Prozinc sensitivity?

Mpaiges11

Member Since 2026
My cat just got diagnosed 2 weeks ago. Has been on 1 unit of Prozinc 2x a day, diabetic wet food only for meals.
Did first glucose curve test today because I’ve been noticing his sugar getting too low for my liking.
Pre shot was 150, 0.5 unit given (I’ve been giving him half dose bc of the drops). 2 hours after meal- dropped to 80s. 4 hours dropped to 60s. Gave dry food to bring it up. It gradually rose from 121 to 230 to now 367. He’s acting totally fine. Even when it was low. Do I need to feed more in morning so he doesn’t crash so hard? Lower his dose even more? I’ve called my vet plus two other emergency room vets who can answer all my questions except for his dose adjustment.
 
His pre shot bg was 325. Coming down. But during his dinner he just threw up. But continued eating. Can anyone please help ? I have no help. No direction. I feel so horrible.
 
I have today’s curve but can try to make one later tonight.
IMG_3996.jpeg
 
Reduce the dose to .25 units and please see about getting a spreadsheet set up. Okay? See how the kibble is raising BG? Not good. Can you get rid of the kibble? What kind of kibble? Dry food is going to create all kinds of wacky up and down numbers— especially if it’s regular dry. I am in a hurry at this moment and will be back later. Let me know about the kibble, please. Welcome! We can definitely help you.
 
Keep in mind that normal cat blood glucose is between 50 and 120 (human meter.). Don’t panic if you see a number in this range. We will talk more about this.

It would be so helpful if you could get your signature set up with the important information. Please put your time zone in there for me (this helps me a lot and keeps me from asking you over and over). Shot time would help too (you can put it on your spreadsheet if you like.)
 
Do I need to feed more in morning so he doesn’t crash so hard?
What is he eating in the morning? Feeding a larger volume of food at breakfast isn’t the way to go. Please give him a small snack of low carb wet food at +2, which is two hours after his morning shot. Then please repeat this with a small amount of low-carb wet food at +4, which is four hours after the shot. This will help to stabilize his blood glucose and prevent steep drops during the cycle. He is not really diving, but he is having a very good response to the process. I think this is encouraging.
 
Next time you are concerned about a lower number such as the 60 that you mentioned, just give a teaspoon of his regular low-carb wet food. Then you can retest again in 30 minutes.
 
diabetic wet food only for meals.
What is this wet food specifically? Can you tell me the name of the food? I need to know the carbohydrate content on a dry matter basis. You do not need to feed him. Any “specialized” food or a prescription food. All you need for a diabetic cat is a good quality low-carb wet food, which means under 10% carbs on a dry matter basis. You do not need to buy the really expensive, so-called diabetic foods, which actually are labeled “dietetic” foods if it’s the prescription ones. The name of those foods had to be changed because they are not Diabetic foods. Some are quite high in carbs.
 
In addition to what Suzanne asked, it would truly be helpful if you set up not just your signature but a spreadsheet. We are very numbers driven and for those of us who provide guidance, we are used to viewing your spreadsheet. The information for both the signature and spreadsheet are in this post on helping us to help you.
 
Welcome to FDMB
Well I believe most of what I was going to post was well said by Suzanne, she saved my Corky's life, I take her suggestions blindly, in regards to you cats' diet, a diabetic cat needs to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs, as Suzanne said the prescribed food or diabetic food have nothing in them to better your cat, these foods contain between 20-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, with ProZinc is important to feed several small snack/meals during the day to keep the insulin in check, as Suzanne explained a non diabetic cat's glucose level is between 50-120, but if any time at least 1 hour before shot or during the day you are uncomfortable with his level, post us, we can guide you to shooting time, increasing/decreasing according to the BG, is not a good idea, consistency in dosing is important to regulate diabetes, you do not mention what part of the country you are from, so below is a link of Drs. approved food list from different Countries, as well as the link to create your signature, the more we know about your cat the better we can help you we are very numbers oriented, so the link for the spreadsheet is also below, this way we do not have to ask the same questions.

