FurBabiesMama
Member Since 2017
This is my first post in this forum. After 9 months on ProZinc, we will be switching to Levemir very soon. I plan to try the TR protocol. I have been reading up on this since I have to re-wire my brain to think in Levemir terms rather than Prozinc terms. 
The vet said to start at 1u, but I am thinking that is too low. I think we need to start at at least 1.5u, but I would very much appreciate your input on this. From what I have read, the starting dose is normally .25u per kg of the cat's weight, and if the cat has been on another kind of insulin, that should be taken into consideration as well. Mia's weight is pretty consistently around 11.80lbs/5.35kg, and she has been on 2.5u of ProZinc.
I would also like feedback on whether I am understanding this part correctly. From what I have read, I believe I am to hold the starting dose 5 to 7 days UNLESS she has high flat curves, in which case I should up the dose after 2 to 3 days. If nadirs are always > 200, increase by .25u, or if they are always >300, increase by .50u.
Thank you for helping me make this switch. It is scary to go from what I know and have had decent results with to something I do not know and on which I am 'gambling' on getting even better results.
The vet said to start at 1u, but I am thinking that is too low. I think we need to start at at least 1.5u, but I would very much appreciate your input on this. From what I have read, the starting dose is normally .25u per kg of the cat's weight, and if the cat has been on another kind of insulin, that should be taken into consideration as well. Mia's weight is pretty consistently around 11.80lbs/5.35kg, and she has been on 2.5u of ProZinc.
I would also like feedback on whether I am understanding this part correctly. From what I have read, I believe I am to hold the starting dose 5 to 7 days UNLESS she has high flat curves, in which case I should up the dose after 2 to 3 days. If nadirs are always > 200, increase by .25u, or if they are always >300, increase by .50u.
Thank you for helping me make this switch. It is scary to go from what I know and have had decent results with to something I do not know and on which I am 'gambling' on getting even better results.
