight.

I'm at work but will pop in as often as I can to check on you. Good job handling this!!!
 
She is back down to 70, could be a varience with the meter, but I am going to stay glued to her ear for a while longer. She is at 6+ right now. She usually starts going up at +7 so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

I will be sure to post her pmps tonight before doing anything.
 
Yes, I think without the steroids, the insulin can start to work more effectively. Great job catching the low and feeding to bring it up! She may bounce from that low and the higher carb, but let's be careful with her dose, as overnight it is always harder to monitor.

So pmps should be in less than 5 hours? I'll keep an eye out and am sure others will too.

Scary, but good catch and good news - though it may be nerve wracking.
 
It was a big scare when I saw that low number! On the up side it is comforting to know the steroids were a big factor and maybe soon she will be off insulin. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

She will be at pmps at 7:30. I'm nervous what it will be. Hoping it doesn't skyrocket!
 
Just checked and she is at 180. She was 164 an hour ago. She found some high carb food I forgot was still upstairs between 5:30 and 6:30, so I really don't know if there could be a food influence. I 'm guessing she ate it closer to 5:30 but I can't be sure.
 
What are you thinking? You could stall awhile. It can depend on your comfort level, whether you can monitor tonight......if you do give insulin, I think I'd just give a token dose - less than 0.5. She came down over 300 points in just a few hours this morning on one unit.
 
I was thinking of stalling until 8:30 since I know for sure that is two hours with no food, but that would mean a sleepless night. I almost feel like just skipping tonight since she did come down so fast. Would that be a bad thing to do?
 
Not at all. It is always okay to be able to sleep at night. And things are so unpredictable right now - that drop this morning was huge for one unit, and completely unexpected.

You can start back fresh in the morning with a lower dose.
 
Ok, sounds good. I think I could benefit from a good nights sleep, lol! I will post her amps tomorrow morning before doing anything since I feel out of my league with these crazy numbers. Thank you so much for your help! I would be totally lost.
 
A good nights sleep can make all the difference! What time is your AMPS (and what time zone are you in?)
 
That was QUITE the BG drop today - and you did great steering out of it! So glad you'll be getting a good night's sleep; you deserve it.;)
It's pretty amazing how quickly those BG#s can come down after the steroids start wearing off, isn't it?
And the good news is that it's looking like Pudden's pancreas wants to kick back into gear!:)
 
That's ok! I have to leave the house today and figured that was a safe dose. Hope that wasn't a huge mistake! I will be curious to see what it does if anything.
 
That's ok! I have to leave the house today and figured that was a safe dose. Hope that wasn't a huge mistake!
Is never a mistake to err on the side of caution when you can't be around to test - especially so after such a steep drop as the one you saw yesterday. So ... you did just fine this morning!:)
 
I got a reading of 164 at +4 so it looks like she is still getting a good cycle at such a low dose. Could that be insulin sensitivy from the hypo or maybe her little pancreas has decided to kick in? Either way I'm so happy she isn't spending the day high!:D
 
Pmps is 364 tonight. Thinking of doing another .25 dose tonight since she did so nice on this cycle. I'm wondering if these 300 pre shot numbers are bounces from the hypo.
 
I think another cycle at 0.25 is fine, especially as it is overnight. I am guessing she'll need a little more insulin. It's hard to say whether the pink preshots are bounces or just a little too little insulin; the blue wasn't super low but there could have been a lower number. Some numbers this weekend and experimenting with a little higher dose could give you some good data.
 
I wish I could have got a +5 or 6, but I wasn't home in time. I will be able to get the +5 tonight so I can see how low she is really going. Hopefully she has some more blues tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top