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Links to FOOD CHARTS
 
What is this wet food specifically? Can you tell me the name of the food? I need to know the carbohydrate content on a dry matter basis. You do not need to feed him. Any “specialized” food or a prescription food. All you need for a diabetic cat is a good quality low-carb wet food, which means under 10% carbs on a dry matter basis. You do not need to buy the really expensive, so-called diabetic foods, which actually are labeled “dietetic” foods if it’s the prescription ones. The name of those foods had to be changed because they are not Diabetic foods. Some are quite high in carbs.
Just waking up and seeing all of this. His shot time is 8am and 8pm. His dry food is Purina pro plan urinary care (I don’t feed that unless he drops). His wet food is hills wd wet canned. (Hx of crystal formation , no blockage though). I am using a pettest non human meter. I will try to make a spread sheet. I also go out of town tomorrow and he is in the care of my in laws. They are comfortable with giving his insulin I’m just afraid he’s too sensitive to it and don’t know what to do.
 
Fancy feast pates are good between 0-10% carbs I will assume you are in US? Open the food list link , also if your parents will be baby sitting is important you teach them how to use this forum in case they need assistance, dry food, purina Plus is over 20% carbs if your give that even a few pieces it will raise his levels very high t then it can spike down again, tell your parents to test often, and if the glucose level is less than 100 one hour before shot to post us. We can guide them without high carbs to raise the level even though 100 is good to shoot, I do not advice they do so without guidance, also before you leave purchase a couple of cans of Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine Fancy Chicken with spinach in a light broth this food is 12%. Medium carbs and a couple of cans of any gravy food those are 16+ carbs and leave some honey or Karo syrup handy these items are a HYPO KIT, no kibbels, Myself or Suzanne can help them and you in the shooting process, ProZinc has a 2 hour window, so if necessary we can spike the BG with these foods a bit at a time till safe to shoot, without the Purina kibbles, to transition from dry to wet food is a slow process, you do not want to upset the system causing diarrhea as well as if drastic removal of high carbs to low carbs can cause a downward fast spike in levels, so when transition in you have to make sure to test the first couple of days every 3 hours during the day. ProZinc hits the system in two hours so is important to test and give a small snack at that time in each shot, NO GRAZING!! A schedule is importancia well .I if you see Corky’s spreadsheet for 2026, below in blue, I shoot in low numbers, but it takes a lot of knowledge and practice to do this, so I do not recommend for you or your parents to do so, it’s too early in the process so feel safe that we are going to b vol, your parents will be ok and so will your baby, I will be right here and Suzanne when she can as well, but try to set up the SS , before you leave and the signature these two are important way for us and yourself to see the daily pattern with insulin and we are able to assist you better I know that I am probably overwhelming more with all this, but I am worried that you will not be there so soon in the process, just make sure if you need to to write it down for your parents in case they need assistance we are here for you ,keep asking
 
Last edited:
Fancy feast pates are good between 0-10% carbs I will assume you are in US? Open the food list link , also if your parents will be baby sitting is important you teach them how to use this forum in case they need assistance, dry food, purina Plus is over 20% carbs if your give that even a few pieces it will raise his levels very high t then it can spike down again, tell your parents to test often, and if the glucose level is less than 100 one hour before shot to post us. We can guide them without high carbs to raise the level even though 100 is good to shoot, I do not advice they do so without guidance, also before you leave purchase a couple of cans of Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine Fancy Chicken with spinach in a light broth this food is 12%. Medium carbs and a couple of cans of any gravy food those are 16+ carbs and leave some honey or Karo syrup handy these items are a HYPO KIT, no kibbels, Myself or Suzanne can help them and you in the shooting process, ProZinc has a 2 hour window, so if necessary we can spike the BG with these foods a bit at a time till safe to shoot, without the Purina kibbles, to transition from dry to wet food is a slow process, you do not want to upset the system causing diarrhea as well as if drastic removal of high carbs to low carbs can cause a downward fast spike in levels, so when transition in you have to make sure to test the first couple of days every 3 hours during the day. ProZinc hits the system in two hours so is importante to test and give a small snack at that time in each shot, NO GRAZING!! A schedule is importancia well .I if you see Corky’s spreadsheet, below in blue I shoot in low numbers, I do not recommend you or your parents to do so, it’s too early in the process so feel safe that we are going to b vol, your parents will be ok and so will your baby, I will be right here and Suzanne when she can as well, but try to set up the SS , before you leave and the signature these two are important way for us and yourself to see the daily pattern with insulin and we are able to assist you better I know that I am probably overwhelming more with all this, but I am worried that you will not be there so soon in the process, just make sure if you need to to write it down for your parents in case they need assistance we are here for you ,keep asking
Thank you so much. This is the most info I’ve gotten thus far. The vets are absolutely no help to me because they don’t know what to say. And I saw the pruina pro plan urinary wet is on the food list as good. I know he loves that food too. I’m trying to never give him the dry food angain. But also I don’t know how comfortable they are going to be with checking blood sugar. They are aware about hypo bc they had a farret who had diabetes and they had to be aware of that. I think I did my signature do you see it?
 
