Prozinc...Low BG Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheryl1032

Member Since 2012
This morning Madison was 113 so I waited a half hour and retested and she was 120. I did go ahead and feed her but I am not sure if I should give her a reduced dose or skip all together. I may just skip since I am unsure. Any help in what should be done in this situation is appreciated.
She is on Prozinc.
Thanks!
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

I really can't give dosing advice, but I know others will want to know what insulin are you using? You may want to seek advice in that insulin specific board as well as there may be more experienced people around.... I know the TR Lantus board is more active than relaxed Lantus. You should also consider the effects of giving a late shot.

Good luck!
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

If you are using ProZinc, as in your signature, I'd skip the shot for this morning. I'd also consider lowering the dose for PM since AMPS was so low.
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

I did end up giving her a reduced dose of .25 of Prozinc this morning because I was home to monitor her. She has had a lot of low numbers lately. Seems to me like I need to keep her dose low. Maybe just stick with the .25?
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

Sheryl, I think it is time to look at mini dosing. It throws your schedule off, but it usually doesn't last for very long before they go OTJ (anti jinx :mrgreen: ) Here is how it works:

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.

[/i]
Be sure to post on the PZI forum if you have questions.
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

Thank you Sue!
I am more confused than ever. At her pmps and she was 132. I did test her two hours prior to that as well and she was 126. I test her a lot. Sometimes I wonder if its to much. Her SS is updated usually as soon as I test. Since she was already off our normal schedule from this morning I decided not to give her the pm shot at this point and see what happens. Unless someone advises me otherwise. I always feed her 4 small meals a day. She will not eat a full serving at one time and she has lost weight before we knew she had FD so I want to maintain where she is.

I only have u40 syringes at this time that I purchased from my vet. Can I buy the u100 at Walmart?

I did post in the Prozinc board the other day but it seemed that I get more feedback here.

I am so thankful for the help from people here. It seems my vet has not advised me correctly. At her last appointment 2 weeks ago he said continue 2 units and bring her back in 3 months for another evaluation! If I followed his directions who knows what would have happened to my kitty!!

Thanks to All!
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

Four small meals a day is great. I agree 132 is too low to shoot. Skipping is always an option. It may be that she will come down overall on her own. One test that will help you see if the pancreas is working is to test, feed and then test after 20 minutes or so. If she went down after feeding, the pancreas is helping out! Usually, this is not a full time thing at first, but a visit every so often. :mrgreen:

You are sort of doing mini dosing now except that you are shooting about 12 hours apart. And it may be that is the way that works with your life. Maybe you might be a little more agressive on weekends and shoot off schedule - chasing the number?

Check out this spreadsheet from a bean that did mini dosing with her cat:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ApRoVAkSuXuUdDltSnA3ZFVHQ3BUdlNLanJYRkQzSnc#gid=0

She picked 170 as her shoot number and gave .25 when he got in that range, regardless of when it fell during the cycle (but only if rising).

Here's the info on the syringes:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=64269&hilit=U100+needles

And the conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions-printer.htm

I agree PZI was quiet this weekend - several people out of town.
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

I have not heard of shooting off schedule and chasing a number. I certainly will do what ever is necessary to help Madison.

Thank you for all this information Sue!
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

I have not given Madison a shot since the morning of September 3rd. When I tested her before dinner today she was 83. Is it to early for me to start hoping that she may be going into remission?

Sheryl
 
Re: Help...Low BG Numbers

Oh, what lovely news! Yes, you can start dreaming about OTJ. We consider a cat in remission when, off insulin, they range from 40-120 with the majority of the time in double digits, for two weeks. Keep testing for another week and come back with some news!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top