Prozinc users...Who feeds smaller, more frequent meals?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Burrito wrapped before or after the BG tests?

Vetsulin is "shaken" thoroughly.
Prozinc is "stirred" or rolled thoroughly.

"Yes, Mr Bond, would you like your martini shaken or stirred?"
 
Burrito wrapped before or after the BG tests?

Deb,
That's Burrito Kit after BG. Sometimes she just wants to hang out there! Best kitty I've ever had with second place going to Putty when I was in grade school. (Apologies to Hallie and Shash who scared me too often with their attacking ways)
 
We feel like we've been making slow progress this week after integrating Tiki. We have ever so slowly been reducing from the 14% carb Glycobalance, then the 10% DM, to the 6% FF, and now integrating the 0% Tiki Puka Puka. @Deb & Wink would SO appreciate your input, comments and observations if you can take a peek at our SS! Thanks in advance!!:kiss:
PS We could open a catfood shop. ; )

HA. Spoke too soon. 604 PMPS :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Hi Jo.

It may be hard to think in + time hours for the BG tests, but you also need to think in + time hours for the food notes. Saying you fed at 8:20 or 9:40 doesn't mean anything to me. Listing the food fed in the + hours format would put it into context for me. It would tell us if you are feeding after the mid-point of the 12 hour dosing cycle.

Right now, I can't determine that. Do you think you could change the SS notes to reflect the + hours instead of local time? Include any snacks too, or if you are using an auto feeder, the + times that the auto feeder opens.

Kit had that 119 at +4 today, 2/12/20, so I'm a bit leery to have you increase the dose.

Kit skyrockets back up at +7 to +8. What is happening at that time? Any ideas from you?
What is happening in the AM cycle between +7 and the PMPS pre-shot time?
Last 3-4 days.
 
Hi Deb,

Gotcha. We are beginning to try to split up her meals so she doesn't get one big meal all at once. We are not using a timer feeder but we have one and may start that up soon.
I will fill in those times as you recommend. That makes a lot of sense.

Right! We can't figure out why she skyrockets at the end of the AM cycle. We don't feed any meals after + 6 except for the teeniest chicken bit treat if we do a BG.
The only thing I've come up with is that the ProZinc may not be holding her for the whole cycle and a different insulin might be better if this trend continues?

We're not thinking to increase her dose yet. Trying to hold steady.

Thanks for your insights, they are helpful!
 
+ hours are counted from the time you give the shot of insulin.

I may have told you incorrectly that the + hours was from the time of the pre-shot test.

Apologies for messing things up for you and Kit.
 
Kind of unrelated, but we are seeing dandruff on Kit. She's never had this problem before. We do have one of her beds with a low temperature pet safe heater under it, she's had this option in the cold months for over a year and she does love it. It's certainly not a dry winter (rain, rain, rainllll) and we don't overheat our home. :(
 
@Deb & Wink Deb and anyone else that can lend support! This is our very first step into green numbers. Could you take a look at Kit's SS. We've been so worried about her high numbers, and now we are in new territory.... Thank you!!!
 
New territory, Prozinc and Alphatrak. Absolutely right to ask for help.

You got her, Kit, back into the blue numbers. Good job!!
Just a little bit of food? No sugar like corn syrup or honey?
 
p.s. Next time, when you get a BG with the alphatrak <69, put the 911 icon on until you get a response.
Change the post title. or start a new thread.Your choice.

Thread title should say "HYPO, NEED HELP, for Kit w Prozinc. Or something similar.

No need to do that now, saw your tag. But next time.

p.p.s That is an automatic dose reduction for Kit, back to 1.75U. Starting with the PMPS for tonight, 2/20/2020.
 
There you are Deb, our angel of FDMB! Yes a little of her standard food did the trick. Time to go buy some higher carb canned food. I think the highest we have is 15%.
For Alphatrak the scary cut off number is 65 but this was so close.
I hope she doesn't go into another many day bounce!

Of course I am supposed to be going out of town for a few days and Kit's other parent is a bit stressed. So happy you are here. :bighug:
 
The regular food is often enough to bring the BG's back up.
If not then a medium carb food may help.

Are you back at work already or still home? Someone else at home to help Kit right now?
The 15% carb food is high enough most of the time.
You may want to add some Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers foods to your hypo kit. Just in case.
 
With Prozinc, any drop below 90 is a dose reduction.

Could one of you test Kit right now? To assure that his BG level has not dropped again?
Suggest your partner do the testing. For more experience while you are away.
 
That 128 BG looks good.

While you are away, your partner can ask for assistance here. Either using your User ID or create their own. Either one works.

(How on Earth do people do this solo?)
Pet sitter. Train family members, neighbors, friends. Never go anywhere. Board their cat when they are gone.
 
With Prozinc, any drop below 90 is a dose reduction.

Could one of you test Kit right now? To assure that his BG level has not dropped again?
Suggest your partner do the testing. For more experience while you are away.

128 just now

Thank you for the below 90 dose reduction protocol. Will have to go re-read the PZ sticky once again.
We'd been at 1.75 units 10 days with steady high numbers and just went up to 2 units yesterday with the blessing of our vet.
 
So even though this was not a true hypo situation, correct?
Yup. May not have been a symptomatic hypo. But dose needs to be reduced. Safer.

That 90 reduction point is not in the PZI protocol. It's in the Lantus SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) section of the protocol.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
Written for Lantus and Levimir, but the same concept applies to the in-and-out insulins like Prozinc that you use. Concept of SLGS is the same for Prozinc insulin. Relevant section for you here.

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Joanne,
Before you head off, could you start a new thread? This one is getting long, and the moderators like us to keep them down to 50 posts if possible. This one is up to 73 replies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top