yes I see your signature thank you , however, if they will not be testing I recommend you do not change the dry to wet, until you return home, is a very high risk the immediate transition without testing. or giving insulin without testing before shot, best to wait, you do not want to have a hypoglycemic episode, it is not pretty or healthy for your cat, I strongly advice you not to.
 
No no he’s been eating only wet food for 2 weeks now. Before that he was eating eat food just not for every meal. I only gave him a few pieces of dry yesterday because I was advised to by the vet… to bring his sugar up.
 
Good, I was worried, is there any way you can at least teach your parent to at least test before 8:00AM and 8:00 PM shot,? and at least 2 hours before each shot? just in case his levels are very low, we can guide them till shot time so he does not have miss a shot if is not necessary, with ProZinc, the protocols are very simple: TEST-FEED-SHOOT, you do not have to wait till he's finished his food, once there a few bites in his stomach is safe to shoot .I shoot Corky while his face is in the bowl, just go behind him pick up the scrub and shoot, making sure the needle goes in down, not sideways to avoid a fur shot, and then test again 2 hour after shot, and making sure that he has his last meal no later than 10-10:30 PM, without this it will be hard to know how the insulin is working 🤗
 
now that your signature is done I will ask a member to create the signature for you;) we really need it
 
@Bandit's Mom
Is there a possible way you can create Mpaiges11 spreadsheet, she is going out of town, leaving her parent to care for her cat, I want to make it a bit less stressful for them in the meantime, and easier for us to monitor, myself or Suzanne will be here for her parents in case of spiral BG, they will be flying back to their home in the meantime, thank you
 
So pre shot this morning was 239. Stayed with 0.5 units. However. I left this wet food out for him to come back to and sure enough he did about an hour after breakfast for a quick snack of wet food. And a few pieces of freeze dried salmon while getting bg taken. It was 96 4.5+ post shot.
 
So pre shot this morning was 239. Stayed with 0.5 units. However. I left this wet food out for him to come back to and sure enough he did about an hour after breakfast for a quick snack of wet food. And a few pieces of freeze dried salmon while getting bg taken. It was 96 4.5+ post shot.
That’s good if you are ready, I am, that’s good 96 give him a a small meal every 4 hours no food 2 hour prior shot time, to keep that level in check I’m here test again in 3 hour post the BG ,and we will work with that number till shot time, you’re doing great! I’m here for you 24/7 at first in the time of need members where here for me as well giving back is an honor, you’re no alone
 
I would guess your cats’ name in Beans? How are we doing on his BG you mentioned his shot is at 8:00PM can you test him please and post his BG, so we can work on shot time?
 
That’s good if you are ready, I am, that’s good 96 give him a a small meal every 4 hours no food 2 hour prior shot time, to keep that level in check I’m here test again in 3 hour post the BG ,and we will work with that number till shot time, you’re doing great! I’m here for you 24/7 at first in the time of need members where here for me as well giving back is an honor, you’re no alone

I would guess your cats’ name in Beans? How are we doing on his BG you mentioned his shot is at 8:00PM can you test him please and post his BG, so we can work on shot time?
Yes lol. And yes I did one at 5 pm as well, 112. And it’s only 7pm here still. Idk if I will do one tonight his poor ears are just bruised up. I feel bad.
 
Good Job! As you test,,the capillaries in the ear will swell , and it would become much easier, I promise you it does not hurt him, 112 is good test prior to shot let me know tge BG, always remember that when he feeds the BG will rise, so he’s good to shoot, stick with me and you will be a pro at shooting on these numbers, please post his BG at 8:00PM PRIOR to feeding time, then test again 2 hour after shot, I will wait for both numbers, I am here! You are doing awesome!!
 
Here is two pictures of how and where to shoot, thiscIS Corky’s ear, as you can see the capillaries are swollen, I have been testing on the same ear for 4 years,,unfortunately his right ear has very tiny tiny veins, and I have never been able to draw blood. You can find a flashlight like the one in the picture, still to this date I use it, Corky has dark hair. So I place this flashlight in my mouth as I’m pricking the ear to see the drop of blood! Little tricks that makes testing easier, you can alway reward after testing with a low carb treat, it will make him happy to test
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4889.png
    IMG_4889.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 14
  • IMG_4888.png
    IMG_4888.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 19
Make sure to test 2 hours after shot, and feed last meal after testing, at 10:00PM let me know his glucose level at 10:00 PM before feeding the last as well in your cas since his shot was at 8:00 PM with meal, test two hours after and feed a last meal at 10:00PM-10:30 till the next morning, anything over the 70s in your case since you are learning his process is good to sleep well till morning, is very usual for cats’ glucose levels to be lower at night time, no real answer for that but is normal, but always know that once they feed the levels go higher!
 
Last edited:
please see Corky's Spreadsheet, i want you to see the pattern of the glucose levels once the shot has been given, again, I shoot on low numbers, but I am comfortable doing so, just now I tested, and his BG is 64 from 90 prior to shot time, this is why is important to test two hour after shot, this is when ProZinc, hits the system, I will test again at 9:00 PM again to make sure it will not be lower, this is why the spreadsheet is important, you can follow the daily progress once the shot is given, and this way we can also see how we can handle the levels. if you have questions please post, I know it can be confusing and overwhelming, but it is not hard. I go to bed at 12:00PM but my phone is right next to me if you need assistance 🤗
 
Make sure to test 2 hours after shot, and feed last meal after testing, at 10:00PM let me know his glucose level at 10:00 PM before feeding the last as well in your cas since his shot was at 8:00 PM with meal, test two hours after and feed a last meal at 10:00PM-10:30 till the next morning, anything over the 70s in your case since you are learning his process is good to sleep well till morning, is very usual for cats’ glucose levels to be lower at night time, no real answer for that but is normal, but always know that once they feed the levels go higher!
I didn’t see this until after I fed him.. my vet advised to skip insulin tonight and check in am then we will make a decision on what to do going out of town. I’m sorry :/
 
So what was his BG prior to shot time, did you give insulin?
Didn’t check. Only checked 4 hours pre shot. And did not give insulin as the vet wanted to see what his baseline was without it tomorrow morning. So I guess we’ll go from there. My intuition says it’s the right thing as his nadir has been sub 70 the last 3-4 days.
 
Good morning, did you give the shot? And fed a small meal two hour after shot?? Feeling a bit more in control?? Is there any way you can get that spreadsheet done?? Is good to physically see how the progress of how the insulin is working throughout the day
 
No I did not give shot today. Fed his wet food. I will try to work on it if I can. Is it possible to do without laptop? I also have a flight this evening.
 
Let me try to get a member to do your spreadsheet, have a safe flight and you can post us from your phone as well if you get updates from your parents
 
Let me try to get a member to do your spreadsheet, have a safe flight and you can post us from your phone as well if you get updates from your parents
@Mpaiges11, I'm going to send you a private message with the info I need to set up Beans' spreadsheet. Please look for it in the Inbox. Thanks!
 
Back
Top